We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Captain's Club Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

My husband and I have just had a three night stay at the captains Club in Christchurch, from arrival to leaving it was wonderful, the staff were warm chatty and friendly, the room was gorgeous, the food was exceptional and the ambiance was warm and inviting. A wonderful way to celebrate a milestone birthday. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieSloothby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    147
    46
    32
    20
See reviews for
155
339
9
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cuckfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

We had a two night midweek break here to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary and were very pleased to find that it more than met our expectations. We had the junior suite - worth paying that bit extra for as it is a really spacious room made to feel even more light and airy with three lots of floor to ceiling windows. The whole hotel is bright, modern and stylish, and most importantly was spotlessly clean: always a promising sign. The hotel is justifiably proud of its waterfront location and it is easy to see how it would pull in the crowds in the summer. For us it was enough just to be able to open the curtains in the morning and lazily watch the river flowing by. It made breakfast in bed a temptation that we submitted to, and was a treat I'd recommend. We ate in the restaurant on both nights and again were glad that we did. The food was delicious: the soufflé was light and tangy and the lamb tender and tasty. The Caesar salad as a starter is also worthy of mention, and the sea bream was another excellent choice. (I was persuaded to have a side order: it didn't actually need any accompaniment as the quantity and flavour of the dish were enough to stand alone. What really struck us though, was how universally polite, friendly and attentive were the staff. Everyone we spoke to seemed keen to please though special mention should go to the maître d' - Andres - who took the time to really engage and chat with the restaurant customers. The fact that it was our anniversary was noted and remarked on from the moment we arrived, and the hand written notes from the manager together with chocolates and complimentary glasses of champagne was a very nice and generous touch. Would recommend this hotel without reservation and would be happy to return

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NeilGJ888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Have just returned from a girl's weekend enjoying the hotel and spa facilities offered by the Captains Club Hotel Christchurch. We were a party of 5 and stayed in one of the three bed suites overlooking the river. Our rooms were immaculately clean modern and with great facilities.We found the spa treatments of an extremely high standard and equal or better to those we have had at some of the top health farms. In particular Lauren is a really gifted therapist whose treatments and facials were very special..
The breakfast were excellent. We also had a lunch in the bar and ate in the restaurant for one of our evenings and wish we had booked for more because it was the best meal we had and far better than elsewhere. Really excellent fresh food with beautiful presentation We particularly enjoyed the cod and sea bass and the petit fours!.
What made the stay so good though was the fantastic service given by every member of staff The waiting staff were so friendly and helpful as were the front of house.The restaurant /bar manager made us feel extremely welcome-really going out of his way to make our evening special. This hotel is getting it very right at all levels.We will definitely return and warmly recommend it..

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueCambridge2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the captains over a weekend,we had a fabulous time at this exclusive hotel .We were upgraded to a suite at no extra charge. The room was enormous and was immaculately kept. Despite the weather we had a great time in christchurch there are plenty of places to go and things to do. But it was capped of by the hotel being awesome all the staff were excellent and I would definitely recommend.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank nicola p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Lovely venue for breakfast by the river with friends. I particularly recommend the salmon and scrambled eggs bagel - generous helping. The rest of the family had the full English breakfast - which also looked good. Great start to the day.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CathButcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelt
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We decided to have a couple of nights away after Christmas but left booking anything until Boxing Day (a little late I know). Unfortunately Captains Club only had the one night available so we booked this and stayed in another hotel the night before.
We’d previously visited the Captains Club for lunch and it was on our list of places to stay. I’m so glad we managed to get a room because our stay was just lovely. The staff at the hotel are just excellent and we felt very welcomed. We arrived just after 2pm and asked to be seated for a light lunch and mentioned we were staying for the night. The receptionist took no time in checking whether our room was ready and quickly came back to say it was ready and we could check in once we had finished our lunch.
We had been warned that our room was smaller than the other rooms so were expecting some poky double room. I have to say the room (116) was plenty big enough and bigger than some hotel rooms that I’d stayed in. The tea tray with water and complimentary homemade biscuits was a nice touch as so was the complimentary bathroom products, although I would expect this of such an establishment.
Our rate included dinner (£29 per person allowance) and I have to say the food is excellent. We have dined in many nice restaurants and this was on a par with many of the places we’d eaten in. My salmon with crayfish sauce was excellent. My only comment would be that many of the fish dishes contain pork products (ham, chorizo) which I’m sure the chef would cook without, but why can’t they be designed with non meat eaters in mind?
We have no hesitation in recommending Captains Club. It really is a lovely place to stay and we can’t wait to return and stay in one of their bigger rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bywell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Just returned from a wonderful few days with my family staying at The Captains Club. The rooms were perfect for our family (2 young boys ages 5 and 7). The staff were fantastic, everyone was extremely friendly, the atmosphere was great. Food in the restaurant and room service was delicious. Santa arrived in the night and very kindly brought our children and us lovely unexpected gifts - the children were so excited. There was nice live music in the lobby sometimes. Good dvds to borrow. Good massive TV with freeview. Lovely xmas evening buffet dinner.

All they need now is some kind of swimming pool for the kids and it would be the most perfect place ever with children.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollersB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.6 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
734 reviews
4.5 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
387 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
366 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Christchurch
Travelodge Christchurch
#7 of 11 in Christchurch
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Club Hotel

Property: Captain's Club Hotel
Address: Wick Lane | Wick Ferry, Christchurch BH23 1HU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain's Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 4 star luxury hotel and spa in Christchurch, Dorset. Overlooking the river Stour and located in the historic town of Christchurch, Captain’s Club Hotel & Spa is a small independent luxury hotel with a nautical twist. The hotel features 12 two and three bedroom luxury suites, each with separate lounge/living areas, and a selection of hotel rooms. Captain’s Club Hotel & Spa is home to one of the best bars in Christchurch with award-winning mixologist and Bar Manager, Tommo, at its helm. They also have a 2 AA rosette restaurant, event facilities for up to 100, and a spa complete with hydrotherapy pool, sauna, and treatment rooms. All accommodation and event spaces face out onto the River Stour so no matter what you are travelling to Captain’s Club for, you are guaranteed a beautiful view. The alfresco dining terrace is open all summer and provides the perfect location to soak up the atmosphere of life on the river. This Christchurch hotel is family-friendly and rooms/suites are dog-friendly ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Captain's Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captains Hotel Christchurch
The Captains Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing