We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough, could be a 'return to' hotel but needs a little TLC...”
Review of The Kings Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kings Arms
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice enough, could be a 'return to' hotel but needs a little TLC...”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Again like a previous reviewer, we stayed for 3 nights. It is in a great location, and as we didn't have a car on this visit, parking wasn't a worry for us. We had a room which faced the court year, and I would recommend to any not to have a front facing room, the road is busy. Again the staff are very friendly and helpful, and quick acted on the fire alarm going off in the early hours. Would have been nice to hear sorry for the fault but at least its a safe hotel to stay at.

Room could do with some TLC, cracks, grouting missing, aircon/heater out of order for the whole stay (not that it was needed easy as the weather was perfect - not cold or too hot), some stains could be removed. On the plus-side big sheet towels, working towel rail (there are places that have them fitted but not fused), working iPod stereo/clock, and room was clean.

Breakfast - couldn't fault at all, the staff were quick, attentive, friendly and with some helpful tips about the local area. We both had full English as we had long hikes ahead of us, and they were lovely and good size. Also there were a wide range of other food items if fry-ups aren't your thing. My review for the evening Restaurant is separate as that experience was not very good...

The only gripe would be if they can install door closers which don't slam shut, that would be usual for guest's night sleep - you will hear every door closing in the main building on your floor and above/below. This wasn't every night, the first night (young stayers having a dip in and out of rooms to the early hours) and the third night after the fire alarm was cleared. Its an old building and that's part of its charm, just the closers they use are not for those doors, or cushion the frames.

Room Tip: Avoid front rooms as they would be facing a busy road, court-yard was very quiet. earplugs for clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The-Darkling-LND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz D, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review of the Kings Arms. We are very pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and take on board your observations which will be forwarded on to the relevant departments for action. Thank you again for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    207
    62
    22
    5
See reviews for
111
420
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner were meeting up with friends in Christchurch so decided to stay for a night at The Kings Arms it was a grate choice The room ( an attic room ) was well thought out and comfortable and very clean the bed was lovely and cosy ...The restaurant is lovely the food is excellent the staff are wonderful and charming We can't wait to stay here again

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank royroy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz D, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, I will ensure that they are passed on to our entire team and look forward to seeing you again soon at the Kings Arms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We were staying at this hotel for a wedding party weekend.

First night we had a dinner in the restaurant and I must say - it was amazing! I had fish and chips (like most of us) and was really overwhelmed with it. The taste was superb!
The service was very good and attentive and I am not talking about our table only. It is nice to see how staff is keeping a harmonious atmosphere through all the evening with all the guests.

The second day we attended the wedding and again - the staff were AMAZING with all their help, service was brilliant and ran smoothly. The food was absolutely melting! :)

We have stayed in a really nice size bedroom with most comfortable bed, so all in all - very very happy with our stay in "Kings Arms" Hotel.

Oh! And I must not forget the breakfast! Really delicious and plenty to choose of! :))

Highly recommend this hotel for a stay, wedding venue or at least nice lunch or romantic dinner!

Room Tip: The rooms on the street side are quite noisy, but if you are sleeping well, it's all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jurate7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz D, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your recent comments on your recent stay. We are very glad that you enjoyed your visit with us and that everything went well with both your stay and the wedding you attended. we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Took my mum for a mother and daughter chilled night out and could not have picked a better place to go!! The ambiance, staff, food and wine was first class, we will definitely be back and with mum living locally it is an added bonus!

Room Tip: did not stay over
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz D, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
We're so glad you and your mother enjoyed your recent meal with us and hope we have the pleasure of your company again very soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Last night we ate at this restaurant and what an experience! Pedro the restaurant manager found us a table in a busy restaurant, the service of the bar staff and restaurant staff were exceptional. Being a lover of the chateaubriand we ordered this, and being fussy about the cooking of it , their excellent chef Max came to the table to make sure it was perfect. This chef was amazing , was professional and helpful and a credit tot this fantastic restaurant. Thank you to Luckasz and Pedro and especially Max for making our night. If you want a perfect night in an amazing restaurant with professional staff then choose this restaurant

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz D, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent visit to the Kings Arms. I'll make certain to pass along your positive comments to the entire team and particularly Lukasz, Pedro and Max. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I cannot praise this hotel and delightful staff enough !! We had originally booked a room At the Royal Bath in Bournemouth, complete disaster, and drove to Christchurch, very pretty town!! We popped into the Kings Arms for a cup of tea, and were chatting to the staff about our predicament. Lucas the very efficient, and charming manager found us a room for an amazingly good rate. We duly left the Royal Bath and returned to the Kings Arms, where we were given a wonderful room, huge bed beautiful decor, great bathroom with a proper and very powerful shower, spotlessly clean. Dinner in the delightful restaurant was delicious all their food is sourced locally and we were looked after by the charming Pedro who couldn't do enough for us.

We loved this hotel. And the staff and management are some of the best i have come across, all in all made our visit to Dorset a complete pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ursula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz D, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel; I will make certain to pass along your comments to the entire team and in particular Lukasz and Pedro. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We went to the King's arms in Christchurch last night for a meal. I'd never been there before even though I work in Christchurch and lived locally for years. Wow, what a hidden gem! The food, service and surroundings were absolutely superb. We were seated at a lovely corner table overlooking the bowling green . All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. This will be a new regular eatery for me from now on. Thanks.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz D, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your recent visit to our hotel and would like to thank you for your positive comments. I'll ensure that they are passed on to the entire team. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.3 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
694 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Christchurch
Travelodge Christchurch
#7 of 11 in Christchurch
350 reviews
4.2 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Property: The Kings Arms
Address: 18 Castle Street, Christchurch BH23 1DT, England (Formerly The Kings)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms in Christchurch, is a stunning Georgian building in the heart of Dorset - combining a traditional yet stylish Restaurant with luxurious bedrooms carefully restored in true Georgian style, whilst Alex Aitken remains chef patron at The Jetty he is also spending time with the chefs and team at The Kings Arms, Alex has headed up the team re-styling the restaurant menus and cooking philosophy. The Kings Restaurant has a delicious menu using the best local ingredients and is proud to have been awarded Michelin Bib Gourmand status for three consecutive years. The Kings Arms has everything you need for a Dorset short break, situated in the historic town of Christchurch, Dorset, a popular yachting town, overlooking the Avon River, Christchurch Castle and The Kings Arms Bowling Green, The Kings is marvelously picturesque. A short distance from the Dorset Jurassic Coast, The Kings Arms combines coastal beauty, historical town discoveries and stunning scenery, all with a comfortable place to relax after a day's adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Christchurch
The Kings Arms Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing