We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great HOTEL stay really close to Christchurch Harbour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed at the Fishermans haunt on the May 5th bank holiday weekend for one night , check in was extremely efficient, and friendly with the attending staff offering and carrying my wifes bag. The fishermans Haunt, is a large old style pub with large nice gardens, and loads of dining space, and is very traditional in terms of style , with lots of wood and brass, and traditional style furniture. The rooms are in an annexe which is separate from the main building, and are very clean , tidy, and the beds are very comfortable. The bathroom was super clean with a good shower, and decent soaps and bath salts etc . The rooms are not super stylish , and could probably do with an update , but do have decent TV,s and furniture and are in good condition. The staff were very friendly from the cleaner, to the bar staff and waitresses, our breakfast was really nice , really well cooked and very tasty. Check out was brisk and efficient too. Its five minutes and 8.00 pounds via taxi to Christchurch Harbour, and the surrounding area is beautiful . The stay was 90 pounds for the night including breakfast and they have free WiFi too. I would recommend this place for weekends and short breaks.

Room Tip: We were in room 10 which when we checked out we could see that the other rooms were larger or at lea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jonnyboy012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stopped for a couple of nights whilst visiting friends in Christchurch. Very friendly lady on desk who took us to our room in the Coach House which was clean and had plenty of tea, coffee, fresh milk, biscuits and another nice touch was the bottled water each side of the bed and 2 chocolate bars. Nice selection of toiletries and large soft fluffy towels which were on the bed in a swan shape. Plenty of parking close to room. Comfy bed and nice and quiet a real gem of a place great value and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We celebrated a 60th birthday at the Haunt and were very pleased with the excellent
service, standard of the food and the whole atmosphere of the restaurant.
The waiter was attentive but not intrusive and even though there were eight of us we
did not have to wait very long between courses. Having eaten in other hotel
restaurants in the area, the Fisherman`s Haunt is by far the best and that is where
we are heading the next time we have a meal out.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doneteaching2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We recently stayed here with our dog.

The room we had was a family room. it was a perfect size and with the allowance for the dog, even better.

the staff are polite and helpful

the bed is comfortable and the rooms well cleaned

the bathroom condiments fit perfectly with the theme and charm of the place.

thought we didn't eat dinner here on this occasion, we did have a family party here last year and it was great

we enjoyed it and it was good value for money

Room Tip: we were restricted with room based on having the dog
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ekim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Bedroom 2 was large and very comfortable as was the shower room. Parking was close to the room. There was a good selection of fish on the menu and the open Lymington crab sandwich was a delight. One small thing, the plates were cold which meant the food cooled very quickly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan661268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My husband and I stayed for 1 night at the Fishermans Haunt . We have never stayed at a Pub with rooms , normally favouring larger , faceless hotels with spa facilities , but this trip was shorter notice and still a treat away without the children for my birthday . Using the very good Trip Advisor reviews and the very favourable photos on their website , we did choose the Fishermans Haunt . Friendly welcome from behind the bar and we were shown to our room in the old coaching house just across the car park form the main pub . The outside was a bit shabby with some peeling paintwork , but the inside was absolutely lovely - A very large double room with plenty of "floor " space around the lager iron double bed , free standing wooden mirror , two comfy arm chairs and lovely fixtures and wall paper style . Big ensuite with large powerful shower . All extremely clean , modern and very high standard of finishing . The bed was so so comfy too . We ate that evening in the busy restaurant of the pub and had a lovely choice of locally caught fish on the specials board and extensive main menu - expensive wine by the glass , but excellent quality food . Breakfast also at a very high standard . I would highly recommend a stay here as the room was really excellent .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgia0192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

A group of us booked into this hotel for a couple of nights stay. I was the only one in a room in the main building, the others were in a separate coach house. My room was very interestingly decorated. The bed huge, but very comfortable and all the linen was good quality. Plenty of supplies if a cup of tea or coffee was needed. The staff were excellent, being attentive when needed but not obtrusive. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would be very happy to return to explore the area more.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
2.1 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#1 of 11 in Christchurch
800 reviews
2.8 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#5 of 11 in Christchurch
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Travelodge Christchurch
Travelodge Christchurch
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
412 reviews
3.4 mi away
Eastclose Country House Hotel
8.3 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fisherman's Haunt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisherman's Haunt Hotel

Address: Salisbury Road | Winkton, Christchurch BH23 7AS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £61 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fisherman's Haunt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Fisherman's Haunt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing