We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy captains club”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Captain's Club Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived i can honestly say that ive never been made to feel more welcome than we did at captains club.

I need to give special mention to martin the concierge who could not of been more helpful, he went out of his way to give us maps of the area and book a restraunt with a lift in the hotel car! To be fair all the staff we spoke to offered amazing service and the management should be proud of how their staff performed! We travelled a long way to come here and we shall do so again in a heartbeat! Thank you captains club!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUSANCLIVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (750)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

514 - 520 of 750 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

We just had a meal here and it was great - a wonderful atmosphere and the location is amazing.
We had a wonderful waiter who was very informative about the local history, places to go and see. Thank you to all of you for was the end of our break and we will be back to stay next time. It was a great end to our holiday and all our best wishes for a great season. Many thanks Mary & Joseph

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary_GableEnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The Captains Club is renound for being to more upperclass of places in the Christchurch area. My boyfriend and I stayed in a two bedroom Suite in November 2012. Firstly, the service was lovely and the concierge was mor ethan happy to help us with our luggage up to our Suite. The room was immaculate and we were greeted with a few treats in the kitchen which was lovely, the view was amazing with large windows to let a lot of day light in. We later had dinner and cocktails in the restaurant downstairs which was lovely, as it was my birthday the staff created a 'Happy Birthday' treat for my dessert which was wonderful. The following day we used the spa for two sets of massages and some time in the pool/sauna; all was lovely although I think I may opt for an alternate massage next time as the shoulders and back massage was a bit harsh on my small back! All in all, the stay was lovely although the price is extremely high for what you get and where you are.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pixieloulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We unfortunately found that we had booked into the Christchurch Harbour Hotel instead of The Captain's Table! How absolutely disappointed we were, and to make matters worse, the food was poor, expensive and not much of it, and room 311 was extremely noisy. However we were determined to get to the correct hotel the next day in order to at least have Sunday lunch there. On arrival at said hotel we were greeted by Torrie (sorry if we have spelt it wrong) who was in charge of booking people in for lunch. We told her our tale of woe and she immediately gave us a hug and said she would look after us. Which is exactly what she did - and she was so lovely that we just had to sing her praises in a review as she is a credit to the hotel. Thank you for taking care of us so well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
2  Thank Ruth260552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit in 2 years and we will return again. The staff are always so friendly. The rooms are very clean with wonderful view. Breakfast - a great choice with good portion sizes.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amethyst7167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We had a two bedroom apartment and were staying to attend a family wedding. We'd driven down from London and needed to change prior to attending the wedding ceremony. We had asked several times for the apartment to be ready so we could change, or at least be able to use one room of it. Unfortunately the reception staff seemed a bit bemused when we arrived and the apartment wasn't ready so we had to rush across town and dress for the wedding in another relative's hotel room.
The flat itself was great, a really good size with lovely views of the river and well appointed rooms. Housekeeping left food from the previous residents in the fridge though :-(. And we had breakfast from room service which was a bit hit and miss..., wrong drinks, juice tasted a bit odd, no pastries second morning, smoked salon didn't taste great...minor but irritating niggles given that this place is not the cheap option to stay at.
On the plus side, we took the hotel's boat, Nauti-Girl, out for a day's charter. What a lovely experience! The skipper was a lovely gentleman who made sure we had a fantastic day. For a nice treat, I would recommend this experience.
All in all, great location, lovely rooms, great day out on the boat, service hit and miss which needs addressing to justify the price.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SilverLadyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

A friend & I went to the captain's club for a refreshing drink on a hot summer's day, we could have dehydrated by the time it took for the drink to get to our table! after being seated we waited approximately 15 minutes before anyone approached our table to take our order, and during that time nobody even bothered to have the courtesy to apologize to us & to let us know someone would be with us shortly! eventually, our order was taken & we waited a further 20 minutes for the drinks to arrive (the place was not busy by the way). We decided to brave it & order some food, just a light snack.....oh dear, another long wait, this time it was approx. 45 minutes & I had to stop a waiter who was passing our table to enquire what was happening, once again nobody had come up to us & apologized for the long delay! This is completely unacceptable for the type of establishment we were in & it seems to be quite commonplace that the service (or lack of it) is something to be complained about, I really hope that a member of the hotel's management team will read this & other reviews on here as they seriously need to improve on their lack of service!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank lonnen477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.6 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
777 reviews
4.5 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#1 of 11 in Christchurch
409 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#8 of 11 in Christchurch
419 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Club Hotel

Address: Wick Lane | Wick Ferry, Christchurch BH23 1HU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £138 - £416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain's Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 4 star luxury hotel and spa in Christchurch, Dorset. Overlooking the river Stour and located in the historic town of Christchurch, Captain’s Club Hotel & Spa is a small independent luxury hotel with a nautical twist. The hotel features 12 two and three bedroom luxury suites, each with separate lounge/living areas, and a selection of hotel rooms. Captain’s Club Hotel & Spa is home to one of the best bars in Christchurch with award-winning mixologist and Bar Manager, Tommo, at its helm. They also have a 2 AA rosette restaurant, event facilities for up to 100, and a spa complete with hydrotherapy pool, sauna, and treatment rooms. All accommodation and event spaces face out onto the River Stour so no matter what you are travelling to Captain’s Club for, you are guaranteed a beautiful view. The alfresco dining terrace is open all summer and provides the perfect location to soak up the atmosphere of life on the river. This Christchurch hotel is family-friendly and rooms/suites are dog-friendly ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Captain's Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captains Hotel Christchurch
The Captains Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing