We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding 15 June ”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kings Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kings Arms
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wedding 15 June ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Pre wedding organisation was mostly via emails which were responded to slowly and often without answering all questions.

A week before I found out the only person at the hotel I had been dealing with wasn't going to be there on the day.

Room bookings before the wedding were absolute chaos and at one point all the deposits were allocated to two rooms so they were going to release the others for re-booking (without actually telling us). Also a number of people were not in the type of room they booked.

No one spoke to me about the wedding on the weekend of (I stayed the night before) until someone came to get me to take me to the pavilion for the ceremony.

The ceremony was at 1 and they started setting up the ceremony room at 11.30 with guests due to arrive from 12. A number of guests and the groom had to organise half of the decorations and the staff were not polite to them in the process. This made for lots of stressed guests and a v stressed groom who couldn't speak to his family/guests before the ceremony.

They told us we could request drinks to be stocked in the bar which didn't happened although they did rectify it.

In conclusion an Awesome venue with lovely food but severely let down by the staff and organisation.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Louisethomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz D, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your great comments of “ awesome venue with lovely food”. Your observations with regards to the communication are noted. It is always more difficult when liaising via email rather than personal meetings. We do appreciate your feedback.

Regards
Lukasz Dwornik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    205
    60
    21
    5
See reviews for
110
411
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

My daughter had her wedding here last weekend everything was excellent the food, service the staff, the rooms, the wedding planning the wedding planner were excellent everything went without a hitch and it was a lovely weekend a lovely setting and everybody was amazed at how well the hotel was run. Thank you for helping make my daughters wedding a day to remember. Would definitely come and stay again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandyz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz D, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our Hotel; we are very glad that everything went well with your daughters wedding and wish the new bride and groom a lifetime of happiness!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights recently. Professionally run hotel with very good rooms and service.
Breakfasts were taken in the pleasant dining room with an excellent choice. Minor gripes would be
noisy front rooms[the back ones are quieter]and accessibility into the bath/shower as very high sided. Christchurch is a pretty town and a useful hub for the New Forest and Bournemouth with regular buses running from outside the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BQSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz D, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our Hotel. I will ensure that your comments are passwed on to the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Lovely hotel in great location. Reception very good. Polite & helpful. We arrived quite early (11.30am) & our room was ready to check into. Great start! Room was very nice & quite large. Bathroom enormous but to get in the shower (bath) be prepared to use a safety rope!! My Mrs struggled to climb over the side of the bath to get in so if you're in anyway unsure of foot, be wary. All's well but then, I saw an adjoining door! Didn't ask to be moved but had cause to worry. Noise always seems to penetrate! Went out for the rest of the day. Christchurch is a great place to visit although a couple of days is enough for a stay there unless you branch out. We had travelled by train so that wasn't an option. So after an afternoon in the sun & having a somewhat strained stressful meal at The Boater's (would not go again - bad experience - food & service poor) we returned to the hotel. This is where it starts to go amiss! The hotel is fab for a wedding. If like us you are not part of the wedding then please be aware that noise levels out the front of the hotel are quite irksome when its your bedtime. Then the adjoining door comes into play! I was woken up by shouting & arguing coming from the next door room. Probably guests of the wedding party having had a beverage or three. Thankfully it didn't go on too long. So, just a word of warning- no adjoining door please next time!! Breakfast? Well the service was great. There may have been more staff on duty because of the wedding party but nevertheless they very good & attentive. The full English might have been classed a 'full' one but for the fact the bacon was awful! The rest was good.....a good selection of juices, cereals, supply of decent coffee....
Would I use the hotel again? Of course - but no.......... well you get the point....

Room Tip: Top floor no adjoining door
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulioStottio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroCWatson, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our property. I am sorry to hear that you were disturbed by guests in the adjoining room. Please let us know when you may be joioning us again and we will ensure that we book you into a non-adjoining room so as to avoid any possible reoccurance. I hope that this isolated incident will not deter you from booking with us again and look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings Arms in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We are of a certain age (but also young at heart), and wanted our wedding celebration to be understated with the emphasis on a venue where we could have a large input into the detail, and a relaxed environment so that the two families (unknown to each other in large part) could comfortably get acquainted.
The staff (without exception) did all in their power to ensure we got whatever we required.We used the beautifully restored Victorian Pavilion on the Bowling green in front of the Hotel in the morning for drinks and canapés. Ideal as we could spill out onto the lawn in the sunshine. The pavilion has an excellent sound system for playlists etc.
For the wedding breakfast 42 of us gathered in the lovely light and airy hotel lounge for a sit-down cold buffet. The buffet was excellent value for money, everything was fresh colourful and delicious, and very efficiently laid out - no bumping and waiting in queues!
The hotel were happy for us to have a friend do occasional spots on a piano (his own) while we dined. I can only praise the hotel for the effort they made for us.
We did not use the dedicated Hotel venue, as we wanted something out of the ordinary, and also the opportunity to enjoy the lovely grounds in Christchurch.
Many of our guests, as well as ourselves, stayed at the hotel. The rooms were excellent with pleasant aspects, and great facilities. The hotel is graciously decorated and, due to no long corridors, manages to be intimate and friendly. The restaurant is equally excellent value, many of our friends stopping late to dine at leisure which was magical. Effectively it turned into a three day wedding!!
So, an enormous thank you Lucasz, John and the team for a most successful and memorable wedding.

Room Tip: 1st floor South facing is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pabarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroCWatson, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for your recent kind review of the Kings Arms. It was a pleasure to have you stay and join in your celebrations of a lovely event. I will make certain that your comments are passed on to the entire team and look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings in the near future.-JD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheltenham
Level Contributor
145 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I stayed here last weekend for a wedding venue. The room was clean and tidy, good bathroom and a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was included in the package.Breakfast was good with a varied choice of fruits, cereal and hot food options.
The hotel staff were very helpful and professional in their work.
Food overall was very good and the restaurant looks lovely in the evening.
My first time in Christchurch and it's a very pretty little town, lots to see and do.
On the Sunday I visited Clouds Hill (T.E. Lawrence retreat). A must visit place if in Dorset, a defining man of his time.
All in all, I would highly recommend this Hotel. Great location and service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valhalla13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroCWatson, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our Hotel and your kind comments. I will make certain that we pass them on to the entire team. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Had a lovely meal with friends and neighbours, fantastic fish dinner great atmosphere and complimentary fizz which started off the evening nicely!! It is set in a beautiful part of Christchurch well done!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louise p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroCWatson, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your kind positive review. I will make certain to poass along the comments you have made to the entire team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.4 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Property: The Kings Arms
Address: 18 Castle Street, Christchurch BH23 1DT, England (Formerly The Kings)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms in Christchurch, is a stunning Georgian building in the heart of Dorset - combining a traditional yet stylish Restaurant with luxurious bedrooms carefully restored in true Georgian style, whilst Alex Aitken remains chef patron at The Jetty he is also spending time with the chefs and team at The Kings Arms, Alex has headed up the team re-styling the restaurant menus and cooking philosophy. The Kings Restaurant has a delicious menu using the best local ingredients and is proud to have been awarded Michelin Bib Gourmand status for three consecutive years. The Kings Arms has everything you need for a Dorset short break, situated in the historic town of Christchurch, Dorset, a popular yachting town, overlooking the Avon River, Christchurch Castle and The Kings Arms Bowling Green, The Kings is marvelously picturesque. A short distance from the Dorset Jurassic Coast, The Kings Arms combines coastal beauty, historical town discoveries and stunning scenery, all with a comfortable place to relax after a day's adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Lastminute, Hotelopia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Christchurch
The Kings Arms Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing