We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic restaurant & great service as always”
Review of The Kings Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kings Arms
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Me and my partner ate lunch here a few weeks ago. We have eaten at the Kings Arms many times now and have never been disappointed with the food and service. The food is lovely and at a great price too. Ive eaten during when they have their 15 mile menu on and the price you pay is fantastic especially for the great quality of food you receive :) We will be back again soon

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmth1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroCWatson, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for your kind comments with regard to your recent stay with us. We will look forward to seeing you on your next visit with us. -JD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (794)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 794 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon tour of Devon and Cornwall. Really worth the money, large room with a lovely view. We did not stay for an evening meal but breakfast was fantastic. Would stay here again if in the area. Nice wall into town and nice open green with castle opposite hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jpdolby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroCWatson, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

We greatly appreciate your kind comments about your recent stay at the Kings Arms, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. -JD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed for one night and wish I had booked more!! Fantastic hotel with great service and lovely comfortable rooms. Excellent views across to the castle ruins and perfect location for local transport.

Will be back very soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroCWatson, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you very much for your kind comments about your recent stay with us in Christchurch.-JD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This hotel and restaurant has a warm welcome and a delicious menu. I recently hosted a party there, in the Georgian Lounge - which was beautifully decorated and lit by candles. It's a delightful venue. Thanks to Lukasz and his team for making it such a memorable evening

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroCWatson, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for positive review and kind comments. I will ensure that your comments are passed on to Lukasz and the team. Kind regards. -JD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This beautiful hotel is in the old part of Christchurch overlooking the castle ruins. The picturesque river side walk is just across the road
Our room was on the top floor, in the eves, but was fabulous. Tastefully decorated & well equipped.
The cocktail bar & restaurant did not disappoint.
We'd definitely recommend this to friends & we would like to return soon.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have wonderful views but the road may be a little noisey. Rooms at the back are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieCrowborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroCWatson, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for your kind comments and positive review of your recent stay with us at the Kings Arms. I will be certain to pass them along to the team. -JD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Had lunch with friends and experienced an excellent meal from the !5 Mile Menu (food sourced within 15 miles of Christchurch).

Starter, main course and a glass of wine at a price that was exceptionally good value for this calibre of hotel.

The staff and service were second to none & nothing was too much trouble.

We will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroCWatson, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for your positive review and kind comments on your recent visit to the Kings Arms. I will be very pleased to pass these along to our team. -JD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We spent two nights at this lovely hotel and it was an absolute pleasure. The staff are excellent and nothing was too much trouble. The room we had was gorgeous, well furnished, clean and a good size with a wonderful bathroom.

The food was extremely good and we enjoyed our breakfast and dinner very much.

The parking was a bit hit and miss but yet again the staff were always helpful and soon sorted out any problems. Would most definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranjanEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroCWatson, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for your positive review and kind comments on your recent visit with us at the Kings Arms in Christchurch. They are greatly appreciated and I will ensure that they are passed along to our team.-JD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.4 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#5 of 11 in Christchurch
760 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#7 of 11 in Christchurch
436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Christchurch
Travelodge Christchurch
#8 of 11 in Christchurch
406 reviews
20.1 mi away
Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Address: 18 Castle Street, Christchurch BH23 1DT, England (Formerly The Kings)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £71 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms in Christchurch, is a stunning Georgian building in the heart of Dorset - combining a traditional yet stylish Restaurant with luxurious bedrooms carefully restored in true Georgian style, whilst Alex Aitken remains chef patron at The Jetty he is also spending time with the chefs and team at The Kings Arms, Alex has headed up the team re-styling the restaurant menus and cooking philosophy. The Kings Restaurant has a delicious menu using the best local ingredients and is proud to have been awarded Michelin Bib Gourmand status for three consecutive years. The Kings Arms has everything you need for a Dorset short break, situated in the historic town of Christchurch, Dorset, a popular yachting town, overlooking the Avon River, Christchurch Castle and The Kings Arms Bowling Green, The Kings is marvelously picturesque. A short distance from the Dorset Jurassic Coast, The Kings Arms combines coastal beauty, historical town discoveries and stunning scenery, all with a comfortable place to relax after a day's adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Christchurch
The Kings Arms Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing