We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great setting but you pay for it” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain's Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Captain's Club Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great setting but you pay for it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We booked a stay online having used it for a friends wedding a few years ago and thought we deserved a weekend away.
The hotel has modern air to it. The patio and riverside setting is beautiful and it has the bar and restaurant overlooking the river. Ate in the hotel both nights and although quiet the service from the kitchen was painfully slow. The food when delivered was good and reasonably priced. Nice wine list.
The staff are charming and attentive and we enjoyed watching the bar staff creating various cocktails whilst being boring with our beer and wine. It is very popular and busy during the day with locals using the bar and restaurant which makes the hotel appear busier than it is but we were able to find tables and get served.
Rooms are spacious and clean, our mattress I felt was just the wrong side of its us by date,
Overall I felt it was a good time but thought the rooms expensive. Would I go back, not sure at those prices.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Fogg62c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    127
    43
    30
    17
See reviews for
140
312
5
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel at short notice and now know why it was not fully booked on such a nice weekend. The price of the room was over £250 so we expected a luxurious room. However when we got in we were disappointed. It had the feel of a premier inn. The furniture was cheap and one picture on the wall. It was not worth asking for another room as you could tell they would all look exactly the same. There was not a separate shower but the shower was in the bath.
My partner had forgotten his razor so we asked for one and they delivered a disposable to the room and charged £2.50 for it. He couldn't use it and they did refund us the money. The views are amazing it is very peaceful looking over the river but that was about the only plus. We had two breakfast tea bags in the room but no others. Again we expected more for £250+. Breakfast was nicely laid out. I had poached eggs which were fine. My partner had the full English and he said his had not been cooked fresh but re heated. There was a family on the next table who complained about the wait for their breakfast but as far as I know they didn't get much of an apology
The dressing gowns in the room were not soft and my partner's one had dried blood stains on it which put us off going to the spa and we really did not want to sit around in them. When we checked out I told the lady about the blood stained gown and it had put us off going to the spa. She said we could go now (? We were checking out). She said she would tell the manager.
We go to this area a lot and if this hotel charged what it was worth say, £100 for a night, we might consider it again just for the views but it is definitely not worth that astronomical amount and I think the hotel is relying too much on its views

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We booked the 3-bed suite as a last minute getaway with our 3 children. Making the booking i was reassurred that children are very welcome.
The room was fine, however the air-con could have been switched on or windows opened in preparation for our arrival, it was very stuffy. Soon sorted though, and views are great.
Beds were comfy. However flush did not work in the toilet in one of the bathrooms, and the shower took forever to heat up, shower door did not close properly and it leaked into the bathroom. Also the whole suite could have done with a good vaccum.
We had a table booked at 6.30, with the children. However when we presented ourselves at the maitre d' desk we were over looked whilst the staff took care of 2 other groups who had arrived after us, before us. Nevermind, were were told we could have drink on the terrace and order food there before moving to the restaurant. After a 20 minute wait we had to ask for drinks, and menus. Another 20 mins and it was apparent that orders would not be taken on the terrace, so we moved to our table. Only 1 table had been laid for five and it was not overlooking the river, we were told we could not move.
Food was nice and the children were well catered for. However we were eventually eating supper at 8.30, and the children were just too tired for desert. Waitress (Morgan) was great and made up for the appalling service we had experienced up to that point.
Breakfast was the real low though......
We again presented ourselves at the maitre d' desk at 8.30 (breakfast served between 7.30 and 10.30). After a while made our own way to the restaurant, as there was no-one around. A solitary waitress reluctantly showed us to a table set for 6 again stuffed at the far end of the restaurant, again we could not have river views. We were only given 2 menus for our table of 5. The buffet was great, but we could not serve anything as there were no spoons.
We waited 30 minutes for 1 full english and 1 bacon,eggs, tomato. When they arrived the egg yolks were broken on one plate and rock solid where they had been left under a grill on the other. We asked for fresh eggs, 20 minutes later new plates arrived and we were told everything had been cooked from fresh, nonsense, the rest of the plates were burnt from under hot lamps and the baked beans were cold. Goodness only knows what they had done to the black pudding, but we did not dare eat it. Couldn't be bothered to complain again as didnt want to wait any longer as children had by now got bored having eaten their cereal and sat around for best part of an hour. We did ask for fresh toast, again an interminable wait...we gave up!
I did complain to the duty Manager who after listening finally managed to say that he apologised. Even the people at the next table, who overheard the conversation, said that they couldnt believe how rude he had been in not saying anything.
They did knock £40 off the bill, but when you are paying these sort of prices you expect better service.
A real shame, could be a great hotel that we would have visited again. Needless to say we will not be visiting again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Family5R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

The captains club is brilliant. A very modern building in a superb position in Christchurch, must be the best located hotel in Christchurch with amazing views over the river.
We had a two bedroom suite due to the fact that we have a dog, the suites are like mini apartments including a top of the range kitchen, for families they would be perfect. The rooms are kitted out very stylishly and have a real quality feel about them.

Service levels are very high from check in to check out - we had breakfast delivered which was great making use of the lovely suite over looking the river. You can also arrange butler service to bring you evening dinner, course by course. Excellent.

My wife used the spa and she thought that the massage was excellent, she is a masseuse so it must have been good.

We will return.

Room Tip: Suite, treat yourself
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichWandsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel having received a recommendation from a colleague. From check in to check out the service from the staff team was attentive and efficient. The room was well equipped, very comfortable and had a fantastic view over the river. The wine and cocktails served at the bar were excellent throughout my stay and the food was delicious. My seafood platter was outstanding, the mussels in particular were delightful. I look forward to returning to this hotel in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CR1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

The hotel is fine but the river facing-rooms are affected by noise from the metalwork structure overhanging the patio when it rains. This noise, immediately outside the bedroom window is impossible to keep out with closed windows. On check-out the following morning I was informed by the receptionist that this probem had existed for several years and the hotel were in dispute with the architects responsible for the original design.

My comment is that the dispute between the hotel and their architects is of no interest to me except that I had a ruined night's sleep. If the management are serious about their customers' well being and comfort I would suggest they take an executive descision to dismantle the offending structure and continue their legal battle with the architects knowing that this dispute no longer affects paying customers.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank jonathan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

First class service from well trained and enthusiastic staff made our daughter's wedding a memorable occasion.
Good food (it's never going to be "fine dining" when serving 50 at a time), well chosen wines and attentive staff. Add to this a location on the banks of Christchurch harbour and you have a recipe for success.
Any problems? Yes, the car park is too small

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.6 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
4.5 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Club Hotel

Property: Captain's Club Hotel
Address: Wick Lane | Wick Ferry, Christchurch BH23 1HU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain's Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern four silver star hotel located on the banks of the river Stour close to the historic market town of Christchurch in rural Dorset. Hotel comprises of 12 lifestyle suites, each with a separate lounge/living area and either two or three bedrooms sleeping from 1 to 6 people. The hotel boasts a cocktail bar with award winning bar-tenders and a 2 AA rosette restaurant. Event facilities for up to 100 and a bijou spa complete with hydro-therapy pool, sauna and four treatment rooms. The suites have air-conditioning to the lounge/living area and the hotel bedrooms are air conditioned throughout. The alfresco dining terrace is open all summer and provides a perfect location to soak up the atmosphere of life on a busy river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Captain's Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captains Hotel Christchurch
The Captains Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing