We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday celebration”

Upper Deck at The Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 157 Restaurants in Christchurch
Price range: US$10 - US$45
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We dinned in the upper deck recently for my birthday. From the moment we entered the restaurant, we were treated with upmost care and attention from all the waiters. The food was first class, and my partner commented that the food could have easily been presented on BBC Master Chef. Our waiter picked up that it was my birthday, and as a surprise bought a complimentary tray of hand made chocolates and strawberries. This finished off a wonderful evening. We will coming back for more, and can definitely recommend a visit!. Thank you so much for making our visit so
memorable -:) Suzy (Bournemouth)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Suzy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJAitken, General Manager at Upper Deck at The Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you so much for the great review it is so rewarding to see how much you enjoyed your experience with us. We have loved the fact that we made your birthday so special and it is great to see you got all the treats you deserve!

We look forward to the next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

489 - 493 of 616 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent food I had steak which was purfect. You can't get a much better view of Christchurch harbour, all the staff where so kind and helpful refilling our glasses and promptly clearing our table, really great place would reccomend to anyone for great quality food and service

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chantelle5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJAitken, General Manager at Upper Deck at The Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you so much for the great review the whole team is delighted to read how much you enjoyed it and we all look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had a wonderful meal at this restaurant. Every course was cooked and presented beautifully. The service was slick and the ambiance added to a great night. We went on a Friday night and they had a jazz band which was really nice. This has to be one of the best meals we have had from start to finish. Lovely restaurant..upmarket and we cannot wait to return!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Basil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJAitken, General Manager at Upper Deck at The Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you so much for the great review, I have really enjoyed sharing it with the team and it has given them a huge boost.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

What a beautifull meal we had last night for our anniversary treat. Jayn and I had the "bring me food and drink " menu and it couldnt have been better prepared or served by the utterly discreetly attentive staff,who explained the food and accompanying wines so well . Even when we disappeared,halfway through the meal to the outside decking to admire the beautiful sunsetting view , the meal didn't miss a beat and we were treated like very welcome guests at all times. As a local we are spoilt by the number of eateries here in Christchurch but The Upper Deck just seems to get better and better .Chefs who know how to cook and staff who excel in their jobs, it can't get better. Well done 11 out of 10.........

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ambrowt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJAitken, General Manager at Upper Deck at The Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thank you so much for the great review on TA. The whole team has loved reading it and it has acted as a real motivator for the whole team.

The bring me food menu is our prestige menu and its so rewarding to see people enjoying it so much.

We very much look forward to the next time you come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The quality of the cakes and sandwiches were reasonable.

Service was not particularly friendly I have to say (and rather underwhelming when considering previous afternoon teas we have experienced).This was the first place we were not offered another pot of tea also, although perhaps we have been lucky previously as we have taken a number of afternoon teas in London.

Nothing exceptional except for the view, and we would only return for this aspect of the experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Zac_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJAitken, General Manager at Upper Deck at The Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on TA, the team reads your review with great disappointment. We are truly sorry that your experience did not exceed expectations, we do offer refills for tea and it is a great shame you did not receive this level of service.

Please be reassured that this has been reiterated to all the staff and that when you want to come again for that amazing view the experience will be better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Upper Deck at The Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa also viewed

Christchurch, Dorset
Christchurch, Dorset
 

Been to Upper Deck at The Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing