We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At last a top quality hotel that allows dogs”
Review of Lord Bute Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lord Bute Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Having checked out of a grotty self catering we checked in to The Lord Bute with our 2 small dogs the reception staff were incredibly helpful and took us to the coach house a detached suite beautifully finished. At breakfast the staff set a table in the garden area to allow us to have breakfast with our dogs. The staff were as helpful as any hotel we have stayed in previously.
The rooms are finished to a wonderful standard and were well worth the rate. The breakfast was superb and they even offered the dogs sausages.

Can't wait to get back for another special stay.

Room Tip: The hotel only allows pets in the coach house but its perfect .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

Having staged our wedding reception at The Lord Bute almost four years ago my wife and I always try and pop back at least once a year. We ate here several times leading up to our wedding with various family members, the food and service is quite remarkable for the price currently 24.95 for four course sunday lunch. The food and attention at our wedding reception was second to none and we were looked after from the moment we booked the venue to the moment we checked out of the spectacular Garden Suite Rooms the day after our wedding. We still have people saying they couldn't believe they had menues on the day, The Lord Bute's policy was hey the restaraunts full up what's the difference to a normal evening what a refreshing change the Lamb Shank still gets talked about to this day. Suffice to say we had the best day of our lives fulfilled even more thanks to chris and the staff at the Lord Bute. I am so pleased to announce hat having returned a couple of weeks ago june 2013 the service,attention to detail and welcome is still a quite unforgettable experience, the food is top top quality in a beautiful setting with the pianist tinkering the ivories in the background makes it always a special occasion.

Whether having sunday lunch, evening dinner with jazz or staying the night for value for money with top class service You would have to go a long way to beat The Lord Bute in my opinion oh and my wifes and my 92 wedding guests.Go on treat yourselves you won't be disappointed. A hidden gem.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Went out for impromptu dinner with family. Couldn't fault the food or the service. Very tentative and changed my coke without issue as it tasted a little bit flat. All starters, mains, and desserts were delicious, good portion sizes and full of flavour. The white chocolate and vanilla creme brûlée was absolute heaven. Although a Thursday the restaurant was busy but this did not detract from getting quality service and quality food. The price was what we expected and all ate from the set menu as the choices were just as good, if not a little better, than the a la carte. Thank you

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Cleanliness
Thank Suroslpfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at this lovely hotel. We had a large kingsize bed in a room at the back of the hotel so it was nice and quiet. The room was nicely decorated and had a big bathroom en suite. We were welcomed by Andrea the very friendly manager and made to feel at home.

The breakfast was excellent. Individually cooked and they catered for my requirement for a gluten free menu even going to the trouble of getting in gluten free sausages as well as GF bread. It is a central place for exploring the coast and the New Forest and we would certainly visit again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golftraveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

My Daughter and her new Husband got married at Highcliffe Castle and then on to The Lord Bute for the reception.
We visited on several occasions to eat prior to booking the reception and were very impressed.
We stayed for 2 nights in various rooms from standard to suites and everybody was delighted with the accommodation. The cleanliness, service and decor are all first class.
The Functions Coordinator Christopher Denley could not be more helpful and his staff on the day of the wedding ensured we all had a wonderful day.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the boardroom which was really nice and great value! If I'm being picky the kettle was not clean alot of limescale and we had to clean it ourselves and there was no fridge. The bed was very comfortable although it seemed it was 2 single beds put together. Breakfast was fantastic although had to ask for a fresh pot of tea as it tasted odd. I was then told they would give me a pot made from a kettle as opposed from a machine. It was obvious in taste. The first pot tasted awful and of limescale. Location is good. Next door is a pub which was nice. A five minute walk to the beach but would recommend a cab to mudeford quay and christchurch . Would definitely go back

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mazzapuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I have no hesitation in recommending this wonderful hotel, the rooms are so luxurious, especially the outside cottages that are more like a private house than a hotel!
A friendly feel, welcoming and with excellent service.

The breakfast is to die for, not this chain hotel breakfast but an individually cooked, high quality breakfast.

If I am in that area I will never want to stay anywhere else...cant wait to get back.
Book now if you havent been, I was there on business but would be a lovely romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the lodges outside if they are available, they are totally beyond your expectations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wmargaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
2.9 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#1 of 11 in Christchurch
800 reviews
1.7 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
3.2 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#5 of 11 in Christchurch
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
2,020 reviews
6.3 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
446 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#7 of 11 in Christchurch
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Bute Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Bute Hotel

Address: Lymington Road, Christchurch BH23 4JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £110 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lord Bute Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Lord Bute Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Bute Christchurch
Hotel Lord Bute
Lord Bute Hotel Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing