We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White House - Christchurch
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Great little b&b, close to the beach and everything you need. Stayed in Lincoln room which was lovely, nice decor and nice comfy bed and the breakfast can not be faulted! Will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie_welsh11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

I booked this accommodation for two nights after seeing a couple of pictures of the rooms, they looked quite nice. They only showed pictures of the bedroom. The bathroom however was in desperate need of updating. The bath was years old and was badly stained with limescale, as were the taps on the bath and the hand basin. I would say this accommodation is only worth a two star, and definitely not a four star as stated. The breakfast was ok, but not great, and the proprietors wife looked like she had jumped straight out of bed to serve breakfast. She had not even brushed her hair, not very professional and rather off putting. I would not stay there again.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
Thank elizabeth121955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Came for a relaxing break. On arrival did not feel welcome. Room very small photos of rooms very deceptive. Bathroom very small, bed very small with a plastic mattress cover that crunched all night that was hot to sleep on. Owner did not no what room we were in after our third night. breakfast was adequate but not as stated on menu. Not offered any extra tea / coffee or toast felt rushed to leave. Checkout paid by card no problems but not even a thank you or goodbye. So i will say good bye white house and will not be returning.
A good break spoilt .

Room Tip: read reviews not look at photos
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We booked this accommodation for two nights, but unfortunately had to cancel due to dreadful weather conditions (snow and blizzards) in Wales, far too dangerous to travel.
We were quite prepared to pay a fair cancellation fee, only to be told that we would have to pay the full amount.
When I queried this, I was met by a rather aggressive and most ignorant proprietor, who was not prepared to consider prevailing weather conditions.
Be aware that if you have to cancel, this gentleman is obtuse in his attitude.
We also requested a letter from him (for our travel insurance company) stating that we had had to cancel. Up to the time of writing this review we have not received any such letter.
Another demonstration of the proprietor's rather sad attitude.
The proprietor 's wife agreed to deduct £10 for the breakfasts we did not have, but on checking our bank account, his did not happen.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
Thank MaggieNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Very clean,bright, well decorated and maintained accomodation. As being The White House guest's rooms bear presidential names - ours was Reagan. A signed picture of him on the wall. Comfy bed, Refreshing, literally, to find a shower that is properly heat adjustable! Attentive, pleasant owner. Delicious, wide choice of breakfast
Can't think of any criticism to make.
Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jelofts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This was a very clean and comfortable B&B lovely breakfast and friendly owner.
If you have to stay in Highcliffe this is the place to be.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor in Lincoln room it was very nice clean and comfortable. The only problem w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosewarneOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We were visiting for a friends party and stopped over last wekend. We found the room very comfortable and clean. The staff were friendly and welcoming and we enjoyed the breakfast on both mornings. There is a good selection of local shops within walking disiatnce, We look forward to stopping at the White House again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wickis_monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
3.6 mi away
Travelodge Christchurch
Travelodge Christchurch
#8 of 11 in Christchurch
397 reviews
2.4 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
3.9 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#5 of 11 in Christchurch
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
777 reviews
3.7 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#7 of 11 in Christchurch
418 reviews
7.4 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House - Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House - Christchurch

Address: 428 Lymington Road | Highcliffe on Sea, Christchurch BH23 5HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £58 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White House - Christchurch 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The White House - Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House - Christchurch Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing