We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent dog-friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent dog-friendly hotel”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The food and service was excellent. Dogs were not only allowed, but welcomed. This does not in any way detract from the cleanliness of the bar area, which was superb. Thank you and your charming staff for making this a very delightful experience

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    127
    46
    20
    6
See reviews for
71
181
3
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I stayed at this Hotel after attending a family wedding
The room was quite nice but I felt a little over priced at £100 just for me, this hotel does not do single rooms and gives no discount for single occupancy not even the price of the breakfast which when you think about it is not really very user friendly. I must say the breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: not upstairs if you are not good with steep stairs which they are in the coachouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c_ryan930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Booked a Luxury Double room for a special occasion. When we arrived at hotel the entrance sign led us all the way round the front of the building, when we got inside we realised there was a much easier way in especially when carrying heavy bags. The entrance lobby is shabby and uninviting. We got a short but polite welcome and taken to a door to find our own way to our room. The door to the stairs was so dirty it hasnt been cleaned in weeks/months. Oh well it wasnt going to spoil our stay. On entry to our room we were a little disappointed how dated it was being as we had paid £100+ for a luxury room. We were taken back how hot the room was so rushed to open the windows that barely opened and was shockingly dirty with dead flies and dusty spiderwebs traped between the secondary glazing. There was lots of little things that could have had a good scrub. The bathroom was modern and seemed clean but the grouting in the shower was orange!!! In places.
With the fan on full pelt we settled down for a hot night with no covers as the only cover was a winter duvet. Didnt sleep well at all. The bed was comfy and clean but the rock hard pillows gave us neck ache. There was plenty of hot water and clean towels. Plug sockets everywhere you needed one.
Breakfast well, the 'conservatory' is filthy. Dead spiders and flies in cobwebs everywhere. Right next to where we were eating. The breakfast wasnt the best but the toast was good and hot. I hate to be rude but the waiter needs to look in the mirror and work out whats wrong.
Overall the place is dirty and tired. The evening meal was nice but the menu is limited and pub grub only.
I would go there again if they invested in a bottle of Cif and a duster.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jextance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We have just returned from our second visit this time with our your dog and it was even better thatn the first. Great rooms plenty of space and character very comfortable bed excellent toiltetries.

The breakfast is so big and good you wont want to eat for the rest of day unless you are tempted by the restuarant which is full of local produce

Never again will i stay at the local premier this is cheaper and a 100 times better.

Room Tip: Both room we have had have been 1st class
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cjllttf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Just come back from a Saturday night stay here.

Pro's
- good location. Although on a road, at night it's dead quiet and the rooms are all set back off the road, behind the main pub.
- great breakfast. I defy anyone to go away hungry!! choice of fresh fruit, pastry and cereal, then a full english with toast on the side which was enormous and very tasty. Was glad i only had a half grapefruit beforehand
- staff - great service, very friendly and helpful
- good sized double room (room 9). Lots of nice touches such as a choc bar on arrival, good tea/coffee facilities and choices. Lots of things to use in the bathroom and nice extra touches such as a manicure kit, sewing kit etc. Great storage if you're there more than a few days.
- Distance to attractions. Very good with regards to getting into Christchurch and surrounding areas.

Cons
- soft mattress - i like a harder mattress and felt a little bit light my feet were higher than my head!
- the bathroom could have done with a bit more of a clean in areas but wasn't awful.
- not the hotels fault but whoever stayed in room 5 below us, snored sooooo loudly all night i could hear it through my own earplugs and my poor hubby didn't get much sleep as a result!! Trust me - it was LOUD!!

All in, i would stay again and i would recommend it as a base for a weekend in the new forest or surrounding areas.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ammanford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

This little gem really is worth a visit, the staff were all very friendly & nothing was too much trouble - Daniel & Eva especially were the epitome of how staff should be !

Our room ( 10 ) was spotlessly clean & the little touches like bars of chocolate & bottled water replenished daily made us feel valued.

The food is of a very high quality with plenty of choice at reasonable prices & the Honeydew lager was awesome !

We would not hesitate to return & thoroughly recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10 which was very nice with a dual aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012 via mobile

Eat here with my family which includes 10 and 12 year olds. The food was okay - but not great.

There was almost no choice for children except for a limited choice on small versions from the main menu - but at £6.75 each was not value for money.

The menu was supplemented by a reasonable choice of specials from which we chose two - while reasonable presentation the portion size was very small with poor quality vegetables.

The deserts were much better but again overpriced.

Having said all this the service was excellent and the young waitress was very attentive and friendly.

Would I go back? Possibly - but probably only if other restaurants in the area were full.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BlueFrog65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.8 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
2.4 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel
2.3 mi away
Tyrrells Ford Country Inn & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fisherman's Haunt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisherman's Haunt Hotel

Property: Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Address: Salisbury Road | Winkton, Christchurch BH23 7AS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fisherman's Haunt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Fisherman's Haunt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing