We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in lovely setting”
Review of The Kings Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kings Arms
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in lovely setting”
Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

We spent a lovely day at the Kings Arms on Sunday 11 November. We have only good things to say. We booked it as an anniversary treat including dinner. The hotel is a beautiful boutique hotel near the harbour. From start to finish we loved the friendliness of the staff, the comfort of the large room, the terrific evening mean (3 courses and wine) from their £15 15 mile menu and the whole ambiance. We would definitely recommend this modern attractive hotel to anyone wanting a special night away.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jdsilverman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    211
    65
    22
    5
See reviews for
113
428
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We stayed three nights at the Kings last week having got a good deal for dinner, bed and breakfast in a superior room. Our room was quiet at the back of the hotel, nicely appointed with a very comfortable bed. We had the 15 mile menu each evening and found the food very good. The only slight criticism is that the menu on the third night was almost identical to the second, but we still found a different choice. The central location of the hotel means you can explore Christchurch on foot and we enjoyed the walks to the quay and around the town. The Priory is beautiful, well worth a visit. We liked the decor of the hotel and enjoyed relaxing in the bar and lounge. The staff are very attentive and friendly. Our short break was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraceM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 8 December 2012
Thank you so much for writing a review on trip advisor following your recent visit to the Kings. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings very soon.

Kind Regards
Lukasz Dwornik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We held our wedding here on 19th October 2012 and it was just perfect, Karen and the team could not do enough for us, the day ran so smoothly, we had a little rain but it did not dampen the day as other options for photos were given to us. Lots of our guests have commented on how well the day ran and how organised it was. One big highlight was how delicious the food was at the wedding breakfast and the buffet was of really high quality in the evening so there was more than enough to go round - the rooms were very well decorated and spacious - a real gem of a hotel - the parking is not great as they only have limited spaces but I would definitely recommend anyone to hold their special day here - you will not be disappointed xx

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 8 December 2012
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. Im very pleased my team could be a part of your special day and help making it perfect. I hope you have a very happy future and hopefully we will see you soon on your next visit to the Kings Hotel.

Kind Regards
Lukasz Dwornik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Spent three nights at this hotel with my wife in November 2012. Was expecting a lot having read other reviews, and it didn't disappoint! The receptionist and staff couldn't be more helpful on arrival, and although we had a loft room at the top of the hotel, it was still spacious and very clean (although I did notice on the fire drawings of the building in reception the other loft rooms were a lot smaller than ours).
The restaurant and bar are very nice, albeit a bit pricey,but we had a lovely meal so don't mind spending a little more if its nice.
When we returned home my wife realised she had left her coat in the wardrobe in our room, so we rang the hotel and they sent it back to us recorded delivery, we received it a few days later. Thanks!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 17 November 2012
Thank You so much for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We are so glad that you enjoied your stay with us, and glad that you coat made ot back safe.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind Regards
Lukasz Dwornik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

the kings is very stylish in a fantastic location 50 yds to town centre great restraunts and bars with live music a short stroll to the marina and river outside the hotel bowling green the hotel restraunt serves up good food staff are very friendly with the added bonus of using the facilities at sister hotel christchurch harbour hotel also stunning so book yourself a gerat stay

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raffers_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 17 November 2012
Thank You for taking the time to leave this review, I will pass your compliments to the Staff Menbers, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Kings Arms soon.

Kind Regards
Lukasz Dwornik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Nicely appointed hotel. Staff were on the whole friendly.Food in restaurant rather hit and miss. Portions on a la carte small best advice to go go for 15 mile menu. Room was small but well appointed. The lounge are was a bit soulless and could not be used when other half of room being used for private function. Free car parking is a bonuss

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjb59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanstead Abbotts, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We booked a “Secret Escapes” break via a “Daily Telegraph Travel Hand-picked” email alert for two nights for two adults including:
Accommodation in a Standard Queen room
Full English breakfast
Three-course set-menu dinner
A bottle of house wine on the first night
All for £228.00! We managed to rack up an additional £153.58 for side dishes, gratuities, and because we upgraded to a la carte on the second night, but mostly because of our determination to keep the bar staff in full time employment. This represented excellent value because it is a lovely hotel with friendly staff in a superb location. What’s not to like?

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have the best views of the green, priory, castle and Norman ruins, there is s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 24 November 2012
Thank You for your kind words, it was a pleasure welcoming to the Kings Arms, and needless to say you are more than welcome back any time, im sure the bar staff would be delighted to see you.

Kind Regards
Lukasz Dwornik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.3 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
709 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Christchurch
Travelodge Christchurch
#7 of 11 in Christchurch
359 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
370 reviews
4.2 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Property: The Kings Arms
Address: 18 Castle Street, Christchurch BH23 1DT, England (Formerly The Kings)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms in Christchurch, is a stunning Georgian building in the heart of Dorset - combining a traditional yet stylish Restaurant with luxurious bedrooms carefully restored in true Georgian style, whilst Alex Aitken remains chef patron at The Jetty he is also spending time with the chefs and team at The Kings Arms, Alex has headed up the team re-styling the restaurant menus and cooking philosophy. The Kings Restaurant has a delicious menu using the best local ingredients and is proud to have been awarded Michelin Bib Gourmand status for three consecutive years. The Kings Arms has everything you need for a Dorset short break, situated in the historic town of Christchurch, Dorset, a popular yachting town, overlooking the Avon River, Christchurch Castle and The Kings Arms Bowling Green, The Kings is marvelously picturesque. A short distance from the Dorset Jurassic Coast, The Kings Arms combines coastal beauty, historical town discoveries and stunning scenery, all with a comfortable place to relax after a day's adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Christchurch
The Kings Arms Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing