We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic service and wonderful room!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kings Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kings Arms
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic service and wonderful room!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed here for one night on 22nd June 2014. The gentleman who greeted me and my friend at gone 9pm was helpfulness itself. We had been let down by the local Premier Inn and had only just rung The Kings Arms to see if they had a room. The slightly slow registration process was not problem at all, as the clerk apologised for the delay - we were just so pleased to have a room at such short notice.

Once in the room, it was very well appointed with windows that we could open fully (it had been a hot day) and louvered shutters to stop bugs getting in but that let air in. There was a Dyson desk fan which was great. The beds were very comfortable and the room had an ironing board and iron in the wardrobe.

After a good night's sleep, the breakfast was top notch too. Cooked to order with a variety of options, e.g. eggs done how you want, eggs benedict etc. We'd definitely stay in this hotel when visiting Christchurch again. Twin room £95.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz D, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our Hotel and your kind comments. I will ensure that your comments are passed on to the entire team and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Christchurch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    205
    60
    21
    5
See reviews for
110
411
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We spent a very pleasant 3 nights here at the beginning of June to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary. This is a very well run Hotel with extremely helpful and pleasant staff, especially Josie and Chris - thank you both for your help (we did think that the Duty Manager should have been a little more informed on the local transport, instead of directing us to the Tourist Information Office though and some of the young European female staff could do with a little extra training.)
When originally booking we asked for a front Queen room overlooking The Priory but were quite relieved to find that we had been allocated a room overlooking the Courtyard which was so much quieter, well furnished with a smart bathroom although having a hip problem I did have difficulty climbing into the bath, which was very high sided!!
We would certainly return to this Hotel but would chose bed and breakfast in future, as there are many good restaurants nearby. We were looking forward to dining in the Hotel as we had heard many good reports, but were disappointed - the a la Carte menu gave a choice of Boiled Beef and Carrots, Fish and Chips etc. (there were some steaks but nothing out of the ordinary) and there was nothing on the l5 mile menu that I really wanted to eat, e.g. Mackerel, Liver, Hand of Pork or Vegetable Risotto - hardly the kind of food I would have expected at a Hotel of this calibre and there were only 3 other people in the restaurant when we dined, so perhaps we aren't being over critical. I have to say though that everything was presented beautifully and the puddings were delicious and we thoroughly enjoyed our breakfasts.

.

Room Tip: Room 201 - perfect - quiet and wonderfully comfortable bed, but if you have a hip problem the bath i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JayS1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz D, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our Hotel and your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bransgore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I know I have reviewed The Kings before but this was special. 24 friends got together to celebrate a very special birthday for three people in the Georgian Room starting with a fantastic receptions and wonderful canapés. We were then treated to the most special dinner starting with poached egg and asparagus, then Beef Wellington with wonderful dauphinois potatoes followed by the most delicious dessert of strawberries and goodies. Then came the cake for the three special people. I cannot thank Lukasz, Pedro and team for the most special evening. We cannot thank all at Kings enough on behalf of the New Zealand Family, Irish Family and all the other wonderful friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmjm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz D, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for recent kind review of our property. It was a pleasure to serve you and your guests; and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Called in here for our lunch and it was a complete delight. Party of 7 with 2 fussy eaters all catered for brilliantly with friendly helpful staff. Nobody was rushing around you wanting you out and we were the last to leave. Had the Duck confit shepherds pie with roasted butternut squash. Gorgeous.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denise126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz D, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our Hotel and restaurant. I will make sure to pass along your commnets to both our front and back of house teams.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

This was the second occasion that I have had the pleasure of visiting this Hotel, the first was the wedding of my Daughter. On that occasion we were entertained within their newly established and purpose built function rooms.
On this visit I was attending a private dinner to celebrate a birthday. There were eighteen people in the party that was seated in the beautifully appointed Georgian private dining room.
Guests were greeted by a hostess who remained dedicated to the party, ensuring that the entire evening went perfectly, the atmosphere was warm, welcoming and inviting. The food was first class from the canopies through to the sweet course and cheese.
The staff were professional, attentive and friendly ensuring that the celebration was a great success.
This visit confirmed my earlier impressions of this superbly run Hotel that I would unreservedly recommend.

Room Tip: I can't comment upon sleep quality, rooms, swimming pool or fitness centre Having not had the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz D, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review of the Kings Arms. I will make certain to pass along your comments to our entire service team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Pre wedding organisation was mostly via emails which were responded to slowly and often without answering all questions.

A week before I found out the only person at the hotel I had been dealing with wasn't going to be there on the day.

Room bookings before the wedding were absolute chaos and at one point all the deposits were allocated to two rooms so they were going to release the others for re-booking (without actually telling us). Also a number of people were not in the type of room they booked.

No one spoke to me about the wedding on the weekend of (I stayed the night before) until someone came to get me to take me to the pavilion for the ceremony.

The ceremony was at 1 and they started setting up the ceremony room at 11.30 with guests due to arrive from 12. A number of guests and the groom had to organise half of the decorations and the staff were not polite to them in the process. This made for lots of stressed guests and a v stressed groom who couldn't speak to his family/guests before the ceremony.

They told us we could request drinks to be stocked in the bar which didn't happened although they did rectify it.

In conclusion an Awesome venue with lovely food but severely let down by the staff and organisation.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Louisethomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz D, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your great comments of “ awesome venue with lovely food”. Your observations with regards to the communication are noted. It is always more difficult when liaising via email rather than personal meetings. We do appreciate your feedback.

Regards
Lukasz Dwornik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

My daughter had her wedding here last weekend everything was excellent the food, service the staff, the rooms, the wedding planning the wedding planner were excellent everything went without a hitch and it was a lovely weekend a lovely setting and everybody was amazed at how well the hotel was run. Thank you for helping make my daughters wedding a day to remember. Would definitely come and stay again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandyz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz D, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our Hotel; we are very glad that everything went well with your daughters wedding and wish the new bride and groom a lifetime of happiness!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.4 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Property: The Kings Arms
Address: 18 Castle Street, Christchurch BH23 1DT, England (Formerly The Kings)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms in Christchurch, is a stunning Georgian building in the heart of Dorset - combining a traditional yet stylish Restaurant with luxurious bedrooms carefully restored in true Georgian style, whilst Alex Aitken remains chef patron at The Jetty he is also spending time with the chefs and team at The Kings Arms, Alex has headed up the team re-styling the restaurant menus and cooking philosophy. The Kings Restaurant has a delicious menu using the best local ingredients and is proud to have been awarded Michelin Bib Gourmand status for three consecutive years. The Kings Arms has everything you need for a Dorset short break, situated in the historic town of Christchurch, Dorset, a popular yachting town, overlooking the Avon River, Christchurch Castle and The Kings Arms Bowling Green, The Kings is marvelously picturesque. A short distance from the Dorset Jurassic Coast, The Kings Arms combines coastal beauty, historical town discoveries and stunning scenery, all with a comfortable place to relax after a day's adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotelopia, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Christchurch
The Kings Arms Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing