We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Perfect Wedding Day....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Vicarage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christchurch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Vicarage
Ranked #19 of 33 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our Perfect Wedding Day....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

We have just returned from our Honeymoon, and have finally had the time to write about our wonderful wedding day!

We had our wedding ceremony in the Orangery at The Old Vicarage. The room looked stunning, and lots of guests commented on what an unusual room it was, with the high ceilings - full of light - surrounded by garden.

The Wedding Co-ordinator is so lovely. On hand through out the day, with all fine details under control. It was great to not have to worry about thing, everything flowed really well.


Being a November wedding, we were nervous about the weather on the day. Raining in the morning, it soon brightened up by afternoon. Perfect for photos with backdrops of autumn leaves.


We held the whole vent in the Main House with Exclusive Use. Lots of our friends thought it was so unusual to have the whole place to ourselves.

For our Wedding Breakfast we had designed our own Menu, having 3 Courses of the most gorgeous food. All of the dishes were presented beautifully.

We took out all 6 bedrooms for our friends and family. Each room is beautifully furnished, just wish I could make my house look like this place!
The following morning we were presented with a large breakfast table laid up for our 11 Guests in The Orangery. We had a great morning catching up n the day before - with our hangovers!

I originally discovered this Venue, and my Husband was delighted with the relaxed atmosphere, down to the fact it is family-run with people who really care. It was fabulous to find somewhere unique and most importantly somewhere which lots of guests had never been to before, making it even more special & individual.

Thank you to everyone at The Old Vicarage

Mr & Mrs Stevens x

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    9
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
243 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Visited here last weekend for a surprise party, not sure what we were expecting but were pleasantly surprised. The hotel catered for 40 people for the sit down meal and the food was very good and all came out pretty much on time & together. The hotel decor is minimal, white and grey's and we dined in the Orangery - to be honest it could do with some soft furnishings / pictures to add a little warmth and character. Our friends stayed the night and said the bedroom was very comfortable, breakfast was also commented as being excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morag H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed here last weekend, its an Edwardian house on the main road to Christchurch from Lyndhurst. The overall theme of the decor is bare boards and white/grey walls with splashes of colour, empty picture frames look. Good points were large comfortable bed, crisp white sheets, good breakfast, nice staff, and clearly a great set up for wedding venue inside and out. Bad points were noisy road on the front of the house. My room was let down by poor housekeeping: cobwebs round the ceiling, headboard furry with dust, dog hair on the carpet, wobbly taps in bathroom. But main comment would be the overwhelming smell of room spray downstairs, not quite mini cab level, but pretty strong. Shame, because its a great base for exploring the area.

Room Tip: back of the house away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c__h2008-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We recently held my Grandmother Doris's 100th birthday party at The Old Vicarage. The day went very well and my Grandmother enjoyed it immensly. The staff at the vicarage were helpful through the whole process and were always there to help rearange details add things on and answer my endless questions.The Orangry was delightful, informal,cosy and bright.All of my guests without exception enjoyed the food and were plesantly surprised to find such a lovely venue for functions in 'The Forest'.We were under no pressure to leave and felt relaxed all the time we were there. Many thanks to The Vicarage for making our special day very special.

Room Tip: All the rooms are really lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Somersetfoodie898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poole
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Just back from our honeymoon after our wedding here on 27.09.13. We had the whole event at The Old Vicarage so hired the complete venue. We were married in The Orangery room at 10:30. The staff then came in and set the Orangery up for our wedding breakfast whilst we did photos and welcome drinks. The room looked amazing when we came back in! We then had afternoon drinks with tea's coffee's and cake and then a Hog Roast and evening reception in the Marquee. As you can see, we put a lot of faith in this team by entrusting our whole wedding day to them and I have to say they did not let us down at all. We had the most AMAZING day. Everything went to plan, the staff worked their socks off to ensure we were always looked after. The food at the wedding breakfast was first class and was served brilliantly. The staff were attentive without being intruding. The venue as impeccable and looked amazing, especially at night with all the candles and lights. We did add some extra lights here and there to be honest there were plenty already. All our guests commented on what a great venue this is. Thank you to all the team, you made our day unforgettable. I should also add that the rooms were all really comfortable and the bridal suite is gorgeous :) X

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank chelseasteve71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Excellent location just off main A35. Huge mature garden. Spacious bedroom and very clean., very comfortable bed and large spotless bathroom. Made a pleasant change to find a shower that was easily regulated and powerful
Next to main road but still very quiet.
Very helpful staff

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1927vintage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We held our Wedding Ceremony here on 31st May 2013 and had the most fabulous day!
Whilst planning the wedding we had visited several potential venues but chose The Old Vicarage because of the decor, grounds & relaxed atmosphere of the hotel itself coupled with a genuine feeling that the staff wanted to do everything they possibly could to make our day special. This they did over & above our expectations! :-)
From the very first day we received nothing but outstanding service from Laura & Julie who were the wedding organisers. Every effort was made to ensure all our requests and worries were resolved with a 'can do' attitude, and any minor glitches were dealt with in calm & positive manner. The organisation on the day was impeccable.
We were blessed with lovely weather and the gardens and marquee looked stunning on the day. Our photographer was delighted with the excellent backdrops available for the photos.
Chef did a wonderful job in catering for about 90 guests and we've had so many good comments about the quality of the meals served at the main reception & at the buffet for the evening dance. We also had so many people say how beautifully relaxed and informal the whole day was and this is due in no small part to the staff on the day.
We cannot thank the entire staff enough for organising and overseeing what was a fabulous day for us - one which we will never forget.
Thanks folks! :-) xx

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.4 mi away
Eastclose Country House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel
2.7 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
4.4 mi away
Tyrrells Ford Country Inn & Hotel
1.5 mi away
Beachside Bed & Breakfast
Beachside Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 33 in Christchurch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Vicarage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage

Property: The Old Vicarage
Address: Lyndhurst Road | Hinton, Christchurch BH23 7DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Also Known As:
The Old Vicarage Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing