We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic volunteer run cinema - great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Regent Centre

The Regent Centre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic volunteer run cinema - great value”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Absolutely brilliant! Run by volunteers, with great prices for films, and a range of excellent shows for all the family.
Also screens some arty, independent films from time to time.
Great art deco feel inside.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bluegrasstravel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentCentreXchurch, Manager at The Regent Centre, responded to this review, 5 November 2014
Thank you for your kind words

We are glad you enjoy visiting us

Kind Regards

The Regent Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    27
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Like going back in time!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Its a very quaint art deco theatre that serves lovely tea. Sat and sipped tea whilst adiring local artists work for sale. Very friendly staff who couldnt do enough to help whilst i enquired about directions around the town. Will definately visit again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank heidi b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bournemouth Brass Band”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Had a most enjoyable evening listening to the Band playing Hollywood & Broadway they are very good but not enough people there i thought.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pearl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“a gem of a theatre/cinema”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

a real gem of a place with a varied programme. the regent is a beautiful place run by loyal volounteers and offers a great variety of arts to the community.it is a lovely warm old building packed with atmosphere

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank miec h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highcliffe
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A bit dated but good value”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I have been to the Regent Centre many times. It is run mainly by volunteers and subsequently the cost of admission is very reasonable.
The auditorium is a bit dated, and the I suspect that the Cinema sound and projector are also a bit dated. This has never deterred my wife and I from going however, because the seats are comfortable, and the viewing is good.
Basically we enjoy going there.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barrysview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Regent Centre also viewed

 

Been to The Regent Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing