We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantatsic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grosvenor Lodge Guest House
Ranked #8 of 32 Christchurch B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantatsic”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We have stay at the Grosvenor Lodge for many years now. The staff have always been friendly and very helpful. It is a very family oriented environment, were guset are made to feel welcome.

The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated. They have complimentary tea and coffee in the rooms and will provided more milk if you ask. There is a TV in the room so you can relax before going to sleep.

The breakfast is lovely and they offer a variety of breakfast selections.

It is in walking distance of the town and the key (river)

We will be going back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emzie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
30
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, lovely rooms and decor, friendly welcoming staff and breakfast to die for!

But the bathroom was tiny, literally had to open the door to turn around in there and the shower cubicle was also very small. Didn't ruin the experience though.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ns2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2012

My daughter and I have been staying at Grosvenor Lodge for 13 years now. The staff are friendly, helpful and make you feel extremely welcome. The rooms are spacious and decorated to a high standard. All rooms are en-suite, with tea and coffee, tv/dvd, and complimentary bathroom products for guests to use. The guest house is in a prime location, close to the station and town centre, with a bus stop right outside. There is ample off road parking facilities outside the guest house. The owner is always on hand to help guests with information about the local area. Excellent value for money. Will definately go back next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Stayed here for one night. A lovey property. The room was clean and big. When we arrived we found our on suite bathroom was full (literally) of the owners possessions in carrier bags. But then just as I was about to ask for it to be moved, the cleaner came and sorted it all out. It was slightly odd, but promptly sorted without any fuss, so was all fine.

The in room tea services were a disappointment. The little milk sachets were off. And the kettle had obviously been cleaned with bicarbonate soda and not properly washed out, as the tea (black, due to the bad milk) was rancid.

The breakfast was decent. We were waiting in the breakfast room for about 5 mins with some other guests before anyone came to take our orders, but once they did come the food was good.

The cleaner was very kind and accommodating. Before rushing off to a wedding, I needed to use an iron. She set up an ironing board for me, and in fact offered to do my ironing which I didn't expect.

If it wasn't for the tea services and the wait for breakfast, I'd have given this 4/5, but as it is I've gone for just 3.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed here on our way to Southampton. Its 5mins walk from the train station, has a bus stop outside and is 10mins walk to the town and priory. The street frontage is a bit dull so don't be put off, this is a great wee Guesthouse and really good value. All the little touches are their, lots of good linen, towels, bathroom products, comfy beds, tea/coffee in your room and a great breakfast, we loved it and can't recommend it enough. Its good value too and the landlandy was super helpful with tips about walks, ferry trips etc.

Room Tip: Whoops I can't seem to un-tick swimming pool as I ticked this in error, there is no pool so plea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Argamemnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2011

hi richard and i stayed here for a weekend break it was so lovely we stayed an extra night as felt so at home.the room was beautifull we stayed in .Thestaff so so friendly and made you feel like part of the family. . everythink very very clean. breakfast was beautifull so much choice they even did me a healthyslimming cooked breakfast nothing to much trouble the home was so lovely we chatted to staff and guests everyone like a big happy family. highly recommended thankyou for having us julie and richard

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie4019076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Stayed here recently on a family fishing trip, nothing was too much trouble from the moment we arrived.We arrived early but was still allowed to drop off lugggage so we could get out fishing even though i knew room would not be ready till 12 noon,after fishing each day our rods and gear were looked after in a back room this saved us having to leave in car overnight or take upto our room,breakfast here was great with a wide range of choices from cerals and fruit ,full english,fish,jams in fact as 3 grown men we didnt need to eat till evening after the breakfast all this was served in a very efficient and friendly way.The guest house is ideally placed for fishing with davis tackle and the famous royalty stretch of river avon a couple of mins up the road and the throop fishery on the stour just 10 mins away,our room which was the family room at the top of the house was clean and had good decor and on suite bathroom,room was cleaned and towels renewed daily,tea and coffee facilitys also available in room.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul190784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Christchurch
Travelodge Christchurch
#7 of 11 in Christchurch
368 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
746 reviews
0.4 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
394 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
381 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waters Reach Guest House
Waters Reach Guest House
#3 of 32 in Christchurch
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Lodge Guest House

Property: Grosvenor Lodge Guest House
Address: 53 Stour Road, Christchurch BH23 1LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Lodge Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grosvenor Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Lodge Guest House Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing