We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short, and Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Short, and Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We received a warm welcome from very friendly and helpful staff who ensured we were happy with our room which we were taken to by a member of staff, very nice touch. We had a light lunch prior to attending a wedding ceremony close by which was excellent, tasty, and well presented. A great nights sleep was had and noise free. The breakfast was plentiful, with all the usual trimmings, well cooked and piping hot and most enjoyable. It had the typical old pub style atmosphere with a restaurant to boot which gave the ambiance required. Would I use the place again, Yes!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kipper50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    127
    46
    20
    6
See reviews for
71
181
3
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We wanted somewhere close to the coast for the weekend and this was great. Parts of the building are a little tired but the restaurant was very nice and our room was great. We had an executive room in the main building which was very smart and had everything you needed, plus a few nice extras which we weren't expecting like bottled water and chocolate. All the staff were extremely helpful and made us very welcome. Food was excellent with a wide choice and good quality local ingredients. Would definitely consider staying there again but would ask for a room away from the road..

Room Tip: Room 15 was very nice but right next to the road. Would ask for a room in the Lodge next time as thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We were here for one night over the bank holiday weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this welcoming Inn.

The staff were lovely - friendly and helpful - and check in/check out was pain free and efficient.

The Fisherman's Haunt is not super modern or decorated to within an inch of perfection, but we liked that. Yes, a dab of paint here and there wouldn't go amiss but on the whole the Fisherman's Haunt is looked after. In addition, it's location is ideal for exploring the area and parking was plentiful and free of charge. We stayed for dinner and dining space was ample and the food delicious with decent sized portions. This public house/hotel also offers a good selection of beers and wine.

We stayed in a double room located in The Coachhouse. The room was large, clean and very comfortable. A good TV and full sized professional style hairdryer were provided as were coffee and tea making facilities - including the option of ground coffee and Twinning's tea plus a selection of biscuits (and a full sized bar of chocolate positioned on top of very lovely 'sculptured' towel swan).

The bathroom was large with both a bath and over-the-bath shower. On the subject of the shower - fantastic, loved it! The towels were very soft and unlike so many hotels these days, the Fisherman's Haunt provide full sized bath sheets - perfect for wrapping yourself up in when you step out of the bath/shower. There was also a good selection of toiletries including a separate hair conditioner (worked well on my medium length curls and waves), a moisturiser, manicure set, bath salts and pleasant to use soap.

We will definitely be coming back here for a second stay and would have no hesitation in recommending the Fisherman's Haunt to others.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TeapotMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed at the Fishermans haunt on the May 5th bank holiday weekend for one night , check in was extremely efficient, and friendly with the attending staff offering and carrying my wifes bag. The fishermans Haunt, is a large old style pub with large nice gardens, and loads of dining space, and is very traditional in terms of style , with lots of wood and brass, and traditional style furniture. The rooms are in an annexe which is separate from the main building, and are very clean , tidy, and the beds are very comfortable. The bathroom was super clean with a good shower, and decent soaps and bath salts etc . The rooms are not super stylish , and could probably do with an update , but do have decent TV,s and furniture and are in good condition. The staff were very friendly from the cleaner, to the bar staff and waitresses, our breakfast was really nice , really well cooked and very tasty. Check out was brisk and efficient too. Its five minutes and 8.00 pounds via taxi to Christchurch Harbour, and the surrounding area is beautiful . The stay was 90 pounds for the night including breakfast and they have free WiFi too. I would recommend this place for weekends and short breaks.

Room Tip: We were in room 10 which when we checked out we could see that the other rooms were larger or at lea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jonnyboy012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stopped for a couple of nights whilst visiting friends in Christchurch. Very friendly lady on desk who took us to our room in the Coach House which was clean and had plenty of tea, coffee, fresh milk, biscuits and another nice touch was the bottled water each side of the bed and 2 chocolate bars. Nice selection of toiletries and large soft fluffy towels which were on the bed in a swan shape. Plenty of parking close to room. Comfy bed and nice and quiet a real gem of a place great value and will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We celebrated a 60th birthday at the Haunt and were very pleased with the excellent
service, standard of the food and the whole atmosphere of the restaurant.
The waiter was attentive but not intrusive and even though there were eight of us we
did not have to wait very long between courses. Having eaten in other hotel
restaurants in the area, the Fisherman`s Haunt is by far the best and that is where
we are heading the next time we have a meal out.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doneteaching2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We recently stayed here with our dog.

The room we had was a family room. it was a perfect size and with the allowance for the dog, even better.

the staff are polite and helpful

the bed is comfortable and the rooms well cleaned

the bathroom condiments fit perfectly with the theme and charm of the place.

thought we didn't eat dinner here on this occasion, we did have a family party here last year and it was great

we enjoyed it and it was good value for money

Room Tip: we were restricted with room based on having the dog
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ekim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.8 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#5 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
2.4 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel
2.3 mi away
Tyrrells Ford Country Inn & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fisherman's Haunt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisherman's Haunt Hotel

Property: Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Address: Salisbury Road | Winkton, Christchurch BH23 7AS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fisherman's Haunt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Fisherman's Haunt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing