We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lord Bute Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lord Bute Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
fibo74
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simple luxury”
Reviewed 11 February 2009

My husband and I stayed here for one night and booked a large en-suite room with spa bath. We were not disappointed - a beautiful if simply decorated room in modern earthy tones, modern lcd widescreen tv, huge bed and fab bathroom.

We ate in the restaurant which was divine and well worth the £31.95 for three courses and I was delighted so see the option of a half bottle of wine available too - perfect for me whilst my husband drank lager. The service was fantastic and very attentive.

Breakfast was a hearty full english - my only critism being that I would have liked to have seen a breakfast menu as we were asked verbally if we would like cereal, full english or both and it was not clear if there was an option of fish or continental.

Altogether a lovely experience and I would highly recommend the Lord Bute and would like to try out one of their suites.

Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fibo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    69
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
78
166
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Discovery Bay
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2009

we still loved this hotel and are going again. The food is wonderful, the decoration and ambiance are great. This is a good hotel for families if you stay in the coach house with the little kitchen and washing machine it is very convenient.

The staff are very friendly and the breakfasts delicious. Would thoroughly recommend this to anyone from romantic break to travel with children.

  • Liked — Lovely accommodation in a very convenient spot for New Forest exploration.
  • Disliked — Can be very quiet feel a bit bereft when staff leave.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2008

had a couple of nights here in August. Had the Coachouse room which was a really well appointed triple, with a nice bathroom and that also has a mini kitchen downstairs with a washing machine etc. Problems with the telly but the owner sorted them out, and incidentally, she was a really nice lady. You are in the roof of an old building effectively, so probably not the best for really tall people. Also quite near the road, which is quite busy, so you would struggle to sleep if you had the skylight open
Nice king size bed, which was wonderfully comfortable.
Breakfast really nice. Also dined in the restauant in the evening - great food , and a very chatty jazz musician who was not too intrusive and was really nice to our little boy!

  • Liked — Our room itself
  • Disliked — the hotel is on a busy road
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RDavidW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2008

A beautiful hotel, wonderful atmosphere and excellent food. We would certainly recommend this hotel and have every intention of making a return visit. The staff were warm and friendly and couldn't do enough to assist.

  • Liked — Atmosphere and friendly helpful staff
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank visitor12-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2008

We booked three nights at the Lord Bute Hotel as we were getting married at the nearby Highcliffe Castle.

The staff were more than accommodating and the facilities were perfect! Would highly recommend this hotel to everybody.

  • Liked — The bathroom it was gorgeous!!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sparklygem29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2008

I have stayed at this hotel a few times in the past on business, and I have to say that it is one of my favorites. It is always a relaxing stay.

The rooms are very well set out and the beds are confortable. There is also freeview. The location is good and the area is very pretty.

The staff are friendly and helpful. The one thing I would say is there are no staff there on Sunday nights so is a little interesting if there is a problem (there is a number to call).

The resturant is very good, and there are also a couple of Pubs in the area that serve good food, and it is a nice walk to the beach.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Bex_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2008

The room was comfortable and quiet, thanks to previous reviewers we had booked a room at the back of the hotel, away from the very busy main road. The bathroom was big as was the bath. The staff were friendly & efficient.
So, all good on the accommodation front.

We chose this hotel because they have two AA Rosettes for dining but the meals didn't reflect this. The restaurant itself is fine if you like stiff & fussy, the food was likewise. Presentation was over-elaborate, masking some very ordinary food and cooking. Really, I don't need my seafood garnished with a strawberry.
If you're looking for a fine dining experience, or just some well cooked food this isn't it. An overpriced disappointment.

  • Liked — Room and bathroom confortable & clean. Service fiendly & efficient.
  • Disliked — The food was pricey & disappointing.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WaveThree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.7 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
3.2 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
662 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
1.3 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,718 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Bute Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Bute Hotel

Property: Lord Bute Hotel
Address: Lymington Road, Christchurch BH23 4JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lord Bute Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lord Bute Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Bute Christchurch
Hotel Lord Bute
Lord Bute Hotel Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing