We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent again”
Review of The Kings Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Kings Arms
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent again”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We have just returned from Christchurch and once again stayed at the Kings. We cannot fault this hotel, having stayed here about 10 times now, which speaks for itself. Rooms lovely and clean, we were on 2nd floor in a room overlooking the bowling green, ruins and views of the Priory. Breakfast is lovely, service is good and the Hotel is located in a lovely position. Whilst we were in Christchurch it was the annual food festival which was a bonus.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroCWatson, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you for your recent positive reveiw of the Hotel. I'll make sure to pass along your comments to the entire team and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit with us.Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    216
    64
    22
    5
See reviews for
115
436
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, England
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We booked the meal as a treat for Mrs Barganax's birthday and so were looking or something special. The location of the hotel cannot be beaten, a mellow stone brick building alongside a small river over looking a bowling green and ruins. Typically and beautifully English.
The reception was friendly and welcoming. We were a bit early and the greeter suggested we wain in the bar.
The dining room was beautiful, a pleasure to walk into. Everything sparkled. The menu was interesting. They offered a 15 for 15 set menu, all produce from within 15 miles for £15 a head. We decided for the a la carte.
The service was ok. I know that sounds a bit iffy, but I was expecting something a bit more from the hotel. It was very professional and very prompt but lacked that certain extra.
The food was delivered and was perfect. I opted for the fish and chips and it was very good indeed. Mrs B went for the risotto and again a delightful dish.
We dared a look at the dessert menu but were too full to do it justice so ambled out into the sunshine feeling well fed and contented. Be warned, the bill is not for the faint hearted, but the food was well worth it.
The hotel seems to sell the image of the lost age of elegance and certainly hits that mark. It is a treat to walk through the doors.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barganax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroCWatson, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you for your recent reveiw of our property. I will make certain to pass along your comments to the team and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Great place to celebrate! Thank you to all concerned at Kings Hotel in Christchurch for wonderful night celebrating my daughters 40th birthday this month!
The evening went without a hitch, food was delicious and the service and facilities brilliant!
A night to remember!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lesley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroCWatson, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our property. I'm glad the celebration went well and will certainly pass along your comments to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My partner and his sister booked a surprise afternoon tea for my partners dad's 80th birthday for 30 or so family and friends. The tea was great, lovely quality hand made sandwiches, cakes and scones, which kept on coming! As much tea and coffee as we wanted too. The service was great and the two young ladies who looked after us could not have been more helpful. Would thoroughly recommend, great value!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bindi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroCWatson, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
I'm glad to hear that the celebration went so well and would like to thank you personally for your kind review. I will pass along your comments to the two young ladies who looked after you on the day and look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings Arms in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We got married at The Kings in December. We chose to have a winter wedding as we got engaged in a snowy location. The location is beautiful and because the venue is a blank canvas, you can really put your own personal stamp on it. The staff at the hotel were very good, Gemma the events manager was so kind and helpful and made the room look so beautiful on the day. Lukasz the hotel manager was outstanding. Anything we needed, he was always there to help and any brides or brides to be will know, getting married can be a stressful time. Lukasz was very calming, oversaw things to make sure all was ok and made us feel like we were the first couple to ever get married there, nothing was too much for him, he is a wonderfully kind person. On the day, the staff worked so hard to ensure our day went smoothly, they were friendly and really felt like part of our wedding party. One member of staff in particular, James was amazing! He overheard me say to my husband that I had left my michael Buble CD at home, within minutes he had gone and found some micheal buble music and put it on straight away! Those are the extra special touches on the day that made us so glad we chose The Kings. We have been to other weddings where staff have been no where near as attentive and the service we received at The Kings did not go unnoticed by our guests. Every one said how good they thought the staff were. We stayed for 3 nights in total and the room was gorgeous, clean, comfortable and relaxing. We plan to stay at The Kings for our 1 year anniversary and it was always be a favourite place of ours. Thank you to everyone at The Kings for giving us a wonderful wedding day! Lots of love Mr & Mrs Ratcliffe x

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsPrincessR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroCWatson, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you your recent kind review. We are so glad to hear that you had such a great day and will be certain to pass along your kind comments to Gemma and Lukasz. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croxley Green, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The Kings is a superb venue for a wedding, such as we held for our daughter and son-in-law. The Pavilion and the lawn made a great setting for the ceremony and drinks reception and the Priory is a flexible space for the dinner and party that followed.

The events manager, Gemma, who coordinated the day with scrupulous attention to detail and was with us all the way through, the care shown by chef Ian and his team in the kitchen dealing with our very particular requirements and the smooth operators in the front of house led by John during the day all gave real personal attention to us and all our guests. Lukasz, the hotel’s general manager, displayed good humour throughout, even taking on the task of ensuring the weather was kind! Our guests loved everything about the day.

This is a fabulous setting and venue for a wedding - it’s hard to praise it too much.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greyoltwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroCWatson, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and your recent positive review of our Hotel. I will be certain to pass along your comments to the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings Arms in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Just stayed for one night but could have stayed for more. Comfortable, clean room on 2nd floor. We had a room overlooking the back of the hotel - so no road noise. Great meal in the restaurant - we had the tasting menu which was very generous. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroCWatson, John Daniels- Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for kind comments regarding your recent stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings Arms in the future. JD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
0.4 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
718 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Christchurch
Travelodge Christchurch
#7 of 11 in Christchurch
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
382 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
139 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Property: The Kings Arms
Address: 18 Castle Street, Christchurch BH23 1DT, England (Formerly The Kings)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms in Christchurch, is a stunning Georgian building in the heart of Dorset - combining a traditional yet stylish Restaurant with luxurious bedrooms carefully restored in true Georgian style, whilst Alex Aitken remains chef patron at The Jetty he is also spending time with the chefs and team at The Kings Arms, Alex has headed up the team re-styling the restaurant menus and cooking philosophy. The Kings Restaurant has a delicious menu using the best local ingredients and is proud to have been awarded Michelin Bib Gourmand status for three consecutive years. The Kings Arms has everything you need for a Dorset short break, situated in the historic town of Christchurch, Dorset, a popular yachting town, overlooking the Avon River, Christchurch Castle and The Kings Arms Bowling Green, The Kings is marvelously picturesque. A short distance from the Dorset Jurassic Coast, The Kings Arms combines coastal beauty, historical town discoveries and stunning scenery, all with a comfortable place to relax after a day's adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Christchurch
The Kings Arms Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing