We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kings Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kings Arms
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
190 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“Nice room”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Good location in the centre of Christchurch opposite the Abbey and Castle. The room was very nice being at the front with a view of the Abbey. There is a small parking space at the front of the hotel but more spaces behind it. Bathroom was good and modern. Room had the usual facilities. Yes public areas could maybe do with a lick of paint but nothing you'd really notice. Breakfast was fine. One snag - pillows were too soft.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brighton9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroCWatson, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for your positive review.

I am glad that you were able to enjoy our beautiful views of the bowling green and priory church from one of our front facing rooms.

We hope that you will visit us again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    205
    60
    21
    6
See reviews for
110
410
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This was our fourth visit to the kings hotel, sadly not the best, in fact over the period of four years it has gradually decreased in quality. We arrived on Thursday 23rd January.checked in,and were given our pass for the harbour spa, {sister hotel to the kings in mudeford}
The cosy loft room was fine, no problems there, we then drove over to the Harbour hotel spa,looking forward to a pleasant relaxing afternoon as we have had before. When we arrived,we were told by them that it was closed because of flooding. On return to the kings, when we mentioned it at reception, they said they knew, unfortunately this was not what we had been told! The manager said that as some kind of compensation for our disappointment,we could have two glasses of prosecco with our dinner.
The evening meal from the 15 mile menu, really left something to be desired, the portions were very small.the fish was minute,the soup was anything but country vegetable,and the ice cream on the mousse was the size of a teaspoon,most disappointing!
The prosecco did not arrive!!
When we checked out on Friday,we asked the manager if it would be possible to have a pass to go to the spa another day, as it was part of the deal! He was unable to give us this, but said he would talk to his friend, the manager of the harbour hotel, "but could not promise us anything", it is now Monday evening of the 27th and I have not heard anything from him.
Disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherryccross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroCWatson, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for your comments.
I am sorry to hear you did not fully enjoy your stay at The Kings. I understand you are most disappointed that the spa was closed on this particular day; unfortunately the closure of the facilities was unforeseen but necessary.
With regards to your evening meal, we have spoken both since and during your stay with us and you had not mentioned that dinner in the restaurant was not to your liking. As I’m sure you can appreciate, it is much easier for us to help our customers when they tell us that there is something unsatisfactory during their time in our restaurant.
In our experience, we have had very few negative comments, as you can see from our Trip Advisor rating.
Thank you for staying with us.

Regards
Lukasz Dwornik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england amersham
Level Contributor
195 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Visited for lunch with my wife and both sets of elderly parents for lunch which exceeded our expectations .
Lovely welcome by staff , pre dinner drink in the lounge and great quality food .
Lovely atmosphere in restaurant and attentive service all at a reasonable price so we will return.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank johnbowen87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroCWatson, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for your highly positive review of your visit to the Kings restaurant.

I am delighted to hear that you and your guests had a very enjoyable dining experience. I will pass your praise on to the rest of our team.

We hope that you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Lovely hotel. I was there for business. It was a shame the restaurant closed at 9pm. Breakfast was from 7am, but I was told by the restaurant staff during the previous evening that cooked breakfasts wouldn't be ready until about 7.30am.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroCWatson, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I will pass them along to the rest of the team in order that we don't have the same confusion in the future. Once again, thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2014

"Just a quick email to thank you very much for accommodating our company for our Christmas party. It was a most enjoyable evening and everyone said how lovely the food was. I thought the table buffet was a fantastic idea too."

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southwood C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroCWatson, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for your positive comment regarding your company christmas party.

We are glad that you enjoyed your 'bring me food' dining experience and we hope that you will join us agin next year for more festivities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We booked a table for four people for New Years Eve and had a super evening with excellent food well produced and served. There was a really nice atmosphere to the restaurant and the staff were very efficient and helpful.
Later in the evening one of our party was unwell and Lucas the manager was excellent in his attention to our friend, he went out of his way to make sure she got the attention from a paramedics team who arrived very quickly. We would also like to mention Pedro who again was very helpful in the situation. Although it was an extremely busy evening the care of the staff was excellent.

Could not recommend this restaurant more highly. Many thanks again.

Tony

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroCWatson, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful comment on your visit to the kings.

It is unfortunate that one of your guests was ill but we are glad that you receieved the care and attention that was necessary. However we are also delighted to know that prior to this, your evening was most enjoyable. I will pass on your praises to our team!

We very much look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We took my parents for a 3 night Xmas break. Great welcome, friendly even when under pressure which was inevitable over Xmas. We concur with all the superlatives of previous reviews (cleanliness, friendliness, food quality etc) but roast dinner on Boxing Day included tough potatoes & yorkshire pud - the chef obviously needed a break. He deserved it! No probs. parking, but I can sympathise with Patrick's frustration. Oh - the bus stop is by the door so we left the car for the duration. We may well be back next year.

Room Tip: Loft rooms (3rd floor) were cosy & adequate, but not palatial.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Illbeburgered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroCWatson, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your enjoyable stay here at the kings. We are glad to see that you were able to enjoy all aspects of the hotel during your stay in one of our cosy loft rooms!

We do hope that you will visit us again next year for more festivities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.4 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
662 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
2.9 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
361 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Property: The Kings Arms
Address: 18 Castle Street, Christchurch BH23 1DT, England (Formerly The Kings)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms in Christchurch, is a stunning Georgian building in the heart of Dorset - combining a traditional yet stylish Restaurant with luxurious bedrooms carefully restored in true Georgian style, whilst Alex Aitken remains chef patron at The Jetty he is also spending time with the chefs and team at The Kings Arms, Alex has headed up the team re-styling the restaurant menus and cooking philosophy. The Kings Restaurant has a delicious menu using the best local ingredients and is proud to have been awarded Michelin Bib Gourmand status for three consecutive years. The Kings Arms has everything you need for a Dorset short break, situated in the historic town of Christchurch, Dorset, a popular yachting town, overlooking the Avon River, Christchurch Castle and The Kings Arms Bowling Green, The Kings is marvelously picturesque. A short distance from the Dorset Jurassic Coast, The Kings Arms combines coastal beauty, historical town discoveries and stunning scenery, all with a comfortable place to relax after a day's adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Christchurch
The Kings Arms Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing