We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lord Bute Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa(New Milton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kings Arms(Christchurch)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
    Captain's Club Hotel(Christchurch)
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (430)
    Filter reviews
    430 results
    Traveller rating
    306
    83
    30
    7
    4
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    306
    83
    30
    7
    4
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsgarden suitejazz eveningwedding receptionlive jazzwednesday nightamazing weddinglovely hotelfirst classspecial occasionsmall hotelthe main hotelbridal suitethree coursesboutique hotelbusy roadwedding venuenew forest
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    357 - 362 of 430 reviews
    Reviewed 15 June 2012

    We dine at the Lord Bute on a Sunday when we feel we want to feel special! The food is always top notch, the staff are very attentive. The Sunday special gives us the opportunity to dine at this beautiful place at a really good price. We have never had a bad meal there and we even persuaded my husbands folks to have their golden wedding there last year. They were so impressed so big feather in the cap for us.
    if you want to dine somewhere and feel like a lady and gentleman then this is definately for you. beautiful Lord Bute fillet of beef, stunning deserts you will have a job choosing and a head manager who is spot on and a great asset to this beautiful place, he is attentive,witty and switched on with customers needs which is a very rare quality these days.

    • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Service
    3  Thank Mulkums
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 6 June 2012

    We stayed here for one night on a Sunday. Reception closes early on a Sunday and the restaurant is shut so we didn't get to experience the public areas of the hotel at all. The receptionist was efficient but not particularly friendly or interested in us. The room was nicely furnished but the hotel was very hot, with a towel rail blasting out heat in the bathroom which could not be controlled. We had to put the air con on to compensate (not very eco-friendly). The TV did not work initially, and because the reception was closed we felt that we would not want to ring the emergency out of hours number just to complain about these trivial things. It felt a bit like a B&B in that respect in that you are just left to get on with it.

    At breakfast the next day it was a slightly unusual set-up where you had to ask for absolutely everything (cereal, juice etc was not laid out). This meant that although I fancied some fruit it appeared to be either continental or cooked breakfast and you would feel embarrassed asking for fruit as well as a cooked breakfast. Then of course you see someone else doing just that and feel that you have missed out! You can't top up your own juice even.

    Upon checkout I complained about the fact that the fire doors slamming had kept us awake. These needed adjusting so that they did not slam constantly - they should shut slowly (we have them in our house). I was informed that 'yes, the hotel is quite full. Also someone opened a window up there'.

    No apology, not bothered at all about our lack of sleep, and in fact made me feel a bit like I needed to defend myself ('it wasn't me!'). Of course someone opened a window - you've got the heating on in the middle of June!

    • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank soph48
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 30 May 2012

    We stayed for four nights, very friendly staff. Excellent value for money and lovely breakfast. One meal in the restaurant at short notice, lovely presentation, good food and good service. Often booked for weddings on a Saturday taking the larger rooms. We had a smaller room, it was a bit cramped for four nights although nice decor. Booked again next year (in a larger room).

    Room Tip: Go for a larger one if you can afford it.
    • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Jelleyart
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 28 May 2012

    Just come home from a wonderful 3 night stay at the Lord Bute. Overall a comfortable, stylish place to stay with super breakfast and lovely friendly staff.
    I don't believe in giving 5 stars unless the experience is exceptional. In the case of the Lord Bute, just a couple of minor things stopped it from being perfect. Our room was lovely and comfortable but the bathroom looked a little tired. Also whilst it is preferable to have a bed room at the back, the window opens onto no view. Meanwhile the hotel is on a main road which is noisy.
    On the plus side, the rate was great value for money and the air conditioning was a excellent.
    I wouldn't hesitate to recomemend this hotel.

    Room Tip: Room at the back of the hotel is quieter.
    • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank custardNottingham
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 12 May 2012

    Had three nights here and can't complain about anything. Nice large room, great breakfasts and Wednesday night is jazz night accompanied by a superb dinner in a stunning dining room. We'll be back.

    • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Jim W
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews