We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, but service could be better”
Review of The Jetty

The Jetty
Ranked #1 of 157 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$39
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We decided to go the The Jetty whilst on holiday in the area. The food was generally excellent, nice starters and mains (the 'fruits de mer' was particularly good), but my husband's dessert was a bit odd (too many flavours which didn't really go together). Whilst the service was initially good, it soon dwindled. The restaurant wasn't that busy, but service was really quite slow. It look a long time for our mains to be cleared, whilst we sat looking at fish bones and shells - not that pleasant! One of the waiting staff then proceeded to clean the tables around us, spraying cleaner in our vicinity whilst we were still eating. We got the impression that they were keen to close up for the night!

As another reviewer has pointed out, the attitude of the 'maître de' was a little 'off' - attending to some tables far more than others (some people were clearly 'regulars' and they were treated very differently). We have eaten in some top restaurants in London, where we are certainly not regulars, but have never been made to feel less welcome that others. We would not return to The Jetty again, despite the excellent food. We visit family in the area a couple of times a year and will be sampling some of the other local restaurants instead.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Lozzarox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJAitken, General Manager at The Jetty, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TA. We are glad to hear that you found the food excellent and the service initially good, I'm sorry if you found it slow but we try to make sure you have a controlled dining experience without rushing you though the courses.
And can only apologise about the relaying of the tables around you, and have taken note of the spraying of the cleaner on the tables. It wasn't that we were trying to get you out sooner. As we have always stayed open for as long as our guests want to spend with us.
Charlie our 'maitre de' has been with us from the start of the Jetty 4 years ago. And welcomes old as well as new friends to the restaurant so I'm sorry you didn't feel that on the evening, but we welcome all those that come through our door, and hopefully you might do that again after experiencing the other local restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,049)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,195 - 1,199 of 2,049 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

We are big fans of The Jetty so it was the natural choice for my 60th Birthday Lunch party for 34 friends and family, Charlie, his excellent front of house team and everyone in the kitchen made it an excellent lunch to kick-off the celebration. The food, as always, was of the highest standard and the service prompt, attentive, cheerful and professional. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their food selection and great choice of wines (recommended by C), a great lunch from start to finish. Guest came from London and for the event and will be returning again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dorsetdriller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJAitken, General Manager at The Jetty, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

Thank you for writing such a fantastic review, it motivates the whole team to hear your experience both front and back of house. It is always a pleasure to look after long standing friends of the restaurant as well as new guests. It means a great deal that people join us on such special occasions. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We ate lunch here this weekend on Sunday.

We didn't have a reservation - when we walked in there were several empty tables but the waiters who greeted us told us they were "fully booked" and there were no tables available - we could eat outside in freezing cold or at the bar. Despite us pointing out empty tables and saying we'd be quick, they refused to give us a table. We ended up eating at the bar - and the tables went unseated the whole time we ate! Service throughout the meal was reasonably friendly - but they forget our drinks order which was annoying as had to wait till after we'd finished our food for a drink.

Food - we ordered a few dishes to share - Lobster, Mussels and the Scallops thinking being on the shore-side it should be good quality fresh shellfish. The food was incredibly disappointing. Scallops were cold, with a tasteless pea puree. The lobster and mussels were not fresh - they were definitely frozen, could taste in the quality - which is really disappointing. When the bill came , was £70 for that lunch - total rip-off for frozen lobster and frozen mussels. Absolute disgrace really - would never go back.

WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE - LOOK UP AND GO TO "THE BOATHOUSE" INSTEAD !

4  Thank Jonny2874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJAitken, General Manager at The Jetty, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Sir it is with great regret that you did not enjoy your experience with us.

You came into the restaurant at around 2pm on the bank holiday Sunday we had over 200 people booked for the day. Organisation is everything in our operation so we are expecting all tables to be taken the only opportunities we had that day was in the afternoon. So we offered you a table outside which at first you jumped at.

We set-up a table outside and were about to serve you outside when your partner found it too cold, so we then offered you a bar top table as we were full in the restaurant.

Yes there were free tables but they were due in at any moment and people who booked would be very upset to see someone else on there table.

With regards to food during the summer we have done an average of 150 daily we get all our seafood locally daily. Lobsters come from a local man who gets them from the isle of Wight.
We simply do not have enough time to freeze our food there is too quick a turnaround.

So I do not understand why you would think your food was frozen!

Although we are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your experience, its a great shame that we juggled everything on one of the busiest days in the calendar to fit you in, we have then received this review.

Not once did you let us know of anything on the day.............

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Had the set menu lunch. Portions for lunch right size. Very tasty food well presented with attentive staff. It was busy, which reflects upon their reputation.

Will go back.

The trees seem to block part of the magnificent view, so reluctantly one suggest the chainsaw is required.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Britleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJAitken, General Manager at The Jetty, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your lunch with us dining from our seasonal set lunch menu. We hope to see you again in the restaurant soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We took the family out to celebrate my husbands birthday at the Jenny at Mudeford. Wonderful meal and great service

We ate off the seasonal set menu, wonderful food with they also provided a great childrens meal, The staff were very good, they knew the art of service - not many restaurants do these days.

Would def go again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LLL46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJAitken, General Manager at The Jetty, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

Its great for the whole team to heat that you enjoyed both the food and service when dining with us, and what we presented for the children. We are very much a family restaurant, so look forward to welcoming you back to the restaurant again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Jetty also viewed

 
Barton-on-Sea, New Milton
 

Been to The Jetty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing