We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Lord Bute Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lord Bute Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We arrived very late after a wedding, and the owner was very helpful, giving us a detailed map to our room and allowing us to check in the next day. The room was beautiful and breakfast was incredible- the best I've ever had at a B'n'B!! Would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chanelle_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

Nice sized and well decorated bedroom. Good WIFI, all the things that I would expect. Dinner was fine, but plates were so hot the sauce was being cooked on them, a bit surprised that it was a set menu with a price only for three courses when it is advertised as a la carte on the website. Breakfast again fine, eggs salty and stones and stalks left in the fruit on the fruit platter. If you are a light sleeper recommend asking for a room not facing the road.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mshells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The hotel is very comfortable and has got everything you need and more. The staff are first class, they are incredibly friendly and polite - nothing is too much trouble. We spent our wedding week end here and they really did make us feel special. The food really was amazing - infact it really is hard to find fault with anything!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knopps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My husband and I had our wedding reception at the Lord Bute, we had originally had slight reservations of the size of the hotel and the number of guests we had (70) but as our favourite hotel in the area we went for it and we're so pleased we did it really was the perfect venue; the size of the hotel was perfectly suited for our guests, the food as always at the Lord Bute was flawless with all our guests commenting on how amazing it was.

Chris and the team couldn't have been more accommodating they ensured everything went smoothly and recommended some great suppliers too.

We stayed in the garden suite, the impressive suite was again beautiful, huge and incredibly comfortable with it's own private garden. Some of our guests stayed in the hotel as well and all commented on how beautiful and spacious their rooms were.

We can't thank the staff enough for their wonderful hospitality, it really was the perfect place to spend an absolutely unforgettable day, I couldn't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This is a lovely hotel thank you for a wonderful day 2nd August our daughter wedding reception
The food was excellent and the staff couldn't be more helpfull and bed comfy breakfast lovely.
Thank you to you all.

Room Tip: Have your wedding here . Or just stay to visit highcliff castle and area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poolefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at this hotel and got 3 nights for the price of 2 which was great value. The room was spacious and very smart and the breakfast excellent. We had a lovely room on the ground floor at the back of the hotel as the hotel is on a very busy main road and we didn't want to be disturbed by traffic noise.

Overall, great value for money!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClareCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Had a party for my husbands birthday on Friday 19 th July 2013. He thought we were just going out for dinner, but I had arranged for 10 others to join us!!
I arranged this in February as some guests were coming from far flung places ie USA.
From the moment I booked nothing was too much trouble, Chris the restaurant manager is highly organised and experienced when it comes to Weddings and Parties, and in general on ' normal dining days! A menu was arranged giving everyone an excellent choice of starters, mains and desserts. The food was beautifully presented and served,and everything was lovely.
We stayed the night and had a lovely room with air con which was very welcome in this current heat wave! The room itself was immaculate and roomy. In fact I slept like a log!
Breakfast was very good too with a good choice of cooked items, cereals, yogurt etc.
All in all I would thoroughly recommend The Lord Bute Hotel.
Had our Daughters wedding here last year and we couldn't fault it, which is why we chose to come back here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.7 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#1 of 11 in Christchurch
793 reviews
3.2 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#5 of 11 in Christchurch
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,987 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#7 of 11 in Christchurch
436 reviews
6.5 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#2 of 66 in Bournemouth
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Bute Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Bute Hotel

Address: Lymington Road, Christchurch BH23 4JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £113 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lord Bute Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lord Bute Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Bute Christchurch
Hotel Lord Bute
Lord Bute Hotel Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing