We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely Disappointing! Both Service & Food VERY POOR” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Jetty

The Jetty
Ranked #1 of 148 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$39
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Extremely Disappointing! Both Service & Food VERY POOR”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We ate lunch here this weekend on Sunday.

We didn't have a reservation - when we walked in there were several empty tables but the waiters who greeted us told us they were "fully booked" and there were no tables available - we could eat outside in freezing cold or at the bar. Despite us pointing out empty tables and saying we'd be quick, they refused to give us a table. We ended up eating at the bar - and the tables went unseated the whole time we ate! Service throughout the meal was reasonably friendly - but they forget our drinks order which was annoying as had to wait till after we'd finished our food for a drink.

Food - we ordered a few dishes to share - Lobster, Mussels and the Scallops thinking being on the shore-side it should be good quality fresh shellfish. The food was incredibly disappointing. Scallops were cold, with a tasteless pea puree. The lobster and mussels were not fresh - they were definitely frozen, could taste in the quality - which is really disappointing. When the bill came , was £70 for that lunch - total rip-off for frozen lobster and frozen mussels. Absolute disgrace really - would never go back.

WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE - LOOK UP AND GO TO "THE BOATHOUSE" INSTEAD !

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Jonny2874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJAitken, General Manager at The Jetty, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Sir it is with great regret that you did not enjoy your experience with us.

You came into the restaurant at around 2pm on the bank holiday Sunday we had over 200 people booked for the day. Organisation is everything in our operation so we are expecting all tables to be taken the only opportunities we had that day was in the afternoon. So we offered you a table outside which at first you jumped at.

We set-up a table outside and were about to serve you outside when your partner found it too cold, so we then offered you a bar top table as we were full in the restaurant.

Yes there were free tables but they were due in at any moment and people who booked would be very upset to see someone else on there table.

With regards to food during the summer we have done an average of 150 daily we get all our seafood locally daily. Lobsters come from a local man who gets them from the isle of Wight.
We simply do not have enough time to freeze our food there is too quick a turnaround.

So I do not understand why you would think your food was frozen!

Although we are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your experience, its a great shame that we juggled everything on one of the busiest days in the calendar to fit you in, we have then received this review.

Not once did you let us know of anything on the day.............
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,798 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,310
    306
    105
    57
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Had the set menu lunch. Portions for lunch right size. Very tasty food well presented with attentive staff. It was busy, which reflects upon their reputation.

Will go back.

The trees seem to block part of the magnificent view, so reluctantly one suggest the chainsaw is required.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Britleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJAitken, General Manager at The Jetty, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your lunch with us dining from our seasonal set lunch menu. We hope to see you again in the restaurant soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Super Birthday Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We took the family out to celebrate my husbands birthday at the Jenny at Mudeford. Wonderful meal and great service

We ate off the seasonal set menu, wonderful food with they also provided a great childrens meal, The staff were very good, they knew the art of service - not many restaurants do these days.

Would def go again

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LLL46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJAitken, General Manager at The Jetty, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Its great for the whole team to heat that you enjoyed both the food and service when dining with us, and what we presented for the children. We are very much a family restaurant, so look forward to welcoming you back to the restaurant again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unfortunately disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

I took my parents here hoping to treat them whilst they were visiting from Suffolk. I myself has been once previously with work friends and had very much enjoyed the Seasonal Menu and the beautiful view.

Unfortunately this time the food was not up to par. I ordered the Fruits de Mer hoping for something special- it lacked initial impact being served on a plain white plate rather than a silver platter. Most importantly the selection was very limited and of poor quality- the dish was 80% mussels, there were 5 tiny prawns, 2 small scallops and 2 oysters. The smoked salmon we were told was smoked locally but unfortunately lacked any flavour and was barely edible. I did inform the staff of my poor experience as this was obviously not the standard they were striving for, I was informed the chef had left off some elements that should have been there, i.e potted shrimp and was offered £5 off the £27 dish and a free coffee which I did not feel compensated for the poor dining experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amyliz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJAitken, General Manager at The Jetty, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Its with great disappointment that you did not enjoy your experience with us we did get it wrong on the day and held our hands up. I actually came up to you to apologise personally and offered what I thought was an appropriate gesture which at the time you accepted.

You were a table of 3 people and 2 people ordered the fruits de mer, when speaking to you 1 person loved it and the other didn't. Also the other gentleman enjoyed his meal.

Its a great shame you didn't feel value for money despite me taking £10 off food and a further £7 worth of complimentary coffee. This meant that your fruits de mer consisting of : scallops, oysters, squid, baby smoked prawns and mussels cost £17 which I thought was good value.

As you had such a great experience the first time you came we hope we can welcome you back in the future.

It is strange why people are so compelled to write negative reviews, as said in this review the first time the reviewer came she really enjoyed it - yet no review for the first time just a bad one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
143 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Pompous and self important”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

The food was definitely good but some of the dishes were trying to be too clever and complex with the flavours not working together....more like contradictory rather than complmetary or contrasting. The setting is lovely and the restaurant nicely decorated.

But the attitude.....my goodness. The 'maitre de' stomped around like a self important foreman on a factory floor, noisily crashing wine bottles back into ice buckets. We were next to a table of local people whom he fawned over and gave great attention, filling their wine glasses from a bottle that shared the same bucket as ours. Not once during 90 minutes did he attend to us, I poured our own wine. The other staff we helpful to start with but their attention waned as well. We felt like the poor relations, not important enough to justify the attention of the staff who had more important matters to attend to.

We were hotel guest so no chance of repeat business compared to locals. We left wtih the impression that it probably had a very good local reputation as the best around. Take this restaurant out of its cachement area and put it somewhere with proper competition and it would not last 6 months. Avoid is our advice.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank DCRatcliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJAitken, General Manager at The Jetty, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Its a great shame to see such negative feedback and the whole team is disappointed to read your comments.

However we are a successful restaurant that has had year on year growth for the past 4 years, we are delighted that we attract just as many locals as non. To be honest attracting locals with the calibre of restaurants we have locally is also a huge achievement. Alex Aitken the chef patron has been a success locally and nationally for the past 30+ years so comments that the restaurant would fail if taken out of its catchment area are unfounded.

The review is very rude and spiteful towards our restaurant manager who has been with the restaurant since the beginning and has successfully seen the restaurant grow.

Our food is anything but over complicated in fact we pride our self on honest simple flavours.

We do apologise that you did not enjoy your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Jetty also viewed

 

Been to The Jetty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing