We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming and Friendly”
Review of Lord Bute Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lord Bute Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Charming and Friendly”
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights with some friends and enjoyed it very much. We had the Garden Suite which is simply stunning and our friends had the Lord Bute suite which is a split level suite with a four poster bed. The suites were spotlessly clean and beautifully furnished with lovely bright bathrooms. Breakfast was freshly prepared to order each morning and we all agreed it was delicious. We dined in the hotel restaurant on one of the evenings when there was a jazz band performing. There was a nice atmosphere, friendly staff and the set menu offered a good variety of choices, our only complaint was that the band was a little too loud to enjoy a conversation over dinner. The position of the hotel is very close to Highcliff Castle, Christchurch, Mudeford and Barton-on-Sea so there is lots to see and do very close by. We will definitely return for another break later in the year.

Room Tip: The suites obviously cost more but are worth it if you want lots of space! The hotel overall is qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siobhan3556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    72
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
78
168
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel to stay in the night of our wedding. Knowing we would only be there for under 9 hours we booked the cheapest room available, but when my husband went to check in in the morning he was told our room wasn't ready yet (despite asking for early check in.) but no worries! :) The manager (I think) said that The Lord Bute Suite happened to be free that night (which was very unusual on a sat) so she would give us that instead! So one hell of an upgrade! :) it was almost twice the price of the cheapest room.

So had a lovely suite. :)

Bathroom was great, only downside was no conditioner (had enough hair spray in my hair to really need it the day after!!) did have Molton Brown shampoo & body wash though! ;)

Breakfast was really good, cooked to order. We had to check out at 11, but stayed in the restaurant waiting area with papers and tea until our taxi came. No rush to get rid of us etc. made to feel very welcome.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johannalf88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We got married this December. Even tho we live locally, we have never been here before. We had a small gathering after the wedding. It was magical. The service, the meal, the attention to detail was excellent. I cannot recommend the Lord Bute highly enough. We shall certainly return as often as possible whether it be for a celebration or just a very nice place to go. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamela e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalsgaarde, Denmark
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

When you go back to a place you remember as being fantastic, you sometimes get disappointed... But this never happens at Lord Bute in Christchurch!

Lord Bute is the most lovely, small hotel you can imagine: Beautiful spacious rooms, tastefully decorated. Very friendly, welcoming and service-minded staff. And a wonderful restaurant with a mouthwatering (but reasonably priced) menu. What more could you possibly want?

Room Tip: Choose a large en-suite room. It's great value for money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Just stayed here for two nights and could not fault it!
I attended a wedding at Highcliffe Castle and stayed at the Lord Bute for two nights and ate on the Friday for an evening meal which was lovely!

We went to the wedding on the Saturday and had a great time!.

came back to the Lord Bute and stayed overnight again and had breakfast early this morning and caught an early train back to Waterloo.I have to compliment Andrea, the hotel manager who looked

after me superbly! Also the lovely young lady who served my breakfast this morning
who was charming in the extreme,also the housekeeper who managed to sort out my tv problem! I hope to return the not to distant future
Barrie Neville
Baswold

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baswold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poole united kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

This is a comparatively small hotel of which I had heard many postitive comments from friends who live in the vicinity. In the past, I have attended various functions there, though have not had occasion to stay there overnight. On a visit to Highcliffe I decided to put up at The Lord Bute on a bed-and-breakfast basis as, although I live only 20 miles away, the weather was atrocious and driving conditions predicted to be hazardous.

The staff could not have been more welcoming to this near-benighted traveller! The room was comfortable and notices such as breakfast times clearly displayed. The whole atmosphere was homely and unfussy. Breakfast next morning was delicious - toast delivered PIPING HOT AND CRISP ! A small detail, perhaps, but what masquerades as toast in some establishments has the appearance and texture of recycled blotting-paper.

All in all this hotel proved to me that "small is beautiful". I will certainly stay there again soon. Meanwhile, I shall pop in next week with the excuse of returning an errant room key(naughty boy!)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prospero13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Do you do decadent?
If so this is the place to stay.
We have been to this little gem of a hotel a few times and have never been let down.
Best described as a restaurant with rooms.
Rooms are large and extremely well appointed.
Clean? Spotless.
Beds large and very comfortable.
Large flat screen TV.
Breakfast is not good its EXCELLENT. Served with a smile, these people are genuinely pleased to see you. Warm toast and breads. Whether you have the continental or cooked meal its well prepared and tasty and looks enticing..
Situated outside Christchurch, there is a lovely walk through the hotel back gardens to the coast and on to Mudiford. There at the quay you can catch boats to Sandbanks and Christchurch or walk into town.
If you like jazz stay on a Wednesday night. Excellent jazz combos with a meal. Food excellent.
They do a '3 for 2' night offer which is a bargain.
Great Pub a minutes walk away. Handy for buses is you want to leave the car.
Enjoy your stay. We do.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and go for the large rooms. They really are big and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steviewonder34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.7 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
3.2 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
1.3 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Bute Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Bute Hotel

Property: Lord Bute Hotel
Address: Lymington Road, Christchurch BH23 4JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lord Bute Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lord Bute Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Bute Christchurch
Hotel Lord Bute
Lord Bute Hotel Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing