We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent excellent excellent”
Review of The Kings Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kings Arms
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Last night we ate at this restaurant and what an experience! Pedro the restaurant manager found us a table in a busy restaurant, the service of the bar staff and restaurant staff were exceptional. Being a lover of the chateaubriand we ordered this, and being fussy about the cooking of it , their excellent chef Max came to the table to make sure it was perfect. This chef was amazing , was professional and helpful and a credit tot this fantastic restaurant. Thank you to Luckasz and Pedro and especially Max for making our night. If you want a perfect night in an amazing restaurant with professional staff then choose this restaurant

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz D, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent visit to the Kings Arms. I'll make certain to pass along your positive comments to the entire team and particularly Lukasz, Pedro and Max. We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (777)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 777 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

I cannot praise this hotel and delightful staff enough !! We had originally booked a room At the Royal Bath in Bournemouth, complete disaster, and drove to Christchurch, very pretty town!! We popped into the Kings Arms for a cup of tea, and were chatting to the staff about our predicament. Lucas the very efficient, and charming manager found us a room for an amazingly good rate. We duly left the Royal Bath and returned to the Kings Arms, where we were given a wonderful room, huge bed beautiful decor, great bathroom with a proper and very powerful shower, spotlessly clean. Dinner in the delightful restaurant was delicious all their food is sourced locally and we were looked after by the charming Pedro who couldn't do enough for us.

We loved this hotel. And the staff and management are some of the best i have come across, all in all made our visit to Dorset a complete pleasure.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ursula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz D, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel; I will make certain to pass along your comments to the entire team and in particular Lukasz and Pedro. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We went to the King's arms in Christchurch last night for a meal. I'd never been there before even though I work in Christchurch and lived locally for years. Wow, what a hidden gem! The food, service and surroundings were absolutely superb. We were seated at a lovely corner table overlooking the bowling green . All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. This will be a new regular eatery for me from now on. Thanks.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Citibadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz D, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your recent visit to our hotel and would like to thank you for your positive comments. I'll ensure that they are passed on to the entire team. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We had two night at the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Staff v friendly and great in restaurant. Room large but very hot fan provided but needs air con. Agree stair carpets need rep,acing and deliveries shouldn't be unloaded in hall. One thing i didn't like was in the morning the cleaners leave all bedroom laundry etc in corridor which doesn't look good for a high end hotel. Parking although limited was fine hitel staff ensured there were spaces although we didnt know this when we arrived. We ate in the restaurant both nights and had excellent affordable meals. Great steaks and lovely cheese soufflé. Location very nice take a riverside walk or take a left outside the hotel for a prezzos. I would recommend.

Room Tip: We had a kings room large and was at the front . The one with the flags hanging from the balcony. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 430kezza14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz D, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for your positive review. We've taken on board your observations and passed on your comments to the relevant departments, which we appreciate, as it is only through constructive observation, such as yours, that we can improve our service. Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed in a King room, the bed was so comfortable. The room gets warm but a fan is provided and had been left on to cool our room before arrival. The location is lovely for a little after dinner. The food was amazing.

Room Tip: Book direct through the hotel for a better price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz D, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for your recent positive review of the Kings Arms. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Just had 3 nights at this hotel. Great position in town but parking is a nightmare. Don't even bother to try to get in the back of the hotel to park which leaves you with the small, 6 place , car park at the front. If that is full then car parks are a walk away and don't forget to pay. The staff are fantastic. Very friendly helpful polite and genuine . Grubby carpets abound the stairs . The room was clean ,big , bright but needed a little TLC eg. Cracked tiles , grouting grubby . Room very warm and the air con did not do a lot. Changing the halogen bulbs for led would go a long way. If you like a beer or 2 the bar is very expensive eg. 2 shorts and 2 diet cokes from a gun £12.50.
Breakfast is very very good, Food fresh great ,friendly service good tea and coffee. Evening meal was a great disappointment. Kings spicy prawn cocktail wasn't spicy,,, garlic mushrooms £3.00 as an extra to the main meal were not at all garlicky. Steak was nice , chips were ok on the whole would not eat there again. The table either side of us 1and2 complained to the waitress because 1) his steak was Grissle and fat not nice and 2) the chicken was dry and tasteless. Very expensive meal but with lovely service. By the way if you book a room " overlooking the quiet residential court yard" expect to see grey Tarmac type roof tops as we did. All in all not to good . I would not return.
The hotel caters for wedding parties which do not affect the stay at the hotel eg no noise from the party etc. as in hall next door. But they do set aside most of the breakfast room for the wedding party which can make it cramped further guests.

Room Tip: Not room 105
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HW_j2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz D, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay and for acknowledging our “fantastic” staff and “very very good” breakfast. I am saddened to read that your experience of dinner was not on par, I think that much of this will be due to personal taste - this is the first complaint we have ever received with regards to our garlic mushrooms and the prawn cocktail is spiced with a hint of horsradish.

In respect of your check in, I understand there was confusion on your part with regards to the room type – which was clairfied on presentation of the confirmation letter.

I have completely taken onboard your comments and you will be pleased to learn that we have an ongoing maintentaince program. Our drink prices are at industry level – we do not overprice and even feature happy hours (e.g. gin o’clock). With our unique location in the heart of Chrsitchurch, we manage our parking as best we can – with 20 spaces for 20 guest bedrooms.

Regards
Lukasz Dwornik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We have just returned from a two night stay. The room was spacious, the hotel was bright and clean and the staff went out of their way to be helpful. We had breakfast in the hotel but next time will definitely try dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenC7955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz D, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thank you for your recent review and kind comments on your recent stay at the Kings Arms. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.4 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#5 of 11 in Christchurch
750 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#1 of 11 in Christchurch
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Christchurch
Travelodge Christchurch
#7 of 11 in Christchurch
397 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#8 of 11 in Christchurch
418 reviews
4.2 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Address: 18 Castle Street, Christchurch BH23 1DT, England (Formerly The Kings)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £73 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms in Christchurch, is a stunning Georgian building in the heart of Dorset - combining a traditional yet stylish Restaurant with luxurious bedrooms carefully restored in true Georgian style, whilst Alex Aitken remains chef patron at The Jetty he is also spending time with the chefs and team at The Kings Arms, Alex has headed up the team re-styling the restaurant menus and cooking philosophy. The Kings Restaurant has a delicious menu using the best local ingredients and is proud to have been awarded Michelin Bib Gourmand status for three consecutive years. The Kings Arms has everything you need for a Dorset short break, situated in the historic town of Christchurch, Dorset, a popular yachting town, overlooking the Avon River, Christchurch Castle and The Kings Arms Bowling Green, The Kings is marvelously picturesque. A short distance from the Dorset Jurassic Coast, The Kings Arms combines coastal beauty, historical town discoveries and stunning scenery, all with a comfortable place to relax after a day's adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Christchurch
The Kings Arms Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing