We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Find!”
Review of Lord Bute Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lord Bute Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Good Find!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely 1 night stay here. Very comfortable clean room. Breakfast was excellent with full waitress service. Staff are very helpful and informative without being intrusive. Lovely location close to Highcliffe Castle, the beach and beautiful coastal walks. Will be returning at some point and hope to try the restaurant for dinner.


Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jane_hayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    79
    28
    7
    4
See reviews for
89
179
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We were met on arrival by a very friendly, helpful lady. We were allocated The Lord Bute suite, which was comfortable, splendidly furnished and superbly equipped. Nothing was too much trouble for all the staff. The Hotel & grounds are beautifully maintained & stunning in design. Breakfast was amongst the best I've ever had in an hotel anywhere (and that includes The Ritz)!

Just one small tip...If you happen to be a headache sufferer like me, take your own soft pillows with you as I found those provided too firm for my needs.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sujanesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014

A request for a quiet room was ignored and our badly fitting door banged every time a customer came in. On the particular night we thought that Tom Jones was in the bathroom. It was an event in the dining room that kept us up until 11:30. The management did not take any responsibility for the event. A good room if there were no events.
A good hotel spoiled by greed and poor management.

Room Tip: Check if a wedding or event is taking place before you commit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

One nights stay, just not long enough! Excellent accommodation excellent food in nice and clean air conditioned room. Breakfast the best we've ever eaten, cooked to perfection and presented beautifully. The staff very efficient and friendly. We will be back as soon as possible.

Room Tip: We booked the last available room and were warned that as it was at the front of the hotel we may he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is by far the best hotel I have ever stayed in, I have stayed here twice, once in the garden suit with my partner which I have to say was just perfection! The staff couldn't have been anymore helpful, really relaxed while very professional and friendly. I didn't want to leave the garden suit is heaven! Second time we stayed in the hotel and the room was lovely very clean, and the bed was sooooo comfy.... Again we didn't want to leave! Food was delicious and staff were again great. Me and my partner would definately recommend this to anyone. We are looking to book for the midweek jazz night soon. Thank you all for your help, Nikita :) xx

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikita_Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent 3 night stay at the Lord Bute.
Excellent location and fantastically high quality all round at a very good price.

We found all the staff very friendly and professional but also low key and relaxed, which suited us perfectly.

Breakfasts are cooked to perfection, quality ingredients and a good choice and we were offered hot food as well as toast, fruit (beautifully presented fruit platters), cereals etc.

We also enjoyed a great evening at the jazz night, again with delicious food and great service.

We had room 101 and had no issue with noise whatsoever.
Also, no complaints about the bathroom either!

Will definitely return if we revisit the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wbx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Booked here as another local and favoured hotel was fully booked. We have stayed before and were confident of a good stay and we had just that. I would say that whilst house keeping still seems high, wear and tear and perhaps a lack of maintenance is showing in places.

Service was also not as good as that of the past however that may have been the staff on shift.

I would stay again but there are other choices in the area I would consider first.

Room Tip: Upper floor to rear due to road noise or when functions get loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pirateofthecaribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
3.2 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
718 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
746 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
466 reviews
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Christchurch
Travelodge Christchurch
#7 of 11 in Christchurch
368 reviews
6.5 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#2 of 66 in Bournemouth
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Bute Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Bute Hotel

Property: Lord Bute Hotel
Address: Lymington Road, Christchurch BH23 4JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lord Bute Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lord Bute Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Bute Christchurch
Hotel Lord Bute
Lord Bute Hotel Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing