We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lord Bute Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kings Arms(Christchurch)
US$160
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$258
US$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Christchurch Highcliffe(Highcliffe)(Great Value!)
US$133
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$95
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$64
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Premier Inn Christchurch West Hotel(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
    US$105
    PremierInn.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Captain's Club Hotel(Christchurch)
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    No availability for your dates from our partners
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (430)
    Filter reviews
    430 results
    Traveller rating
    306
    83
    30
    7
    4
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    306
    83
    30
    7
    4
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsgarden suitejazz eveningwedding receptionlive jazzwednesday nightamazing weddinglovely hotelfirst classspecial occasionsmall hotelthe main hotelbridal suitethree coursesboutique hotelbusy roadwedding venuenew forest
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    340 - 345 of 430 reviews
    Reviewed 17 October 2012

    When you go back to a place you remember as being fantastic, you sometimes get disappointed... But this never happens at Lord Bute in Christchurch!

    Lord Bute is the most lovely, small hotel you can imagine: Beautiful spacious rooms, tastefully decorated. Very friendly, welcoming and service-minded staff. And a wonderful restaurant with a mouthwatering (but reasonably priced) menu. What more could you possibly want?

    Room Tip: Choose a large en-suite room. It's great value for money!
    • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Susanne B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 14 October 2012

    Just stayed here for two nights and could not fault it!
    I attended a wedding at Highcliffe Castle and stayed at the Lord Bute for two nights and ate on the Friday for an evening meal which was lovely!

    We went to the wedding on the Saturday and had a great time!.

    came back to the Lord Bute and stayed overnight again and had breakfast early this morning and caught an early train back to Waterloo.I have to compliment Andrea, the hotel manager who looked

    after me superbly! Also the lovely young lady who served my breakfast this morning
    who was charming in the extreme,also the housekeeper who managed to sort out my tv problem! I hope to return the not to distant future
    Barrie Neville
    Baswold

    • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Baswold
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 27 September 2012

    This is a comparatively small hotel of which I had heard many postitive comments from friends who live in the vicinity. In the past, I have attended various functions there, though have not had occasion to stay there overnight. On a visit to Highcliffe I decided to put up at The Lord Bute on a bed-and-breakfast basis as, although I live only 20 miles away, the weather was atrocious and driving conditions predicted to be hazardous.

    The staff could not have been more welcoming to this near-benighted traveller! The room was comfortable and notices such as breakfast times clearly displayed. The whole atmosphere was homely and unfussy. Breakfast next morning was delicious - toast delivered PIPING HOT AND CRISP ! A small detail, perhaps, but what masquerades as toast in some establishments has the appearance and texture of recycled blotting-paper.

    All in all this hotel proved to me that "small is beautiful". I will certainly stay there again soon. Meanwhile, I shall pop in next week with the excuse of returning an errant room key(naughty boy!)

    • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank prospero13
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 7 September 2012

    Do you do decadent?
    If so this is the place to stay.
    We have been to this little gem of a hotel a few times and have never been let down.
    Best described as a restaurant with rooms.
    Rooms are large and extremely well appointed.
    Clean? Spotless.
    Beds large and very comfortable.
    Large flat screen TV.
    Breakfast is not good its EXCELLENT. Served with a smile, these people are genuinely pleased to see you. Warm toast and breads. Whether you have the continental or cooked meal its well prepared and tasty and looks enticing..
    Situated outside Christchurch, there is a lovely walk through the hotel back gardens to the coast and on to Mudiford. There at the quay you can catch boats to Sandbanks and Christchurch or walk into town.
    If you like jazz stay on a Wednesday night. Excellent jazz combos with a meal. Food excellent.
    They do a '3 for 2' night offer which is a bargain.
    Great Pub a minutes walk away. Handy for buses is you want to leave the car.
    Enjoy your stay. We do.

    Room Tip: Pay a bit more and go for the large rooms. They really are big and well appointed.
    • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank steviewonder34
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 2 September 2012

    We have just returned from a weekend break . The hotel very small . No public seating. lounge just a walk through area they called the orangery on route to the dining area . Our room pleasant but rather shabby. lighting very bad maybe that was so you didn't notice the, stained carpet and dirty shower screen . Room forgotten by the house keeping staff . Though when mentioned I was informed that the staff had left for the day .this was then rectified .Breakfast on the first day excellent but not so the next day. coffee pot on the table would have been preferable than having to keep asking for another cup . sorry won't be returning or recommending this bed and breakfast as this is all it was !!!

    • Stayed: September 2012
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
    1  Thank Himandhi
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews