We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Wedding Reception at The Lord Bute”
Review of Lord Bute Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lord Bute Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
s
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Wedding Reception at The Lord Bute”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Well this review is long overdue as I got married in September last year! We chose The Lord Bute as the destination for our reception. I am not sure my words will do it justice but I will try! We did a lot of research in the local area as we were set on getting married at Highcliffe Castle. The Lord Bute was the first place we went to visit and we know the moment we walked in that it was perfect! We didn't even bother going anywhere else. We loved the history that it is the old entrance to the castle so it all felt like it was meant to be. The rooms are amazing and immaculate. The honeymoon suite is beyond believe, its own living room and fantastic garden! The decor is so luxurious and elegant, the perfect setting for our wedding. I wouldn't say I was elegant but we tried for one day! Ha! The staff were amazing from start to finish, the gentleman looking after our plans helped us so much and guided us through the experience, we didn't pay extra for a planner but thats what it felt like we got. He knows the business well and helped us make the right decisions using his experience. Never have I known of a wedding that you get a menu! Four choices of starter and mains and then three different desserts! Finally away to keep everyone happy! The food was just outstanding, the quality was second to none and the numbers were large!!! The staff went the extra mile at every opportunity and I was always remember all the lovely comments and feedback from our guets of how impressed they were with everyone and everything. We could not have been happier with our celebrations at The Lord Bute and we look forward to many more special memories being made at this wonderful place.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    79
    28
    7
    4
See reviews for
89
179
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

stayed over on valentines night for a charity do and the room was big and spacious and clean and well equipped, the food was excellent for a big gathering and was a la carte and the chef produced great food for a large volume of people , they did run out of alot of the wine and champagne we chose but did have alternatives although alot more expensive, great breakfast but only 4 of us stayed in the hotel that night out of 100 or so people, would recommend the food and rooms

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welltravelledDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Been back again and found the same excellent service with a smile

Spent a couple of nights there with friends and although not busy they were the usual smiling and helpful selves with excellent service all the way through. Unusually we eat in both nights and found good choice and excellent quality throughout.

This is a restaurant with room’s type of place however it really is a super little place to go and stay. It’s clean and well kept. The staff are very attentive, the food is great! We will return again I am sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BatmanMarlborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We have family and friends visiting us often and will always trust staff at the Lord Bute to provide us with a delicious and well presented meal with good attentive service; with a little banter if required! Beautifully decorated and stylish restaurant, a good choice of well presented dishes and a good balance between quality and quantity. Would unreservedly recommend this as a 'safe' restaurant to take your treasured friends for a guaranteed good experience - both young, teenagers and the more mature! Special deals are especially good value and not overpowering: seated at the rear, one can still hold a conversation with friends - even with the Jazz band playing! Nice seating area for waiting in with pre-drinks. Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doogleboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights with some friends and enjoyed it very much. We had the Garden Suite which is simply stunning and our friends had the Lord Bute suite which is a split level suite with a four poster bed. The suites were spotlessly clean and beautifully furnished with lovely bright bathrooms. Breakfast was freshly prepared to order each morning and we all agreed it was delicious. We dined in the hotel restaurant on one of the evenings when there was a jazz band performing. There was a nice atmosphere, friendly staff and the set menu offered a good variety of choices, our only complaint was that the band was a little too loud to enjoy a conversation over dinner. The position of the hotel is very close to Highcliff Castle, Christchurch, Mudeford and Barton-on-Sea so there is lots to see and do very close by. We will definitely return for another break later in the year.

Room Tip: The suites obviously cost more but are worth it if you want lots of space! The hotel overall is qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siobhan3556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel to stay in the night of our wedding. Knowing we would only be there for under 9 hours we booked the cheapest room available, but when my husband went to check in in the morning he was told our room wasn't ready yet (despite asking for early check in.) but no worries! :) The manager (I think) said that The Lord Bute Suite happened to be free that night (which was very unusual on a sat) so she would give us that instead! So one hell of an upgrade! :) it was almost twice the price of the cheapest room.

So had a lovely suite. :)

Bathroom was great, only downside was no conditioner (had enough hair spray in my hair to really need it the day after!!) did have Molton Brown shampoo & body wash though! ;)

Breakfast was really good, cooked to order. We had to check out at 11, but stayed in the restaurant waiting area with papers and tea until our taxi came. No rush to get rid of us etc. made to feel very welcome.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johannalf88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We got married this December. Even tho we live locally, we have never been here before. We had a small gathering after the wedding. It was magical. The service, the meal, the attention to detail was excellent. I cannot recommend the Lord Bute highly enough. We shall certainly return as often as possible whether it be for a celebration or just a very nice place to go. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamela e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
3.2 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
718 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
746 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
466 reviews
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Christchurch
Travelodge Christchurch
#7 of 11 in Christchurch
368 reviews
6.5 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#2 of 66 in Bournemouth
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Bute Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Bute Hotel

Property: Lord Bute Hotel
Address: Lymington Road, Christchurch BH23 4JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lord Bute Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lord Bute Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Bute Christchurch
Hotel Lord Bute
Lord Bute Hotel Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing