We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freshly cooked to order”

Captain Cod Fish and Chip Shop
Ranked #80 of 149 Restaurants in Christchurch
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Oxford
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Freshly cooked to order”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We were driving around Christchurch on our way to Bournemouth and wanted Fish and chips. Found this little gem. Best chips and battered cod I have tasted in years.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank footblister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    11
    2
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Traditional...”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Very clean looking waiting area and reasonable quality fish and chips.
We had cod and chips which was freshly cooked and accompanied by a slice of fresh lemon.
Will certainly be using Captain Cod again when in the area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank AlienFootprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent fish and chips.”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

They can cater for large groups and take aways. It comes with plastic cutlery sauces, condiments etc . Always where we go for F and C!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Di K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips in Christchurch.”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Been going here for 16 years and it is still great. Really handy to be able to phone your order through and then collect. Every time I have done this the food has been ready, even at peak holiday time when it can be exceptionally busy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
74 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 524 helpful votes
“Great Fish and Chips”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The best Fish and Chips in Christchurch, very helpful staff. The fish and chips are cooked to order well worth a short delay produce is cooked first class. Nice to see the customer comes first without having to endure tired out and sub standard portions, Thank you all we will certainly be back,

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank ianexamsBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain Cod Fish and Chip Shop also viewed

 
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Captain Cod Fish and Chip Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing