We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Captain's Club Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Splendid!”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We recently celebrated my 70th here. It was amazing from arrival to departure. Our daughter upgraded us and we were shown to a 2 bedroom apartment with 5 rooms! The views were amazing as was the food, wine and cocktails. The staff were friendly and helpful - particularly Victoria and salvatore. We took the ferry and walked to hengitsbury head and the hotel is so central to explore the area. The whole experience was fantastic and we will definitely return....hopefully for my next birthday - husband willing!

Room Tip: All rooms are river facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandy053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    150
    48
    32
    20
See reviews for
155
342
9
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We have eaten lunch here on several occasions and keep returning for the beautiful food, the fascinating views of dogs and boats enjoying the quay and the water, and the friendly but highly professional service. There is always an excellent choice of dishes and they are well presented and imaginatively served. Recently we took a friend along, too, and she was delighted by the whole experience which was lovely as we really wanted her to feel spoiled and she did!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VerwoodChurchmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

A great hotel close to the town center of Christchurch along the river. We were greeted well and bags taken to our room. so good first impressions, The room was a good size and we heard no noise from other guests so good sound proofing. Our hair dryer broke and was replaced really quickly. The bed was very comfy and nice bathroom with bath and over bath shower. The view from the room was great, a little ferry crosses over to the other side and there are some nice flat walks up to a spit with a cafe and another ferry (you can get a bus back or walk through the town.
Breakfast had some nice alternative choices, we had eggs benedict one morning and good quality ingredients for the cooked breakfast. The bar is lively (in a nice way) and used by locals and some fab cocktails made by well trained staff. There is a large outside terrace for nice days. A great customer service attitude even if service was a bit slow when they were busy. The spa has a pool and jacuzzi and is ok.Would have liked blackout curtains to give this 5 stars fro the room. I got a good last minute deal by using booking.com and the price changed from one day to the next so if you can risk... it wait!

Room Tip: We had a super king size bed and it could be a twin room, nice view of river, some have side views a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We ate twice last weekend at this establishment. First on the Saturday night we had a small celebration for my brothers 40th wedding anniversary. Food and service were excellent. I had roasted Cod followed by Tarte Tatin. The next day (Sunday) my brother was 70 and took 32 people to lunch in the private function room overlooking the river. The menu was Smoked Chicken on a bed of Celeriac Salad. This was followed by Rump of Lamb (which was fantastic and beautifully cooked) with potato cake and roasted peppers and courgettes. Dessert was a chocolate tart with pistachio ice-cream. All in all excellent food and well recommended

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy_George1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Attended a friend's wedding at the captains club this week. The staff and the facilities were absolutely fantastic and I would highly recommend this hotel as the perfect wedding venue. And the food must be some of the best wedding food I have ever eaten the chefs do this hotel massive credit

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank EAMONNRED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Captains club end of January 2014 we were 10 girl friends to celebrate my 40th birthday and from the start the customer service was excellent Joanne who helped me book the rooms was so helpful, accomodating and very thoughtful. The staff at the reception were kind, patient and were ready to serve us if we needed anything done. The Spa was great. The staff at the Restaurant were friendly we cracked a few jokes, polite, and helpful. Courtesy of the Chef he made me a birthday cake and some lovely sweet nibbles which went down very well. This was a surprise as I didnot order anything like that. The whole experience was amazing. The rooms were excellent, beds comfortable. I can not wait to go back again. I highly recommend this Hotel it was a fabulous all round. Sorry it's taken long to write a review. Thanks everybody at the Captains club keep up the good work

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Aminah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I have been to the Captain's Club several times over the last few years and the food and drinks have always been of a good standard in a lovely setting. However what really stands out to me is the event nights they run, which are on another level altogether. The first of these we attended was a Veuve Cliquot champagne tasting evening, the lady from Veuve was knowledgeable and witty and after that night I became obsessed with the history of Champagne. The champagne was flowing all night and the food was excellent and paired perfectly to each of the champagne's. Our group were the youngest by far but we were made to feel very welcome by the staff (especially the fantastic Niloofar who is essential to any event) and we enjoyed ourselves immensely. We attended the same event the following time it was held with Tattinger and although I personally preferred the Veuve evening it was another great night. We then returned at the beginning of this year for their Safari supper beginning at the CC with stop offs at other Christchurch restaurants (all travelling on a Route Master bus which was hilarious) and returning to the CC for coffee and dancing. The food and wine were again very good but the atmosphere was what made it, with both the staff and other guests all having a fantastic time. The organisation and quality of these events are really brilliant and I would highly recommend them as an alternative to just going out for dinner and drinks!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelsTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
0.4 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
747 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
395 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Christchurch
Travelodge Christchurch
#7 of 11 in Christchurch
368 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Club Hotel

Property: Captain's Club Hotel
Address: Wick Lane | Wick Ferry, Christchurch BH23 1HU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain's Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 4 star luxury hotel and spa in Christchurch, Dorset. Overlooking the river Stour and located in the historic town of Christchurch, Captain’s Club Hotel & Spa is a small independent luxury hotel with a nautical twist. The hotel features 12 two and three bedroom luxury suites, each with separate lounge/living areas, and a selection of hotel rooms. Captain’s Club Hotel & Spa is home to one of the best bars in Christchurch with award-winning mixologist and Bar Manager, Tommo, at its helm. They also have a 2 AA rosette restaurant, event facilities for up to 100, and a spa complete with hydrotherapy pool, sauna, and treatment rooms. All accommodation and event spaces face out onto the River Stour so no matter what you are travelling to Captain’s Club for, you are guaranteed a beautiful view. The alfresco dining terrace is open all summer and provides the perfect location to soak up the atmosphere of life on the river. This Christchurch hotel is family-friendly and rooms/suites are dog-friendly ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Captain's Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captains Hotel Christchurch
The Captains Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing