We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food and friendly service”

The Kings Arms Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Kings Arms Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 149 Restaurants in Christchurch
Price range: US$8 - US$41
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Alex Aitken from Le Poussin, Limewood and The Jetty, is now in charge of the food and menus at The Kings Restaurant.The Restaurant serves the very best local and seasonal food – with sophisticated simplicity and a unique and charming English setting, overlooking the Kings Arms Bowling Green and historical castle ruins.The Kings Restaurant is honoured to introduce the new 'Josper Grill', a technique that imparts a distinctive charcoal flavour to all the local and handpicked ingredients placed upon its coals. The delicious menu makes use of the very best local ingredients either caught, grown or prepared close to Christchurch from the New Forest and the waters of the South Coast.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Outstanding food and friendly service”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My brothers and I recently took our parents to this restaurant for their 30th wedding anniversary. Staff were really helpful and offered to decorate the table which gave the night an added nice touch. The food was brilliant with lots of choice and good portions. The layout is very modern and classy but overall good value for money. Would strongly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz D, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
We are very glad that you enjoyed your recent visit to the Kings Arms Brassiere and that you and your parents had a lovely meal. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    166
    93
    49
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We have been to this restaurant many times over the years for dinner and lunch and we returned yesterday for Lunch and was just as good as remembered.

Food is fantastic, service superb and venue has a great interior design.

Management are brilliant.

Never had a bad meal. Thoroughly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank GelcoBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz D, Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for writing such a great review. Quality of food and service is down to the individuals that we are fortunate in having. We have a great team here at the kings and they will find this review very awarding. We all look forward in seeing you in the near future.

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely for lunch”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We enjoyed every aspect of our lunch time visit. The waiting staff were attentive without being over bearing, the food was delicious - I had grilled mackeral with goat's cheese and beetroot. We also booked a family birthday party table whilst we were there. I woudl recommend The King's Arms to all.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz D, Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
I have passed your message to the team and delighted that your experience here is a good one. We look forward in seeing you in the near future and once again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We had a pre theatre dinner here and dined from the 15 mile menu.

The pigeon breasts were cooked to perfection, just pink, and the pork was delicious. My husband thoroughly enjoyed his hake.

The front of house staff were very friendly and attentive whilst remaining professional. I had to ask if our mains could be hurried through as we were running a little late and this was no problem. ( This us something I would fever normally do)

We will certainly return and next time choose from the a la carte menu ensuring we have enough time to enjoy it.

Thank you to all at the Kings Arms.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz D, Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback towards our restaurant at the Kings, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience and quality of food. We have recently changed dishes within our A La Carte menu and look forward to welcoming you again to the restaurant in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch,Dorset
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“truly scrumptious!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Although we live in neighbouring Highcliffe on Sea this was our first visit to The Kings Arms. We went with my cousin and her husband as a pre theatre treat. Everything about our meal was perfect. We all had the hake, cooked to perfection, while my husband had the calves liver which he said was the best he'd ever tasted. All followed by desserts to die for!
We will most certainly be visiting again. Thank you to all concerned.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smfwelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz D, Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience here at the Kings Arms and giving us a great review. I shall pass your message to the team and look forward in seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Kings Arms Restaurant also viewed

 
Christchurch, Dorset
 
Christchurch, Dorset
Christchurch, Dorset
 

Been to The Kings Arms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing