We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another perfect week”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christchurch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Meadowbank Holidays
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Just came back from meadowbank after a 7 night Monday to Monday stay from 18-25th, this is the second time me and my family have stayed here so I thought I had better do a review. It is simply the best british holiday destination and holiday park in the country is my opinion, the holiday park Is spotless, staff very helpful and friendly, location is absolutely perfect too, the river fishing in and around the park is also fantastic, brilliant acces to some of the best beaches in the country, the restaurants in the area are of a very high standard too I can especially advise a trip to the local town of boscombe to the koh thai tapas, the food is to die for.
All in all a fantastic weeks holiday,
See you next year.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Dibberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley T, Director of Sales at Meadowbank Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you so much for such a glowing review.
We are so glad had a wonderful time and whole heatedly support your view on the Koh Thai, Thai restaurant. It is one of our own personal favorites too !!!
We very much hope to see you for a 3rd visit soon.
Kind Regards
Meadowbank Holidays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

Caravan was excellent very clean and tidy, site is very well managed and great location to explore the area will certainly come back if we are back in the area next year.
Many thanks for a great short break away for our family

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley T, Director of Sales at Meadowbank Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you Martin for your very kind review.
We hope to see you and your family again soon
Kind Regards
Meadowbank Holidays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This was our first visit to this site and found the staff welcoming and helpfull. We found parking our caravan easy enough and hassle free. Overall the site was clean and tidy and even the other guests seemed friendly.
The beauty for us was that it is very close to the premier birdwatching sites of Christchurch Harbour, Poole Harbour and Blashford Lakes.
We will certainly come back again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley T, Director of Sales at Meadowbank Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you Bob for your lovely review.

Meadowbank Holidays is indeed a wonderful base for bird watching in this lovely natural holiday area. Hopefully you were lucky enough to see the Kingfishers on the river !

Best Regards
Meadowbank Holidays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

This is the second year we have stayed at this site with our caravan, it is well laid out for touring caravans and motor homes, so it doesn't feel like your on top of one another like some sites. The shop is well stocked and on a Tuesday a fish and chip shop van comes around and there are freshly cooked food while you wait. When we arrived we had a lovely welcome and told what pitch we was on which was easy to find. The shower and toilet block are the most cleanest I have ever been in always have fresh flowers in the ladies every day. The site itself is very peaceful in the day and night. Just a few yards away is the River Stour which makes a lovely evening walk. The reason my partner and I use this site as it is central to everywhere we like to visit. Also I'm slightly disabled and they will try their upmost to accommodate you to be near the shower block. Cannot wait to book again next year.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley T, Director of Sales at Meadowbank Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you Emma for your very kind review.

We do strive to maintain the highest standards and it is especially pleasing that you experienced this during your second visit. We very much hope to see you for a third time very soon !

Kind Regards
Meadowbank Holidays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed as a family of 4 in a gold caravan and received a lukewarm welcome after a long journey with young children. We were initially disappointed to find our caravan tucked in behind another - so much so that the view from the lounge was filled with the back blank end of another van. We also had a very awkward parking spot having to park parallel in between two others parked adjacent to their vans and out of site to our caravan. The cleanliness of the caravan was ok but not as spotless as described by others - there were hairs and grime in the shower cubicle and hair/dust clumps around the carpet. The caravan was well equipped but we generally felt a bit cramped and the decor, carpets etc seemed tired. We expected a quiet park - and it was very! - but something is lacking. The playground is not suitable for under 5 ' s - tho the public park outside the entrance is - and the games room is pretty uninspiring with some broken/unresponsive games. We were surprised that our bin was only partially emptied once in the week, so was pretty smelly by the end of the week. There is also the constant hum of the fairly close main road and this road also got very gridlocked at times. The location of the park is ideally placed for Bournemouth (stag party heaven), Christchurch (beautiful) and the stunning New Forest. We really enjoyed Moors Valley Country Park and would recommend it.
The chip van on the Tuesday evening was ridiculous - obviously not the fault of the park but they should consider finding a van that can cope with demand. We had 5 people in the queue b4 us and still hadn't been served after 40 mins so gave up! They were taking one order at a time!
The shop is really the highlight of the park being compact but well stocked with very friendly staff.
We were left feeling a bit underwhelmed and that the park could be better - ending in a pretty cold goodbye with a cleaner grabbing our key without so much as a thank you! Sorry but we won't be back.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank Jody W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley T, Director of Sales at Meadowbank Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you Jody for your review.

We are sorry that you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay with us. I am particularly surprised that you found your welcome lukewarm as we do pride ourselves on our friendly welcome as well as our high standards of accommodation cleanliness.

It is a shame that you feel you would not wish to return as we would welcome the opportunity to recommend to you one of our many holiday homes with more open lounge views which may better suit your personal requirements.

Regards
Meadowbank Holidays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Fairly quiet place away from the main road, the van was nice and clean when we arrived and the park was next to a river, which made for a pleasant walk in the evenings. Close enough to Bournemouth that we could drive over pretty much whenever we wanted. All in all, extremely pleasant stay on a well-kept site with friendly staff. Only complaint is the wi-fi signal was a bit iffy, but most of the time it worked ok.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jordan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley T, Director of Sales at Meadowbank Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you Jordan for your very kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Please accept our apologies for any wifi difficulties. We currently only have limited broadband speed and bandwidth capability which can get overstretched during peak holidays. We have been reliably informed that BT will be upgrading the service in our area during the coming months and so expect to have a significantly improved service for next season.
Best wishes
Meadowbank Holidays Ltd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Been coming here many years - the quality is poorest its been this year - dirty crockery and cutlery - the shower was dirty and the whole van reeked of cigarette smoke. I always presumed they were cleaned between occupants??

Then there is the wifi which is an absolute joke. If wifi availability forms any part of your reason for holidaying here the forget it. For three years we have been told that we are too far from the router(??) though we do seem to be staying on the same site. Then there is the "too many users" excuse -and finally " it needs rebooting and the chap who does that isn't here " - what they guy who can switch it on and off????

It is absolutely a joke as none of that is difficult to surmount in 2014

If you want to spend a week in a smelly caravan drinking out of filthy glasses with bored kids coz when the weather gets bad they cannot even get onto facebook this is the place to be - in the 1990's

If you want to holiday in 2014 - look elsewhere

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley T, Director of Sales at Meadowbank Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

I was very sorry to see your review regarding the cleanliness of your caravan. We are a family run business and very much pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our accommodation, which is reflected in our other reviews.

Unfortunately I cannot recall a complaint of this nature, as we would have certainly done our very best to resolve the matter.

The Wi Fi has proved challenging this August. Our geographic location for fast broadband and sheer volume of our occupancy in August has limited this free service.

I would like to thank you for your past custom and am sorry we did not live up to your expectations on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
3.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,063 reviews
3.7 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,009 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#11 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,567 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
4.8 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowbank Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowbank Holidays

Address: Grove Farm Meadow Stour Way, Christchurch BH23 2PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meadowbank Holidays is a high quality riverside holiday park providing the closest self catering holiday caravans to Bournemouth. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Meadowbank Holidays Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing