We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No river in sight!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We booked this pub/hotel specifically as it said "The Fisherman's Haunt is a delightful country pub right on the River Avon" there is no view of the river - not even from the sign posted "river view garden" ! There is however a very busy main road...
The Fullers website has used a lot of creative license!
When we arrived we asked "wheres the river then?" the member of staff ( who has obviously been asked this many times) replied "Oh you have to go down the road and cross over, double back and down through the trees, did you bring wellies?"
Its not that we are river obsessed, its just the description on the website is so wrong, ( next time I shall check on Google street view) instead of an evening drink looking over the Avon, it was a busy main road.

However its not all negative! The room was very nice, well decorated,well furnished and clean, extras such as good toiletries, bottled water and a bar of chocolate were appreciated.

The evening meal in the pub was fine - normal standard for Fullers, the breakfast was very good value but was served painfully slowly, only one member of staff, to take orders and serve.

On the whole is was a pleasant enough stay, but dont expect a river view!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aisyodalming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2012

A great dog friendly hotel, staff very friendly & helpful, room was large & clean, choclate bar on pillow:-) evening meal was lovely, breakfast was great, even our dog got a couple of sausages for his breakfast!!! would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rainee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The food and service was excellent. Dogs were not only allowed, but welcomed. This does not in any way detract from the cleanliness of the bar area, which was superb. Thank you and your charming staff for making this a very delightful experience

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I stayed at this Hotel after attending a family wedding
The room was quite nice but I felt a little over priced at £100 just for me, this hotel does not do single rooms and gives no discount for single occupancy not even the price of the breakfast which when you think about it is not really very user friendly. I must say the breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: not upstairs if you are not good with steep stairs which they are in the coachouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c_ryan930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Booked a Luxury Double room for a special occasion. When we arrived at hotel the entrance sign led us all the way round the front of the building, when we got inside we realised there was a much easier way in especially when carrying heavy bags. The entrance lobby is shabby and uninviting. We got a short but polite welcome and taken to a door to find our own way to our room. The door to the stairs was so dirty it hasnt been cleaned in weeks/months. Oh well it wasnt going to spoil our stay. On entry to our room we were a little disappointed how dated it was being as we had paid £100+ for a luxury room. We were taken back how hot the room was so rushed to open the windows that barely opened and was shockingly dirty with dead flies and dusty spiderwebs traped between the secondary glazing. There was lots of little things that could have had a good scrub. The bathroom was modern and seemed clean but the grouting in the shower was orange!!! In places.
With the fan on full pelt we settled down for a hot night with no covers as the only cover was a winter duvet. Didnt sleep well at all. The bed was comfy and clean but the rock hard pillows gave us neck ache. There was plenty of hot water and clean towels. Plug sockets everywhere you needed one.
Breakfast well, the 'conservatory' is filthy. Dead spiders and flies in cobwebs everywhere. Right next to where we were eating. The breakfast wasnt the best but the toast was good and hot. I hate to be rude but the waiter needs to look in the mirror and work out whats wrong.
Overall the place is dirty and tired. The evening meal was nice but the menu is limited and pub grub only.
I would go there again if they invested in a bottle of Cif and a duster.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jextance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We have just returned from our second visit this time with our your dog and it was even better thatn the first. Great rooms plenty of space and character very comfortable bed excellent toiltetries.

The breakfast is so big and good you wont want to eat for the rest of day unless you are tempted by the restuarant which is full of local produce

Never again will i stay at the local premier this is cheaper and a 100 times better.

Room Tip: Both room we have had have been 1st class
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cjllttf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Just come back from a Saturday night stay here.

Pro's
- good location. Although on a road, at night it's dead quiet and the rooms are all set back off the road, behind the main pub.
- great breakfast. I defy anyone to go away hungry!! choice of fresh fruit, pastry and cereal, then a full english with toast on the side which was enormous and very tasty. Was glad i only had a half grapefruit beforehand
- staff - great service, very friendly and helpful
- good sized double room (room 9). Lots of nice touches such as a choc bar on arrival, good tea/coffee facilities and choices. Lots of things to use in the bathroom and nice extra touches such as a manicure kit, sewing kit etc. Great storage if you're there more than a few days.
- Distance to attractions. Very good with regards to getting into Christchurch and surrounding areas.

Cons
- soft mattress - i like a harder mattress and felt a little bit light my feet were higher than my head!
- the bathroom could have done with a bit more of a clean in areas but wasn't awful.
- not the hotels fault but whoever stayed in room 5 below us, snored sooooo loudly all night i could hear it through my own earplugs and my poor hubby didn't get much sleep as a result!! Trust me - it was LOUD!!

All in, i would stay again and i would recommend it as a base for a weekend in the new forest or surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouiseMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
2.1 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#1 of 11 in Christchurch
800 reviews
2.8 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#5 of 11 in Christchurch
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Travelodge Christchurch
Travelodge Christchurch
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
413 reviews
3.4 mi away
Eastclose Country House Hotel
8.3 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fisherman's Haunt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisherman's Haunt Hotel

Address: Salisbury Road | Winkton, Christchurch BH23 7AS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £62 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fisherman's Haunt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Fisherman's Haunt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing