We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lazy Sunday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fisherman's Haunt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lazy Sunday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here on a "lazy Sunday" deal. If you want an unpretentious, normal hotel with friendly, attentive and happy staff. This is the place for you. Plenty of tea and coffee in the room and mugs, not silly little cups.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    115
    44
    20
    6
See reviews for
64
163
2
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stopped off for a meal having been seduced by the thought of fresh fish. All the staff we met were cheerful and eager to please, even at the end of what must have been a very busy bank holiday Sunday. Unfortunately the meal was not in the same league as the service, being bland and in dire need of seasoning, I know there was salt and pepper on the table, but we do expect chefs to add the basics at source!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 214biscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournmouth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

we had a lovely meal both times visiting this pub ... the service was very good and the food was very good value for money... we will be returning and have recommended to others ..... as my grandson is only 8 he had the childrens menu and there was always something for him ....

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juliemack124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We received a warm welcome from very friendly and helpful staff who ensured we were happy with our room which we were taken to by a member of staff, very nice touch. We had a light lunch prior to attending a wedding ceremony close by which was excellent, tasty, and well presented. A great nights sleep was had and noise free. The breakfast was plentiful, with all the usual trimmings, well cooked and piping hot and most enjoyable. It had the typical old pub style atmosphere with a restaurant to boot which gave the ambiance required. Would I use the place again, Yes!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kipper50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We wanted somewhere close to the coast for the weekend and this was great. Parts of the building are a little tired but the restaurant was very nice and our room was great. We had an executive room in the main building which was very smart and had everything you needed, plus a few nice extras which we weren't expecting like bottled water and chocolate. All the staff were extremely helpful and made us very welcome. Food was excellent with a wide choice and good quality local ingredients. Would definitely consider staying there again but would ask for a room away from the road..

Room Tip: Room 15 was very nice but right next to the road. Would ask for a room in the Lodge next time as thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We were here for one night over the bank holiday weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this welcoming Inn.

The staff were lovely - friendly and helpful - and check in/check out was pain free and efficient.

The Fisherman's Haunt is not super modern or decorated to within an inch of perfection, but we liked that. Yes, a dab of paint here and there wouldn't go amiss but on the whole the Fisherman's Haunt is looked after. In addition, it's location is ideal for exploring the area and parking was plentiful and free of charge. We stayed for dinner and dining space was ample and the food delicious with decent sized portions. This public house/hotel also offers a good selection of beers and wine.

We stayed in a double room located in The Coachhouse. The room was large, clean and very comfortable. A good TV and full sized professional style hairdryer were provided as were coffee and tea making facilities - including the option of ground coffee and Twinning's tea plus a selection of biscuits (and a full sized bar of chocolate positioned on top of very lovely 'sculptured' towel swan).

The bathroom was large with both a bath and over-the-bath shower. On the subject of the shower - fantastic, loved it! The towels were very soft and unlike so many hotels these days, the Fisherman's Haunt provide full sized bath sheets - perfect for wrapping yourself up in when you step out of the bath/shower. There was also a good selection of toiletries including a separate hair conditioner (worked well on my medium length curls and waves), a moisturiser, manicure set, bath salts and pleasant to use soap.

We will definitely be coming back here for a second stay and would have no hesitation in recommending the Fisherman's Haunt to others.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TeapotMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed at the Fishermans haunt on the May 5th bank holiday weekend for one night , check in was extremely efficient, and friendly with the attending staff offering and carrying my wifes bag. The fishermans Haunt, is a large old style pub with large nice gardens, and loads of dining space, and is very traditional in terms of style , with lots of wood and brass, and traditional style furniture. The rooms are in an annexe which is separate from the main building, and are very clean , tidy, and the beds are very comfortable. The bathroom was super clean with a good shower, and decent soaps and bath salts etc . The rooms are not super stylish , and could probably do with an update , but do have decent TV,s and furniture and are in good condition. The staff were very friendly from the cleaner, to the bar staff and waitresses, our breakfast was really nice , really well cooked and very tasty. Check out was brisk and efficient too. Its five minutes and 8.00 pounds via taxi to Christchurch Harbour, and the surrounding area is beautiful . The stay was 90 pounds for the night including breakfast and they have free WiFi too. I would recommend this place for weekends and short breaks.

Room Tip: We were in room 10 which when we checked out we could see that the other rooms were larger or at lea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jonnyboy012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.8 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
2.4 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
2.3 mi away
Tyrrells Ford Country Inn & Hotel
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fisherman's Haunt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisherman's Haunt Hotel

Property: Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Address: Salisbury Road | Winkton, Christchurch BH23 7AS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fisherman's Haunt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Fisherman's Haunt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing