We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to centre, lovely setting, friendly, best place in town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Captain's Club Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Close to centre, lovely setting, friendly, best place in town”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

It's on one of the rivers 5 mins walk to the centre of town. So very central. Very friendly.

Rooms minimalist. Was a wedding and our room was over the function room so was noisy until 11 pm so watch that. Air con in room good.

Bar is good great cocktail menu (although not strong enough and take too long to make!)

Good number of staff but demes get busy.

This looks like the best hotel in town.

Recommended.

Lots of parking out the back.

Ps Christchurch is GREAT.

Room Tip: Go for lower number rooms. 18 up the far, not as good, end. Ask for first floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiswickTurnhamGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    133
    44
    30
    18
See reviews for
146
321
7
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We have stayed here several times and the service is superb. All the rooms overlook the river and there's no better place to sip a drink, in your room or on the hotel terrace and watch the boats meandering, the swans gliding and the dogs playing in the shallows. The suites add that special touch with the addition of a fully stocked kitchen and a comfortable lounge. The food is exceptional. I find there is more choice midweek, when there are both "table d'hote" and "a la carte" menus available. This hotel should be held up as a model of perfect service. Every single employee goes out of their way to make your stay special. I last stayed with my 89 year old mother and she was treated like royalty. It's not just polite efficiency or keenness to please here from the staff; It is a sleek and sophisticated operating policy, with service that genuinely comes from the heart. If I could afford it, I'd be there every weekend

Room Tip: Take a suite if you can, it is home from home, with everything you need, like a microwave, dishwashe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012 via mobile

I have stayed here a few times on business. There is no where else in the Bournemouth area that i would stay for the money. It offers typical 4 star service, comfy bed, clean and well appointed rooms. Excellent food and very friendly staff. My experiences of the Captains club have been reassuringly consistent. If I would change anything or make a suggestion for the hotel to address, just two things...when it rains the strange metal sun shade running the length of the building on each floor is very noisy. Bathroom drains are very slow to drain.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ogmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2012 via mobile

Good afternoon.

I would like to pass on my sincere gratitude for my amazing 2 night stay last week.

I have to say I have stayed at some of the most luxurious hotels across the world so my expectations are extremely high but your hotel and spa has exceeded in all areas.

Staff = 10/10
Room = 10/10
Spa = 10/10
Restaurant = 7/10 (really lovely restaurant but unfortunately the wait for dinner and breakfast took over 45-60 mins)
The hotel complex = 10/10

I honesty have returned home and can not praise this hotel enough. 

You definitely made myself and my partner feel very welcome and I have no doubts that we will return again.

If you could pass this on to all staff I would really appreciate this as they are credits to your organisation. 

Regards
Martyn newbold 

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mnewbold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
82 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Strange building, stunning setting - Shame the hotel is so ugly and out of style with everything else. Cold and cheerless rooms, no atmosphere at all. Good food - dizzy service - the entrance is a bit like entering a gym. Had afternoon tea here one day with my aged Mother and friends, Scatty service and the waitress did her very best but was obviously unsure of what to do. Also enjoyed a family dinner here and the service in the evening was better and with the lights dimmed, it did give a little more atmosphere - which otherwise is sadly lacking.

Modern is good, and style is great - but not when it is cold and cheerless which this whole place is... absolutely no heart and soul and no magnetic pull drawing me back - just check out the pictures on Trip Advisor and see the rooms are bitty, nothing coordinated, just rooms with odds and ends put randomly in place. Great views but this building was obviously designed to be offices or apartments if a hotel did not work - and it shows - no balconies to the rooms which in this location, I would have thought was an important fixture of a new modern hotel by the river.

It's a busy venue - I just wish it had more atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slammer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My wife and I spent an excellent weekend in Christchurch, Dorset and stayed at the Captain's Club hote. The hotel is excellent, with a great riverside bar and restaurant overlooking. Not a cheap stay but a very good one and we'll go there again. Very nice room with a view over the river. Excellent spa.

Room Tip: All the rooms overlook the river, brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianKane_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We had a most delightful stay at the Captain's Club Hotel (our second) and we returned because we'd had such a lovely experience the first time.

Having been in the travel/hospitality business myself for many years I am possibly more critical than most but certainly could find no faults here. The accommodation was superb and of course the view's unbeatable. Every single member of staff was a pleasure to deal with and any request was responded to immediately with a smile. We very much appreciated the little touches such as the bath sheets - such an improvement on the postage stamp sized offering you often get in even the best hotels.

Food was excellent with a great choice for both adults and children. All in all I'd say a 5 star stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.6 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
707 reviews
4.5 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
361 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
326 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Club Hotel

Property: Captain's Club Hotel
Address: Wick Lane | Wick Ferry, Christchurch BH23 1HU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain's Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 4 star luxury hotel and spa in Christchurch, Dorset. Overlooking the river Stour and located in the historic town of Christchurch, Captain’s Club Hotel & Spa is a small independent luxury hotel with a nautical twist. The hotel features 12 two and three bedroom luxury suites, each with separate lounge/living areas, and a selection of hotel rooms. Captain’s Club Hotel & Spa is home to one of the best bars in Christchurch with award-winning mixologist and Bar Manager, Tommo, at its helm. They also have a 2 AA rosette restaurant, event facilities for up to 100, and a spa complete with hydrotherapy pool, sauna, and treatment rooms. All accommodation and event spaces face out onto the River Stour so no matter what you are travelling to Captain’s Club for, you are guaranteed a beautiful view. The alfresco dining terrace is open all summer and provides the perfect location to soak up the atmosphere of life on the river. This Christchurch hotel is family-friendly and rooms/suites are dog-friendly ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Captain's Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captains Hotel Christchurch
The Captains Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing