We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not number 1”
Review of Lord Bute Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lord Bute Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not number 1”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We went here for Sunday lunch it is number 1 on TA and it is rated best Sunday lunch in Christchurch!

Well maybe its because it is so hyped but it felt it was lacking.......

I struggled with starters my partner had the asparagus (completely out of season unless eating in South America!) I had a goats cheese tart which was ok.

For mains I had to try the best roast beef in Christchurch..... well it was good but at £23.95 per person this is competing with Upper Deck, Captains Club and Pebble Beach im not sure its better than all of these?

Service is good not fine dining by any means but they try hard and are very smiley again best Sunday lunch it needs to have more of an edge though.

It was a good experience but when you are the best you expect the best and this was not, sorry Lord Bute.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RestaurantGuru007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    72
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
78
168
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hurstpierpoint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We arrived on Tuesday for three days.The hotel is immaculate, and the staff were very friendly but not at all intrusive.
We ate in every evening, (one being a jazz night). The food was suberb, and very hot (temperature),beautifully presented, and seasoned well.
Would definately go back.

Room Tip: All rooms are in a good position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyh1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We were delighted with the way our daughter's special day went from the intial meeting's wiith Chris helping us arrange the event through to the end of their Wedding day.All of us and our guests had a wonderful day with everything going extremely well. The food and the venue and music were first class. Thanks to Chris and his team for our perfect wedding day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rymma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We held our wedding reception at the Lord Bute at the end of August 2013 and had the most amazing day. The reception room was decorated perfectly and exactly to what we had specified. We highly recommend Christopher in his efforts, not only on our wedding day but with the preparations leading up to our big day. He made us feel at ease from day one and we knew nothing would be to big or to small for Christopher to help us organise. The team at the Lord Bute were outstanding on the day and made everything run smoothly, the food was outstanding and beautifully presented. We would definitely recommend the Lord Bute and can't wait to go back! Thank you all once again for all your hard work. We had such an amazing Wedding.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My wife and I went for a special Sunday lunch, arrived to find very limited parking. Upon entering the Lord Bute we were welcomed by a very friendly waitress, which was the start to a very pleasant Sunday lunch. The four courses were a treat, served by very friendly staff, although some of the waitresses could dress in a more suitable fashion But there was a big downside, near the end of our visit taped over loud music was played. Do not let this put anyone off, because for the good food lovers this is a must.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelvin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chanelle_W
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We arrived very late after a wedding, and the owner was very helpful, giving us a detailed map to our room and allowing us to check in the next day. The room was beautiful and breakfast was incredible- the best I've ever had at a B'n'B!! Would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chanelle_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Nice sized and well decorated bedroom. Good WIFI, all the things that I would expect. Dinner was fine, but plates were so hot the sauce was being cooked on them, a bit surprised that it was a set menu with a price only for three courses when it is advertised as a la carte on the website. Breakfast again fine, eggs salty and stones and stalks left in the fruit on the fruit platter. If you are a light sleeper recommend asking for a room not facing the road.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mshells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.7 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
3.2 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
1.3 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Bute Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Bute Hotel

Property: Lord Bute Hotel
Address: Lymington Road, Christchurch BH23 4JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lord Bute Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lord Bute Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Bute Christchurch
Hotel Lord Bute
Lord Bute Hotel Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing