We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Christchurch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Water's Edge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 33 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best in Christchurch”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We are sorry that we didn't find this guest house earlier, by far the best value in the area. The hosts Steve and Jayne could not have been more hospitable. The room was clean, equipped with everything one could want and the shower room was very modern, efficient and spacious. The breakfast was the best we've had anywhere. A little gem which I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: We were in a twin room which was a little small, but more than offset by all the pluses this venue h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
57
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

My husband and myself stayed at this B&B as we were attending a wedding at the Harbour Hotel which was close by. On arriving we received a nice welcome from Jayne, who checked us in and showed us to our room.
We'd booked the twin room, which is en-suite (which I believe is the case for all of the rooms) and at the back of the house and although small, it has all you need for a more than comfortable night's sleep and we found it to be very nice and quiet too. The room itself is decorated to a high standard and has tea and coffee making facilities and also a flat screen TV. The bathroom was again of a very high standard, with a lovely large shower and they even provided us with shower gels,shampoo and conditioner, cotton balls etc. The towels provided were of a good quality and should we of required them, bath robes were there for use during our stay too. There was even bottled water supplied in the bedrooms.
Breakfast was superb, consisting of a fresh fruit bowl including strawberries, melon, blueberries, figs, kiwi and plums, which was a lovely treat. Cereals were there to help yourself too, as well as fresh croissants. We were offered a choice of tea, or a cafetiere of coffee and we were given a large pot each and Mmmm, have to say that the coffee was very good and orange juice was also provided. Our order was then taken for a full English breakfast and when it came it was served beautifully and again was made using a high standard of ingredients. We both chose to have a poached egg with our English and Steve truly does know the secret of the best poached egg, it was done to perfection! There was also all you could eat of toast.
All in all, it was a fabulous breakfast and no corners had been cut and there was an obvious pride taken in it's preparation.
This has to be said of the entire house. It's kept spotlessly clean by both Jayne and Steve and we really appreciated all the little attention to details that can be found all around their home. It feels exactly like that, a home which they are both more than happy to share with you and they should be proud of what they've accomplished and we wish them well for their future there, as they certainly deserve to be successful with the efforts they put into the Water's Edge.
We had friends staying in the family room at the front, with their 12 yr old son and they enjoyed their stay there as much as we did.
Should we be in the area again we'll be giving Jayne and Steve a call begging them to let us come and be spoilt again.
We felt that for what we'd been charged, both Jayne and Steve gave us excellent value for money and wonderful hospitality, which a lot of other B&B's could certainly learn from.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank heidihawkinsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Water's Edge Bed and Breakfast and will definitely be staying again as we have family in the area. We will also not hesitate to recommend the Water's Edge and its friendly and helpful proprietors Steve and Jayne to other friends and family.

We travelled from Preston for a combined family Wedding/Christening and needed a place to stay in the Christchurch and fell upon a real gem! The rooms were immaculately clean with brand-new bedding and fresh bottled water and tea and coffee replaced every day - as were the towels!

Steve and Jayne were kindness itself and nothing was too much trouble. They only have 3 rooms and we imagine that in the future we will have trouble booking as the word will obviously spread.

Only downside is that since we have been home we SO miss the wonderful breakfasts, a rushed tea and toast will never seem the same again after the wonderful fresh fruit on offer each day together with an amazing choice ranging from very full English to fresh kippers (my choice) and excellently served and presented.

A must !!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piperunclecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

If you want perfection, for a great price, then you won't find any b&b better. I stayed at the best western 1 night before, trust me, do not waste your money, no more said, just want to say thank you to Steve & Jayne.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Budeford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

I travel around the southern England on a regular basis, this is by far the best guest house I've had the pleasure to stay in.
Always a warm welcome, 10/10 cleanliness, and a superb breakfast.

The location is a little out of town, BUT there is a beautiful beach right on the doorstep. Fantastic for a walk in the evening.

if you are looking for a weekend away or a stop over in dorset, don't look no further than here!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrReaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2010

We only stayed one night on our way to the Isle of Wight but we would thoroughly recommend Waters Edge as a B&B. It is scrupulously clean, comfortable, friendly and the breakfast is delicious! Very good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OxfordPeterpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Just spent one night at this B&B as we were attending a wedding at the nearby Christchurch Harbour Hotel. It's an excellent B&B. Clean, modern room with everything you needed - towels, gowns, toiletries, tea & coffee, bottled water, mints, hairdryer, iron, comfy bed! It's in a great location right by the beach (and staggering distance back from the wedding!) Had a fantastic full english breakfast the next morning that kept us going all day. And run by a lovely couple. Highly recommend if you're visiting the area.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meandhim08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.3 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
694 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Christchurch
Travelodge Christchurch
#7 of 11 in Christchurch
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
719 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
353 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water's Edge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water's Edge Bed & Breakfast

Property: Water's Edge Bed & Breakfast
Address: 8 Bure Lane | Mudeford, Christchurch BH23 4DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water's Edge Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Water's Edge is located in the village of Mudeford near Christchurch, Dorset. Water's Edge has double and twin en-suite rooms, which have flat screen televisions, hairdryers, robes, tea and coffee making facilities, filtered and bottled water.Located on the south coast just a few miles from the New Forest and a few hundred yards from Avon Beach this seaside bed & breakfast will send you home wishing you were still here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Water's Edge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water's Edge Bed & Breakfast Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing