We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Kings Arms
Nearby Hotels
Captain's Club Hotel(Christchurch)
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
US$185
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lord Bute Hotel(Christchurch)
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Christchurch Highcliffe(Highcliffe)(Great Value!)
US$90
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$88
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$58
Travelodge
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
    Premier Inn Christchurch West Hotel(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
    US$88
    PremierInn.com
    View Deal
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    No availability for your dates from our partners
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (815)
    Filter reviews
    815 results
    Traveller rating
    481
    238
    68
    23
    5
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    481
    238
    68
    23
    5
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsbowling greenmile menuqueen roomdyson fantraffic lightssister hotelcastle ruinslimited parkinglovely hotelwedding breakfastboutique hotelmember of staffsunday lunchreception areamain coursebooked a tablefunction room
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    520 - 525 of 815 reviews
    Reviewed 25 November 2013

    Had a really great Sunday lunch with my God Daughter who loved the whole experience. The food was very good and the service even better, so thank you Pedro for all your great organisation and also thank you Chef for a splendid Sunday lunch. I know I have review this Hotel before but just had to do another review to cover our really good experience.

    • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank cmjm10
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

    Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and restaurant once more, we are very pleased with the positive feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

    Kindest regards
    Lukasz Dwornik

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 22 November 2013

    we have just stayed 3 nights at this hotel and loved it ! our room, the food and the staff all excellent
    Lovely setting with beautiful views over the green towards the church and ruins of the old Priory
    lots of places to walk down by the river and to the quay,the town centre has plenty of individual type shops to browse.

    Room Tip: rooms on the front have a wonderful view, but if you are light sleeper you can hear the traffic,
    • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank mojacar25
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel, we are very pleased with your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. We strive to ensure our guests have a happy and pleasent experience in the hotel and i shall pass your great feedback onto the staff.

    Kindest regards
    Lukasz Dwornik

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 15 November 2013

    we went to a friends special birthday party held in the very nice function room, where we were served very nice buffet . But we were very surprised at the price of drinks. we have never paid £5 a pint before! £5 a pint of COKE that is!!!! Disgraceful

    • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
      • Value
    1  Thank margaret132013
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

    Thank you for taking the time to pass this review on to us, I apologise that you did not fully enjoy the function event here at the kings, i have spoken to the bar staff and we serve our coke's at £2 therefore a pint is double that and total of £4 which is rarely asked for, however I can confirm also that it was not £5, however we have looked into pricing for particular drinks. We do hope to see you return some day to the Kings.

    Kindest regards
    Lukasz Dwornik

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 14 November 2013

    The hotel is located in a lovely part of the world. Christchurch is a pretty town a nice place to wander. The hotel has minimal parking which is nuisance. The hotel building is splendid and well maintained. Our room was large well appointed with a comfortable large bed. There was a radio come ipod player on the bed side table whose operation I found impenetrable. The bath was comfortable but there was no facility to put a book or whatever. Some shelf space would have been helpful.

    We ate in the restaurant twice and I must say I found the food slightly disappointing. The first night I had a starter of fish salad. Which was OK but did not excite me. Which given it cost £9 should not have been the case. The second course was pork which I found dry and fairly tasteless. The next evening I had the burger. Again found the pate dry and tasteless. My wife made better choices she had a ham terrine and rack of ribs which she enjoyed. Be aware the burger and the rack of ribs are substantial. I would resist having a starter if you order those dishes.

    The breakfast was good.

    Staff terrific. The breakfast waiter "Chris" is very good as is the lady on the reception. But to be fair the standard of service from all the staff was high.

    You can use the Spa in the hotels sister hotel which is rather swish.

    Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    Thank Dr John K
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

    Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are pleased that you enjoyed the comfy beds and bath tubs we provide, sorry to hear about your experience in the restauarant, we do hope you can visit us again soon, i will pass this onto the restaurant and kitchen team further. We do strive to ensure all our guests are happy and satisfied with service and quality of food so we do hope you return in the near future to try our menu once more.

    Kindest regards
    Lukasz Dwornik

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 13 November 2013

    My partner and I stayed 3 nights at the hotel, having seen an offer on line. We like to stay in quality hotels and we were not disappointed. The hotel is in a lovely setting in the historic part of Christchurch, with an abundance of interesting places to visit nearby. On arrival the hotel organised a parking space for us in the small area opposite and from then on everything was as close to perfect as it gets. Excellent food, lovely staff and rooms appointed with quality fitments such as the modern style bathroom. Maybe the TV sets could be improved, because if you are like us, we like a bit of decadence when we stay away, like watching in the late afternoon and the size and sound quality didn't match what we have at home (everything else does, or even exceeds). I realise that all these positive reviews might tempt 'Harbour Hotels' to put up prices, but as things stand the tariffs make this such an attractive place to stay. Well done to all the staff.
    P.S. could you please organise draught beer/ lager to extend your range, which is simply Beck's Vier at present?

    Room Tip: 2nd floor is quality
    • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank LANDOFGREYANDPINK
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are very pleased to see you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Kings, i have passed on the praise to the team and also looking into the draught beers with the bar team. We hope to see you return again soon.

    Kindest regards
    Lukasz Dwornik

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews