We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly how a great wedding venue should be!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kings Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kings Arms
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Exactly how a great wedding venue should be!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We are of a certain age (but also young at heart), and wanted our wedding celebration to be understated with the emphasis on a venue where we could have a large input into the detail, and a relaxed environment so that the two families (unknown to each other in large part) could comfortably get acquainted.
The staff (without exception) did all in their power to ensure we got whatever we required.We used the beautifully restored Victorian Pavilion on the Bowling green in front of the Hotel in the morning for drinks and canapés. Ideal as we could spill out onto the lawn in the sunshine. The pavilion has an excellent sound system for playlists etc.
For the wedding breakfast 42 of us gathered in the lovely light and airy hotel lounge for a sit-down cold buffet. The buffet was excellent value for money, everything was fresh colourful and delicious, and very efficiently laid out - no bumping and waiting in queues!
The hotel were happy for us to have a friend do occasional spots on a piano (his own) while we dined. I can only praise the hotel for the effort they made for us.
We did not use the dedicated Hotel venue, as we wanted something out of the ordinary, and also the opportunity to enjoy the lovely grounds in Christchurch.
Many of our guests, as well as ourselves, stayed at the hotel. The rooms were excellent with pleasant aspects, and great facilities. The hotel is graciously decorated and, due to no long corridors, manages to be intimate and friendly. The restaurant is equally excellent value, many of our friends stopping late to dine at leisure which was magical. Effectively it turned into a three day wedding!!
So, an enormous thank you Lucasz, John and the team for a most successful and memorable wedding.

Room Tip: 1st floor South facing is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pabarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroCWatson, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for your recent kind review of the Kings Arms. It was a pleasure to have you stay and join in your celebrations of a lovely event. I will make certain that your comments are passed on to the entire team and look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings in the near future.-JD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    205
    60
    21
    5
See reviews for
110
411
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cheltenham
Level Contributor
145 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I stayed here last weekend for a wedding venue. The room was clean and tidy, good bathroom and a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was included in the package.Breakfast was good with a varied choice of fruits, cereal and hot food options.
The hotel staff were very helpful and professional in their work.
Food overall was very good and the restaurant looks lovely in the evening.
My first time in Christchurch and it's a very pretty little town, lots to see and do.
On the Sunday I visited Clouds Hill (T.E. Lawrence retreat). A must visit place if in Dorset, a defining man of his time.
All in all, I would highly recommend this Hotel. Great location and service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valhalla13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroCWatson, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our Hotel and your kind comments. I will make certain that we pass them on to the entire team. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Had a lovely meal with friends and neighbours, fantastic fish dinner great atmosphere and complimentary fizz which started off the evening nicely!! It is set in a beautiful part of Christchurch well done!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louise p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroCWatson, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your kind positive review. I will make certain to poass along the comments you have made to the entire team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from a wedding at the Kings Arms. The bedrooms were tastefully decorated and of a decent size with good bathrooms. The restaurant and bar areas were clearly popular with residents and non residents. Wedding pavilion and priory were stunning venues and the food was very tasty. Hotel was a little warm, church bells would wake light sleepers and limited parking, but all of this can be overlooked due to the quality of the venue

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroCWatson, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your kind comments on your recent visit to the Kings Arms. I will pass your comments on to the entire team and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We had our first meal in this restaurant last night. The food was excellent and the service first class. There was a nice welcome atmosphere due to such lovely staff. Will definitely be going back again and will not hesitate to recommend to all.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsD250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroCWatson, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your recent review and kind comments. I will make certain to pass them along to the entire team. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Had a lovely lunch there this week with friends. Took advantage of their current £10 offer of a salad or starter and a main followed by coffee. The starter of potted mackerel was small but tasty. The main of pork with black pudding on bubble and squeak was absolutely melt in the mouth!! Worth every penny. The staff were friendly and attentive - I don't usually like tips that are added to the bill but didn't mind this time (and it did say optional on the bill!).
Would definitely go again - maybe quite soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shushc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroCWatson, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your recent kind review. I will ensure that your comments are passed along to the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We only ate here, we did not stay. We had booked a meal for three and were so pleasantly surprised by the level of service, they could not have done more for us. One of our party is a celiac and has to have gluten free diet and the waitress went out of her way to accommodate this to make sure the food would be gluten free. The service was prompt and efficient and at no point did we feel pressured which makes a nice change nowadays. The food was of a high standard and presently beautifully. I shall certainly go there again when in Christchurch and would not hesitate to recommend it to all.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazzie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroCWatson, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you for your reecent review of the Hotel. I will make certain to pass along your comments to the entire team and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Christchurch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.4 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Property: The Kings Arms
Address: 18 Castle Street, Christchurch BH23 1DT, England (Formerly The Kings)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms in Christchurch, is a stunning Georgian building in the heart of Dorset - combining a traditional yet stylish Restaurant with luxurious bedrooms carefully restored in true Georgian style, whilst Alex Aitken remains chef patron at The Jetty he is also spending time with the chefs and team at The Kings Arms, Alex has headed up the team re-styling the restaurant menus and cooking philosophy. The Kings Restaurant has a delicious menu using the best local ingredients and is proud to have been awarded Michelin Bib Gourmand status for three consecutive years. The Kings Arms has everything you need for a Dorset short break, situated in the historic town of Christchurch, Dorset, a popular yachting town, overlooking the Avon River, Christchurch Castle and The Kings Arms Bowling Green, The Kings is marvelously picturesque. A short distance from the Dorset Jurassic Coast, The Kings Arms combines coastal beauty, historical town discoveries and stunning scenery, all with a comfortable place to relax after a day's adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Christchurch
The Kings Arms Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing