We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Stay - Great Service”
Review of The Kings Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kings Arms
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay - Great Service”
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights over Christmas and even had our Christmas lunch here. The hotel is right in the heart of town and opposite the old abbey and castle which provides a nice view.

The hotel room was very modern and nicely renovated and all of the staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good as was the Christmas lunch. Dinner was a bit hit and miss on Boxing day but it was still ok.

Highly recommended hotel. The only tip is to bring earplugs as the sound of churchbells ringing (every 15 minutes) at the top of the hill may wake you up although I only heard it every now and again and it wasn't enough to bother me. The only other small issue was that our room had a door which connected to the other room so we could hear guests in the other room including the man snoring but thankfully it wasn't too loud.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clea700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    205
    61
    22
    5
See reviews for
110
413
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Enjoyed a most pleasant meal, the service was excellent and attentive but discreet. The food was beautifully presented, the ambiance of the restaurant and bar was relaxing. The food is not cheap but there were offers available.
I will return, Sunday lunch sounds nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anneandles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We were invited by a close friend to celebrate her birthday meal at the Kings Arms Hotel, and we also spent the night here. The hotel was lovely, located in the heart of Christchurch, the bar was very pleasant and relaxed, as was the restaurant. The food was also very good, and complemented by friendly and efficient service from the staff. We had a mix up with the rooms which was entirely our fault, but the hotel staff sorted it out immediately without any trouble. Our room was amazing, it was on the first floor and very spacious. The only probelm was that I had to leave the next morning at 6am, so couldn't appreciate the room and breakfast properly. I would definately come back again and spend more time in the hotel and Christchurch, as this stay was too rushed.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PWD40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012 via mobile

Lovely food , good service , well worth a visit .
My seafood was cooked to perfection. The £15 menu was enjoyable and good value . The staff were all helpful and we both enjoyed our visit . A big thank you to the chef and all the staff

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank chefinsearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful two days/one night at the hotel.

The staff were excellent, the food was first class and the room was great and the other main thing, everywhere was clean and tidy.
I would recommend this hotel to everyone..

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffdMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We stayed for 2 nights mid week on a half board deal.

The hotel fronts Castle Street, which is one of the access roads into Christchurch High Street. The High Street is within a couple of hundred yards. The hotel overlooks to the front a small car parking area for the hotel with a bowling green, an English Heritage ruin and the Priory beyond. Plenty to explore in close proximity to the hotel. The Quay area beyond the Priory is well worth a look.

The Kings has been fairly recently refurbished fitted out to a good standard. At reception we were warmly welcomed and the formalities were soon completed. We had to leave our car key at reception as we had parked in the small car park opposite.

Our room was on the second floor at the front of the hotel. Access could be made via a very small lift or the stairs. The room was attractively furnished. There was a large comfortable double bed, which had good quality linen, a wardrobe with limited hanging space, a safe, fridge, iron and board plus the usual tea making facilities plus armchair and desk.

The bathroom was spacious being stylishly fitted out with good quality fittings. I particularly liked the detail of small lights at skirting level by the entrance and within the bathroom that could be left on so a visit to the loo at night did not necessitate turning on any other lighting. A detail other hotels could follow.

The bath had very high sides (well above knee level) which with the bath screen would, for the less nimble, make getting in and out difficult. As there were no grab handles my wife had to get on all fours to get out. The deep bath must make it difficult to keep clean.

It would have been nice to have had a towel ring to the side of the washbasin as the only place to hang towels was on the heated towel rail opposite.

Although there was a full length mirror on the inside of the wardrobe door it was difficult to use. A wall mirror in the entrance area by the bathroom would be an advantage.

There was a locked inter connecting door to the adjacent room. It was not sound proofed in any way and the adjoining guests conversations and television could be easily heard. Although it was a little off putting it did not cause us a problem but might if it had been occupied by someone less considerate.

The window was not double glazed nor was there air conditioning. So it was a bit of a trade off whether to close the window to decrease the traffic noise and be too hot or leave it open. The traffic to the front was not very heavy after about 10.00pm. The hotel has rooms at the back, which are likely to be quieter but they do not have as nice an outlook.

As part of the deal we had access to Christchurch Harbour Hotel Spar.

Throughout our stay we found the staff we came into contact with friendly and helpful.

I have made a separate review for the Kings Hotel Restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Habsishpeeweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2012

What a wonderful small hotel. Fantastic staff, they could not do enough for us and smiled constantly. The manager was present, enthusiastic, and interested in his guests.

The 15 mile menu is wonderful. Great idea, well executed.

The loft room was small, but we expected that as we took advantage of a promotion and paid only £95 for both of us including a lovely English breakfast and the 15 mile menu - with a free glass of bubbly, too!

Would definitely recommend. And can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We booked a small loft room as this was on at an amazing price, but would be hot in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fitzgibbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.3 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Property: The Kings Arms
Address: 18 Castle Street, Christchurch BH23 1DT, England (Formerly The Kings)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms in Christchurch, is a stunning Georgian building in the heart of Dorset - combining a traditional yet stylish Restaurant with luxurious bedrooms carefully restored in true Georgian style, whilst Alex Aitken remains chef patron at The Jetty he is also spending time with the chefs and team at The Kings Arms, Alex has headed up the team re-styling the restaurant menus and cooking philosophy. The Kings Restaurant has a delicious menu using the best local ingredients and is proud to have been awarded Michelin Bib Gourmand status for three consecutive years. The Kings Arms has everything you need for a Dorset short break, situated in the historic town of Christchurch, Dorset, a popular yachting town, overlooking the Avon River, Christchurch Castle and The Kings Arms Bowling Green, The Kings is marvelously picturesque. A short distance from the Dorset Jurassic Coast, The Kings Arms combines coastal beauty, historical town discoveries and stunning scenery, all with a comfortable place to relax after a day's adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Christchurch
The Kings Arms Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing