We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”
Review of The Kings Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kings Arms
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“great stay”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

the hotel is well situated for the town and walks along the river the staff are welcoming and very helpfull also very polite this hotel has a great resurant and the food is excellent the rooms are very well presented with homely furnishings in all a great stay and a great hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Thank you for you comment.

I will pass your praise on to our staff and i am glad to hear that they were able to make you feel welcome.

We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards

Lukasz Dwornik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    207
    62
    22
    5
See reviews for
111
421
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Having stayed here previously and had a fantastic experience I had no reason to hesitate to book a return visit. We booked a silver double room on the 2nd floor, great offer £95 including a bottle of fizz and breakfast.
Prior to arrival I mailed the hotel to request the same room as our first visit and they happily did this for us. Upon arrival there were no car parking spaces at the back of the hotel and the lady at reception found us a space no problem.
The welcome from the staff and the room was great, bubbles were chilling in the room ready for our arrival. I ran a bath and noticed that it had not been cleaned, called down to reception and the lady was very very apologetic and was up within 3 minutes with a cleaning kit and two glasses of fizz. She spent 10 minutes cleaning the bath and again apologised the whole time. This was obviously an oversight by the cleaning staff as the rest of the room was spotless.
We’d booked a table in the restaurant so went for pre-dinner cocktails in the bar, unfortunately this wasn’t the best experience. After 15 minutes we chased up our order to find the barman had forgotten us, another 15 minutes later we had our drinks and they were very nice. I mentioned this experience to the restaurant manager who at the end of our meal persuaded us to have a complimentary drink. Unfortunately this also went horribly wrong, the barman made two yellow drinks that didn’t even look like mojitos. He attempted to correct his error with a sprig of mint and some ice, by then we gave up and went out to watch a band at The Thomas Trip pub. Again the restaurant manager was very apologetic, I actually felt a bit sorry for him.
We had a great night sleep in their amazing beds with at least 10cm down mattress topper followed by a wonderful breakfast.
Despite the bath and the cocktail issue we have a great stay, just disappointed as our expectations were high based on our last visit. The hotel staff were amazing and on this occasion were let down by the cleaning and bar staff. We were not charged for the cocktails and were also given a discount off our room rate at checkout.
Would it this experience prevent another visit? Probably not.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Thank you very much for your comment.

I would like to apologise again for the issues you experienced while staying with us.

However, we are glad to hear that you also had a very enjoyable experience and that our staff were helpful. I will pass your praise on to them.

We hope you will come and visit us again in the future.

Kind Regards

Lukasz Dwornik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Came and stayed here for 3 nights last weekend for Mother's Day. The room was lovely and spacious over looking the front of the hotel. Lovely view of the bowling green and church. The beds and pillows were extremely comfortable too. Breakfast was just ok and not a lot of variety and they didn't top up any cereals that were running low. The bar and restaurant was buzzing at night with a good atmosphere. My only gripe was the girl on reception who was on when we arrived on the Friday and again on the Saturday....there was no good morning or good afternoon not even a smile in fact she kept her head down while we're bookmg in and talking to her. Very miserable and unprofessional and should not be working on a front desk to meet and greet! The hotel is in a fab location and easy access to the town.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front are bright and spacious but a little bit noisy from the traffic but that soon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amazinggrace55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Thank you for your comment on trip advisor.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our rooms and that it was comfortable for you.

I would like to apologise for the issue experienced whilst staying with us, this will not happen again.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Lukasz Dwornik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayenne, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way to catch the ferry back to Portsmouth. Our room was tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. The bed was so soft and comfortable due to the duck feathered pillows and duvet which were so luxurious and of excellent quality. The room had lots of nice touches, Iron and ironing board, tea and coffee making facilities, Ipod docking station, TV, safe and a proper hair dryer - not one of those that are fixed to the wall and only work when you press the button. The bathroom had luxury toiletries and a very modern bath and shower.
There was an awards evening at the hotel the night we stayed so it was very busy but the staff still had time to chat to us and made us feel very welcome. Tony the chef gave us a tour around his kitchen and the function room holding the awards. The food he'd prepared looked delicious and was well presented. Hopefully next time we visit we can try the restaurant. The hotel has some great ideas like Gin and Tonic o'clock, fish and fizz night. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Thank you very much fro your kind words on your stay at The King Hotel.

I am very glad to hear that your stay with us was so enjoyable and that your room was comfortable and adequate.

I will pass your praise on to the staff and Chef Tony as i am sure it will be very much appreciated.

We hope that we will see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Lukasz Dwornik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

Centrally located in Christchurch, we had a fabulous room at the front with a view of The Priory. We were initially worried about noise from the road, but there was very little noise at night. if you are worried, you can ask for a room at the rear, overlooking a pleasant courtyard. Breakfast was that rarity today, I.e freshly cooked to order! All the staff we met were very helpful and friendly. We also had a light lunch in the bar, which was excellent. The public rooms and the bedrooms are all very pleasantly decorated, with intersting artworks throughout the hotel. We shall return.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChrisSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a lovely comment about your stay at The Kings hotel.

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our front facing rooms and that our staff were friendly and helpful to you.

We look forwards to seeing you again.

Kind Regards

Lukasz Dwornik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We have just returned from a one night stay at the Kings Arms to celebrate my father's 80th Birthday and I have to say that the warm welcome extended from all members of staff, particularly those in the restaurant really made it a very special occasion. As there were 10 of us we sampled three types of room - the Loft, Queen and King - and we were impressed with all of them. My Dad and Mum had the King's room which felt palatial and as this was a surprise treat for him - the space, comfort and views over the Priory added to the occasion. We dined in the restaurant and all agreed that the 15-mile menu was excellent value for money and really tasty. My only slight criticism (and I hasten to say very slight) is that for a hotel of this standard - renowned for its food, I was surprised that at breakfast there wasn't more selection of fresh fruit, bread and pastries.... but this wouldn't stop me returning or recommending it. Look out for the offers they are well worth it!

Room Tip: We had a Queen Room looking out on the courtyard - it was very cosy, clean, quiet and had every amen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquiSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Thank you for leaving a comment about your stay at The Kings Hotel.

I am glad that you and your guests were able to experience all three types of rooms that we offer and that they were enjoyable.

We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal, i would also like to thank you for your comments that we will take on board.

We hope to see you again

Kind Regards

Lukasz Dwornik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, Hampshire
Level Contributor
160 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Our positive dining experience from the "15 Mile Menu" at the King Arms Hotel Restaurant will be remembered for its wonderful, friendly service and excellent, well presented food. As the menu changes, it may be worth checking the menu of the day when you book a table. Alex Aitken's Braised Rib of Beef in Red Wine Sauce was the most tender, delicious slow-cooked beef I have ever tasted!

Portions for dinner were adequate, not over-generous. Vegetables are seasonal and beautifully prepared. We left feeling comfortable and content, without feelings of guilt due to over indulgence.

My next visit will be to sample the 2-course lunch (weekdays) from a similar menu which includes a drink - all for £10.

We were fortunate to have a birds-eye view of the (Thursday) Supper Club monthly event - a novel monthly event for those interested in culinary arts. I thought this would be a great idea as a birthday gift for someone special. I am told that at £25 pp, it includes a 3 course meal, wine with each course & a cooking demonstration.

In the evening its best to park after 19h00 to avoid parking charges at one of the many nearby car parks in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glynnis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Thank you very much for your comment about your recent experience at The Kings Hotel.

I am happy to hear that you had a very pleasent dining experience with us and that you felt the food was 'delicious'. I will pass your praise on to the Chefs as they will be very grateful.

We look forward to seeing you soon

Kind Regards

Lukasz Dwornik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.3 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
694 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Christchurch
Travelodge Christchurch
#7 of 11 in Christchurch
351 reviews
4.2 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Property: The Kings Arms
Address: 18 Castle Street, Christchurch BH23 1DT, England (Formerly The Kings)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms in Christchurch, is a stunning Georgian building in the heart of Dorset - combining a traditional yet stylish Restaurant with luxurious bedrooms carefully restored in true Georgian style, whilst Alex Aitken remains chef patron at The Jetty he is also spending time with the chefs and team at The Kings Arms, Alex has headed up the team re-styling the restaurant menus and cooking philosophy. The Kings Restaurant has a delicious menu using the best local ingredients and is proud to have been awarded Michelin Bib Gourmand status for three consecutive years. The Kings Arms has everything you need for a Dorset short break, situated in the historic town of Christchurch, Dorset, a popular yachting town, overlooking the Avon River, Christchurch Castle and The Kings Arms Bowling Green, The Kings is marvelously picturesque. A short distance from the Dorset Jurassic Coast, The Kings Arms combines coastal beauty, historical town discoveries and stunning scenery, all with a comfortable place to relax after a day's adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Christchurch
The Kings Arms Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing