We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding”
Review of Lord Bute Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lord Bute Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This is a lovely hotel thank you for a wonderful day 2nd August our daughter wedding reception
The food was excellent and the staff couldn't be more helpfull and bed comfy breakfast lovely.
Thank you to you all.

Room Tip: Have your wedding here . Or just stay to visit highcliff castle and area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poolefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at this hotel and got 3 nights for the price of 2 which was great value. The room was spacious and very smart and the breakfast excellent. We had a lovely room on the ground floor at the back of the hotel as the hotel is on a very busy main road and we didn't want to be disturbed by traffic noise.

Overall, great value for money!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClareCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Had a party for my husbands birthday on Friday 19 th July 2013. He thought we were just going out for dinner, but I had arranged for 10 others to join us!!
I arranged this in February as some guests were coming from far flung places ie USA.
From the moment I booked nothing was too much trouble, Chris the restaurant manager is highly organised and experienced when it comes to Weddings and Parties, and in general on ' normal dining days! A menu was arranged giving everyone an excellent choice of starters, mains and desserts. The food was beautifully presented and served,and everything was lovely.
We stayed the night and had a lovely room with air con which was very welcome in this current heat wave! The room itself was immaculate and roomy. In fact I slept like a log!
Breakfast was very good too with a good choice of cooked items, cereals, yogurt etc.
All in all I would thoroughly recommend The Lord Bute Hotel.
Had our Daughters wedding here last year and we couldn't fault it, which is why we chose to come back here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We just stayed one night at The Lord Bute whilst visiting family. The staff we came into contact with we're helpful and friendly. Our room was beautifully furnished and had air conditioning. Our bathroom was very large and I liked the Moulton Brown toiletries! Breakfast was very well presented and cooked to order. We will definitely be visiting the hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Having checked out of a grotty self catering we checked in to The Lord Bute with our 2 small dogs the reception staff were incredibly helpful and took us to the coach house a detached suite beautifully finished. At breakfast the staff set a table in the garden area to allow us to have breakfast with our dogs. The staff were as helpful as any hotel we have stayed in previously.
The rooms are finished to a wonderful standard and were well worth the rate. The breakfast was superb and they even offered the dogs sausages.

Can't wait to get back for another special stay.

Room Tip: The hotel only allows pets in the coach house but its perfect .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Having staged our wedding reception at The Lord Bute almost four years ago my wife and I always try and pop back at least once a year. We ate here several times leading up to our wedding with various family members, the food and service is quite remarkable for the price currently 24.95 for four course sunday lunch. The food and attention at our wedding reception was second to none and we were looked after from the moment we booked the venue to the moment we checked out of the spectacular Garden Suite Rooms the day after our wedding. We still have people saying they couldn't believe they had menues on the day, The Lord Bute's policy was hey the restaraunts full up what's the difference to a normal evening what a refreshing change the Lamb Shank still gets talked about to this day. Suffice to say we had the best day of our lives fulfilled even more thanks to chris and the staff at the Lord Bute. I am so pleased to announce hat having returned a couple of weeks ago june 2013 the service,attention to detail and welcome is still a quite unforgettable experience, the food is top top quality in a beautiful setting with the pianist tinkering the ivories in the background makes it always a special occasion.

Whether having sunday lunch, evening dinner with jazz or staying the night for value for money with top class service You would have to go a long way to beat The Lord Bute in my opinion oh and my wifes and my 92 wedding guests.Go on treat yourselves you won't be disappointed. A hidden gem.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Went out for impromptu dinner with family. Couldn't fault the food or the service. Very tentative and changed my coke without issue as it tasted a little bit flat. All starters, mains, and desserts were delicious, good portion sizes and full of flavour. The white chocolate and vanilla creme brûlée was absolute heaven. Although a Thursday the restaurant was busy but this did not detract from getting quality service and quality food. The price was what we expected and all ate from the set menu as the choices were just as good, if not a little better, than the a la carte. Thank you

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Cleanliness
Thank Suroslpfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.7 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
777 reviews
3.2 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#5 of 11 in Christchurch
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,936 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#8 of 11 in Christchurch
419 reviews
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Christchurch
Travelodge Christchurch
#7 of 11 in Christchurch
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Bute Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Bute Hotel

Address: Lymington Road, Christchurch BH23 4JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £114 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lord Bute Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lord Bute Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Bute Christchurch
Hotel Lord Bute
Lord Bute Hotel Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing