We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clearly popular with the locals”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Clearly popular with the locals”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed 1 night whilst in business. The pub was well patronised by the locals which is usually a good sigh. The rooms (across the car park in a seperate building) were basic but functional.
Dinner was good and the restaurant was busy. Breakfats was fine too.
Not bowled over but no gripes either

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeH81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    131
    46
    20
    8
See reviews for
74
186
4
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

As previous correspondents have said, you get what you pay for. It's a pub (with good beer) with rooms. Not too much noise from the bar. Food and Room are OK.
"Terrible" reviews for swimming pool and fitness centre are because TripAdvisor won't let me post without reviewing them (even though the Fisherman's Haunt doesn't have either!)

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the main road if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed one night. Lovely clean and comfortable room with a good en suite, good food and a nice cosy pub. There was plenty of parking and we found it ideal for the new forest and the beaches. Would thoroughly recommend and would definitely go back and stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pegpook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The staff were very welcoming and the room was decent . The restaurant was poor. Service was slow and the starter was very average , Main course was well very average . It was best described as very mediocre pub food. Breakfast was however pretty good.

Room Tip: Stop bed and breakfast and eat dinner somewhere else....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed here 1 night after local wedding. Think a pub with rooms rather than hotel if you are looking for accommodation. Room nice and clean, no towels in bathroom, when this mentioned on checking out no discount offered :(

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 222henry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We were attending a wedding nearby last weekend and had left Penzance very early so that we could get to the wedding which was at 2.30 pm in good time. I rang the hotel in advance to see whether we could get into the room early in order to change. They kindly put us at the top of the cleaning rota and the room was ready when we arrived just before midday. We were struck by the charming welcome and the cleanliness of the room. It was in the stable block and I agree with the previous reviewer that the decor was a bit dated but it was soooo comfortable that it didn't really matter ! Breakfast was delicious, just right, plenty of options. We would definitely go back

Room Tip: rooms in the stable block were lovely and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We found the pub very friendly with excellent service. We stayed one night for a wedding earby so did not eat an evening meail here. Breakfast was good with a simple cold buffet supplemented by a cooked to order hot meal. The Full English was well cooked and deliious. Our room in the stable block was comfortable and well tocked with tea coffee and tolietries. It was a little tired however and I think with a refurbishment this place could be a real knockout.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
2.8 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
718 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Christchurch
Travelodge Christchurch
#7 of 11 in Christchurch
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
694 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
378 reviews
8.3 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fisherman's Haunt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisherman's Haunt Hotel

Property: Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Address: Salisbury Road | Winkton, Christchurch BH23 7AS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fisherman's Haunt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fisherman's Haunt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing