We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
huddersfield
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and we were really pleased. We wanted a base to stay as we were exploring different parts like Cornwall etc each day. The hotel in central by a roundabout and i first thought that it would be too noisy, too differcult to get onto the road etc. How wrong were we. Yes it is by the very busy roundabout and across from sainsburys BUT they didnt affect us at all. the car park is at the back of the hotel. We checked in without any problems. Our room was on ground floor and next to a door but we didnt hear a thing! The room was very clean, smartly done and my husband was happy as he could see the car through our window- typical bloke!! Every day after we came back from our adventures our room was cleaned and restocked again! There was a smaller flat screen tv but who cares!!
We had booked for premier cooked breakfast every morning and our first morning we woke up to find a letter through our door way. There had been an electrical fault in the kitchen so they were unable to do breakfast. We could still have a continental breakfast or if we wanted cooked then to go to the reception and they will book us into another restaurant. Hubby was a bit grumpy but we were like- well weve paid so lets go! The helpful staff gave us the sat nav post code for the restaurant and we went- it was the next premier inn hotel and my gosh the food and staff were amazing!! so much so we went and ate there one night! its called Bailey bridge pub on the road to bournemouth- do try it!
We ate at the beefeater one night which is attached to our hotel and the staff were fab, food a bit pricey but my god lovely food and wine! The next day we had our breakfast as normal and again it was fab- so much choice cereals, pastries, crumpets, fruit etc. juices, teas and coffees. then the staff will ask you want you want for your cooked breakfast- they do it to your liking and if you want anymore (they do come and ask you) then you can.
All in all we were extremely happy with the hotel, the staff, our room and the pub next door.
Do try it!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare_Jakko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    285
    111
    49
    19
See reviews for
303
372
34
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Forest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

The hotel itself:
The Room (Upside) - A good size, clean, sparsely furnished, comfortable bed and pillows relaxing decor.
(Downside)- Unclear fire instructions on back of door. (Leave by nearest exit!!!. Imagine a smoke filled corridor, emergency lights obscured etc. Simple floor plan with route marked would help negate the vague instructions)
Bathroom (Upside)- Adequate size, grab handles on bath, everything there you need.
(Downside)- High sided bath for stepping into. Grab handles on bath sides, but not a higher level one for the shower. VERY sharp corner of the toilet cistern cabinet intrudes into the shower end of the bath. Lethal if you fell. No non slip mat for the shower. None slip surface in the bath is useless. 4 stars out of 5

The Somerford (Beef Eater attached to the hotel)
Decor and Atmosphere-----. An aquired taste. Mainly dark brown or green decor with striped carpets and squared cloth coverings on most of the chairs. Lighting was subdued, TV's and fruit machines in the bars (don't you just love em?) 3 stars out of 5
The restaurant. Similar decor to the bar.
Food and service over three days------ First breakfast was a disaster. Virtually an empty restaurant. Food took 20 minutes to arrive from placing order. Cool food, cold plate, bacon that was leather. From other tables, one person walked out, two others sent their food back. That was the last time we had breakfast there.
First evening meal ----- Mothers Day. took over an hour to get into the restaurant. Waitress got my wifes order wrong. Quality was OK, but evening spoilt.
Second and third evening meal.------- A total transformation. Rapid service, excellent food, almost befitting of an establishment many more times as expensive. Overall 4stars out of 5 (could have been 5stars)
Saved till the last, but by no means. ALL THE STAFF. ------- Friendly, courteous, chatty (but not intrusive) polite and extremely helpful. I could add more, but I think you get my point. Well done everyone. You saved the day. 5 stars PLUS

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigglesMGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

We have stayed at this particular Premier Inn on several occasions and have always found the experience to be good. The staff are always very pleasant and professional. The rooms are exactly what you would expect from a Premier Inn i.e. clean, comfortable and reasonably well equipped. The breakfast was as good and plentiful as usual - good value for money. Thank you for another good stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

We arrived after booking for 24 people both at the hotel and the Beefeater restaurant next door. How friendly and helpful the staff were. Nothing was too much trouble and they gave us a separate area in the restaurant. You don't even have to walk outside when going from the hotel to the restaurant as there is a door from reception. Rooms were nice and clean and well presented. Ideal location for both the seaside and quay as well as the New Forest..

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yeovil
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

We found the car parking plentifull -The continental breakfast exceptional value
The staff were friendly and helpfull we had an issue concerning the weight of the duvet
With the receptionists help we were pleased to use duvet covers instead!
We were very pleased with our stay and would hope to return in the near future

Room Tip: Rooms facing car park Quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodtripYeovil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
162 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

On the plus side - lots of car parking; an excellent welcome and quick check-in; a spacious, well maintained clean room which had a comfortable bed with tea/coffee, hairdryer etc and 30 minutes of free Wi-fi. There was also a reasonable amount of storage for clothes. We had a good night's sleep - Premier guarantee this or your money back. In the en-suite - a bath and a shower -there are wall mounted dispensers for soap, shampoo and bath/shower gel. Don't expect shower caps, tissues etc - thank goodness toilet rolls are provided! No mould in the ensuite - very well done housekeeping! On the down side the room never got really cosy as the small electric radiator was not up to the job even with the room thermostat set at its highest. There was no room safe. The fire doors in the corridors are not held open electronically which makes it more difficult when moving about with luggage. There is a Beefeater restaurant located right next door to the Inn which serves meals throughout the day and has a bar. There is also a Sainsburys supermarket just 2 minutes away by car which serves a substantial freshly cooked full English breakfast for £3.99.
Overall, a comfortable stay as we would expect from Premier.

Room Tip: For those with any form of mobility problem choose the ground floor as we couldn't locate a lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walkhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

The Premier Inn, Christchurch East, provided us with a comfortable and convenient nights sleep whilst visiting Bournemouth for an Exhibition and a family visit. The promise of a good nights sleep was kept and much appreciated. I am a person who doesn't like being out of my comfort zone but it was more than adequate for a very enjoyable weekend. The restaurant is not gourmet but more than adequate for 'something to eat' although my husband assures me that the 'full english breakfast' was very well presented and delicious. I had the lighter option. All round good value.

Room Tip: Room 79 seemed very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greymelkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch West Hotel
1.0 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
1.9 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel
Address: Somerford Road | Bournemouth, Christchurch BH23 3QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Handy for Highcliffe Castle, Christchurch Harbour and the natural wonders of the New Forest, Only 8 miles from Bournemouth airport. Local attractions include the famous Priory church, Highcliffe Castle, the New Forest and beaches. Conveniently located for Christchurch train station, local shops and amenities and Christchurch town centre. Our Christchurch (East) hotel has everything you'd expect, Including our new, modern rooms with comfy Hypnos beds and our Orange Cow Beefeater restaurant next door serving freshly cooked meals ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Christchurch East Hotel Christchurch
Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing