We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wouldn't stay at apartment number 10 again!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandhills Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christchurch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sandhills Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay at apartment number 10 again!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed in the gold apartment number 10 for 7 days.
After checking in on the Saturday we notices a few things not working or just needed maintenance to come in and rectify. We reported this on the Sunday along with another finding. Our joining bedrooms to the main bar area isn't sound proof.

Every night we had the discomfort of listening to the DVDs and music from the bar resonating through our wall. When reporting this, we was told this was the first time it was brought to there attention and they would looking into it.
I find it very hard to believe that we are the only people to complain and think it is probably easier to use that one liner than to sound proof the walls. All other maintenance issues wasn't fixed until we reported them a second time on Wednesday to a different manager who said no one told her about our first complaint and she would get them fixed ASAP. What is the point of having a maintenance log book at reception where our first complaint was logged if no one reads it on a daily bases.

I have stayed here before but in a caravan. Location is great but fortunately the accommodation this time around was poor.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmcewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Sandhills Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
Thank you for your feed back regarding your stay at Sandhills. I am very sorry to hear you have expressed your disappointment regarding the noise level heard in the apartment. During the height of the season we do experience a higher than normal noise level due to the amount of children that stay on park for the summer holidays. We are a very family oriented park and welcome both couples and families to enjoy the facilities. During the summer season we do have various activities that take place in our club house that would not take place out of the season. To my knowledge, we have not had complaints about the level of noise, that may be due to the park being a non entertainment park and as I have explained activities will take place that do not out of the season. I am very sorry to hear that you had maintenance issues and they were not resolved on that day. Our staff work very hard to make a guests stay as enjoyable and memorable as possible and can I please take the opportunity to reassure you that if an issue of any kind does arise, all staff work very hard to re-solve matters.
I do hope that you will visit Sandhills again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    31
    5
    7
    3
See reviews for
57
21
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

A couple of steps to the beach front and a little walk to a little harbour area with a nice pub, crab fishing and boat journeys into Christchurch and the opposite way offering The Noisy Lobster and more beach!

The apartment itself didn't have the greatest view - it was the car park - but was right next door to the lobby, bar and swimming pool.

The double bedroom could have done with a little TLC specially with the door - wouldn't close unless a good amount of force was applied to it. However with that mentioned the room was extremely dark compared to the rest of the apartment so it's either a win for some people or the opposite.

Would stay again for the area but maybe try a different choice of accommodation (static home or a different apartment).

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Sandhills Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you for your review of our park here at Sandhills. I am pleased that you had a nice stay with us and so pleased to hear that you are wanting to come back.
The location that surrounds Sandhills is just beautiful and so much fun for the children and adults a like, with lovely eating facilities and as you describe the lovely beaches and the traditional crab fishing which is a must for the whole family to do.

I am very sorry to hear your disappointment with the apartment, I have today rectified the sticking door and looked at the lighting. We strive on our very high standards and we take any issue that may occur very seriously and will try our very hardest to deal with these as soon as possible.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Echoing the last reviewer, we found the club house and pool are rather tired now, but the children still loved the pool. We didn't use the clubhouse. our caravan/ lodge ( number 99) was fantastic. It was immaculate, and really modern, not a beige floral settee in sight. The site feels safe for children (age 3 and 5) and the location of our lodge meant we had a view of the kids playing in the park from our veranda, which gave them a huge amount of freedom while we could still see and hear them. The location is what makes it so perfect, 2 mins to the beach and another fab park with a great sandpit. Only thing I would say is that we had good weather. If it was raining badly, the park's indoor options with children are limited. I would book again as the children loved it which meant we also had a great time . Locally the Noisy Lobster restaurant is excellent and also the Beach Cafe at Hengitsbury Head. Dominoes also deliver to the park, handy if you don't fancy the Clubhouse and don't want to cook.

Room Tip: Number 99 has no sea view and is in the shade but immaculate, quiet and 2 caravans away from the pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Max1093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Sandhills Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for posting your review about your stay with us. We are very happy that you had a nice stay and that the children enjoyed their holiday, this is so nice to hear.
The caravans and Lodges are all privately owned which are all very modern and new inside. Eating facilities local to Sandhills are highly recommended, we have some very good restaurants.
I am sorry to hear that your thoughts on the complex area and the pool were not as you had expected. We have recently refurnished the complex & bar area, with a subtle colour and soft furnishings, we are hoping to have the Bar area refurnished during the winter period . We do not have entertainment every evening, during the summer holidays we have someone that comes to Sandhills to do activities with the children in the morning and afternoon, have bands on at weekends, have our fun days out on the lawn, BBQ, Bouncy castle, lots more, these are always such a lovely day and are enjoyed by all.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

it really is a location, location, location holiday park. the club house and pool are rather tired now, but the kids still loved the pool, and we didn't use the clubhouse. our caravan - number 19 - was really clean, fresh and modern, and well appointed. but the piece de resistance [and i am not going to sing lego movie] is the closeness to beach and harbour, the location is what makes it so perfect. we had a wonderful holiday and were sad to leave.

Room Tip: caravan 19 modern and well appointed
See more room tips
Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyHEmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Sandhills Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your review, We are so pleased that you had a lovely holiday here at Sandhills. We couldn't agree more, the location and surroundings of Sandhills is just beautiful with idyllic views. It is a shame that you did not manage to use the Complex facilities.
Requested by our Owners and Guests we recently have given the complex area a total refurbishment, keeping in line with the age of the building, subtle colours, soft furnishings more of a relaxation feel. We still have lots of new plans for the building which we are all excited about and look forward to seeing.
All the staff look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Sandhills is a wonderful, quiet park with first class facilities in one of the most beautiful locations imaginable. Newly refurbished bar is lovely and the swimming pool is imaculate. Staff are friendly and helpful.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Triax1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Sandhills Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you very much for all your kind words. We are very happy with the newly refurbished lounge area, both our owners and guests find it much more relaxing and comfortable. I will pass your kind words on to all the staff, thank you again.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Sandhills soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Just back from 4 night stay paid for a gold caravan which was well equipped but grubby and dirty which did spoil break as I had to wash all kitchen stuff before using the patio area was disgusting bird mess and sand hadn't been swept for a very long time. Cobwebs in caravan and smears over every thing that had been cleaned with dirty cloth. My son loved the pool and had a lovely break u came back feeling like I need one !!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Widget1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Sandhills Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
I am very sorry to hear your disappointment regarding the unit itself, please can I take this opportunity to reassure you this is an isolated case. We strive to make a guests holiday experience as happy and memorable as we possibly can.
I do hope this has not put you off staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Has to be the best view in the world.Watching the Isle of Wight go pink in the evening sunset is nature at it,s very best.The history of Mudeford is English folklore,Aside from all this,the staff at the Sandhills are exceptional,Friendly,helpful,nothing is too much trouble to them.They all do a top job,The lodge itself was very nice,bit dear,but hey,your in Mudeford Recommend it to everyone,The whole area is divine.Small word of warning,avoid the 10 o clock,waiting for god bus into Bournemouth.Scary.......say no more

Room Tip: Try to speak to the owner of the lodge,and not an agent.Must have a seafront view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Sandhills Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you very much, we are so pleased you also have a keen appreciation as much as we do for the beautiful surrounds that Sandhills has to offer. We very much appreciate your kind comments you have made off the staff, this is great to hear.
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.3 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
1.9 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandhills Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandhills Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK

Property: Sandhills Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
Address: | Mudeford, Christchurch BH23 4AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandhills is a smaller, more leisurely park with a lively entertainment programme at weekends so it’s perfect for those looking to escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Venture into historic Christchurch or travel along the coast a short way to Bournemouth for the very best in shopping and restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandhills Holiday Park Hotel Christchurch
Sandhills Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing