We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kings Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Kings Arms
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent Accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed for three nights at the Kings Arms on a half board basis, we had a Kings Room on the first floor. Their was a problem with the first room and reception dealt with the matter efficiently and swiftly and had us moved to another room within an hour. The rooms are large and very well equipped. The bed was excellent. Breakfast was very good with a good selection to choose from. Limited parking is available at the rear of the hotel with some parking also at the front by the bowling green. Hotel is in a good location for Christchurch and it is also an easy walk down to the sea front at Mudeford.
We ate from their full menu and also the £15 from 15 miles menu in the evenings but found that the meals were not to the same standard the breakfast offered. The service in the restaurant is excellent and the staff friendly. Hotel also has a small bar that gets very busy. Limited seating and quite slow service.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AFL63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding our hotel, we do try our best to ensure all our guests have a positive stay with us and hope to see you return to us in the near future.

Kindest regards
Lukasz Dwornik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    205
    59
    22
    5
See reviews for
109
403
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

What a lovely little gem this proved to be, the staff were wonderful and helpful as well as friendly. The food tasty and well presented and for £15 a bargain! Our room was large and the bed very comfortable. We had a wonderful view over to the church and the lawn bowling green. Yes it was at the front and yes there is a bus stop right outside the window but it bothered us not. If you want a quieter room go for a court side one. It's a short stroll into the town with many good cafe ps and restaurants. Indeed a longer stroll will take you to the marinas and the riverside. Or hop into the car and head to avon beach for a long peaceful walk.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher3965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel, we are very pleased with your feedback and we always strive to excel the service we provide and create an atmosphere you would return too, we hope to see you return in the near future.

Kindest regards
Lukasz Dwornik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Went there for lunch probably our 5th visit & their 3 courses for £15 from providers within a 15 mile radius is just superb & inch excellent value for money, smoked cheese on toast followed by a superb roast sirloin of beef, good setting, attentive smiley staff, stupendous value for money we will be back, Boxing Day looks good at £26 a head for beef Wellington too

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank therealcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel, we are pleased to see positive feedback and I have passed on feedback to the rest of the team, we hope to see you return for the boxing day lunch.

Kindest regards
Lukasz Dwornik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Spent one night in the hotel and it was so warm and comfortable! I
I even was lucky enough to try the food in the hotel - definitely will recommend to my friends, hopefully will visit down to the hotel again in future!! Worth the visit. Super friendly staff and happy atmosphere in the hotel!

Shall visit again soon!! Recommend queen rooms, perfect size for me and my wife loves large bath tubs!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you kindly for taking the time to review our hotel, we hope to see you return again in the near future, we strive to ensure all our guets are happy and have a memorable stay with us.

Kindest regards
Lukasz Dwornik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
164 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed here for one night while doing a “road trip” of Southern England, on Wednesday 23rd October. I chose this hotel after reading TripAdvisor reviews.

I had booked by internet early that morning, and confirmed by phone about 1.00pm that we would be taking the room. We hadn’t been quite sure of what we would be doing en route and how long it would take, so they kindly offered to hold the room for us until 2.00pm that day.

We checked in to the hotel and were shown how to access the car park (free) out the back. Our room was on the first floor (room 101) overlooking the road and across to the green and the old Norman house. A great view. There was a bit of traffic noise as there are traffic lights right outside the hotel. It didn’t seem to stop us from sleeping though it may be a problem in that side of the hotel for a light sleeper.

The bed was very very comfortable, and the room was very large and spacious. The bathroom was really well fitted out, with nice toiletries.

Breakfast was served in the dining room and was a buffet for cereals and fruit/juice, and a hot breakfast cooked to order.

For some reason I couldn’t get the wifi to work, despite it saying there was an “excellent signal”. The receptionist restarted the router for me, but that didn’t make any difference. This was the only glitch in an otherwise very very enjoyable stay in a very nice hotel with a very big room.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiLynda15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review regarding our hotel, we take pride in trying to make sure all our guests have a pleasent and warm stay with us. In regards to our internet connection we are working on including more wifi points in the hotel to increase quality of this. We very much hope to see you return again in the near future.

Kindest regards
Lukasz Dwornik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

This is now my hotel of preference for the South Coast. I always find the rooms attractive, the food excellent and reasonably priced and the staff outstanding. I’m always looking for a good value break and feel that other trip advisor members might appreciate these recommendations. We recently attended one of the King’s monthly “Supper Club” events and feel that this experience is worth passing on to other members. The hotel chefs, either Alex Aitken or Ian Gibbs explain and demonstrate the cooking of each course; a wine expert describes why he has chosen the pairing of various wines to complement each course and then everyone is served together to taste the results. There is a great party atmosphere with a lot of laughter and a great deal of enjoyment of the food which is all locally sourced. Three courses, including a glass of wine with each course, is only £25 per person, which we think is a real bargain. The icing on the cake is that you can book one of the rooms at a reduced price as part of the “Supper Club” package. Another real bargain is the Sunday night Getaway package, which besides bed and breakfast, gives you a free cocktail and enough dinner allowance to sample the four course “tasting menu”. It is a particularly friendly hotel and we always leave with a smile on our faces and a desire to return.

Room Tip: First floor front rooms spacious,lovely views but can be noisy,rooms overlooking the courtyard darke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you sincerely for taking the time to write your review of our hotel and team. We try our very best to ensure every guest has a pleasent and warm stay with us at the Kings, furthermore please feel free to contact us regarding more events and supper clubs we are planning. I will pass on your praise to the rest of the team and hope to see you again in the near future.

Kindest regards
Lukasz Dwornik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Great Rooms, Staff and Food. A hidden Dorset gem. Very conveniently positioned with car parking available. Plenty of choice of quaint food and drink venues in Chrischurch but Hotel food offered (various menu's) is first class.

A wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Bronze, Silver, Gold. All excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you kindly for taking the time to write your review, we are very happy to see a positive review of our hotel and we sincerely hope to see you return again in the near future.

Kindest regards
Lukasz Dwornik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.4 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#1 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Property: The Kings Arms
Address: 18 Castle Street, Christchurch BH23 1DT, England (Formerly The Kings)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms in Christchurch, is a stunning Georgian building in the heart of Dorset - combining a traditional yet stylish Restaurant with luxurious bedrooms carefully restored in true Georgian style, whilst Alex Aitken remains chef patron at The Jetty he is also spending time with the chefs and team at The Kings Arms, Alex has headed up the team re-styling the restaurant menus and cooking philosophy. The Kings Restaurant has a delicious menu using the best local ingredients and is proud to have been awarded Michelin Bib Gourmand status for three consecutive years. The Kings Arms has everything you need for a Dorset short break, situated in the historic town of Christchurch, Dorset, a popular yachting town, overlooking the Avon River, Christchurch Castle and The Kings Arms Bowling Green, The Kings is marvelously picturesque. A short distance from the Dorset Jurassic Coast, The Kings Arms combines coastal beauty, historical town discoveries and stunning scenery, all with a comfortable place to relax after a day's adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotelopia, Priceline, Lastminute, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Christchurch
The Kings Arms Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing