We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why didn't we know about this sooner?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Captain's Club Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Broulee, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Why didn't we know about this sooner?”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I arrived with a degree of trepidation, having read some conflicting reviews, had a couple of bad experiences elsewhere, and after parking outside what seemed a motel style reception area wondered whether I'd made another mistake. Nope. The first good sign came just after I told the receptionist my name, and the gentleman sitting next to her looked up and said "Would you like me to take your luggage out of the car for you sir?" Would I ever! Yes please. From that moment on everything went perfectly. Check in smooth, bags (all six of them, as this was just one stop on a five week Europe tour, so we had to combine business, entertaining and casual gear) delivered to our room, all the bits and pieces explained, and genuine surprise when I offered a tip.
I'd taken advantage of the hotel's offer of a two bedroom suite overlooking the river and was very pleased that I had. The suite was more an apartment: a fully equipped kitchen, dining area, desk and workspace, plenty of power points, nice lounge, two bathrooms and the lounge area and bedroom each with a fantastic view of the boats and swans sharing the river.
We could have made dinner ourselves and stayed in the room but I'd already booked a table in the restaurant and we made our way through a lounge/bar area into a large, well fitted dining room, again with picture windows overlooking the river. Lacking confidence in English cuisine (which I've described elsewhere as an oxymoron) I ordered a steak and P Seabass, and to our surprise and delight neither was a disappointment, so much so that we had no hesitation in fronting up again the next night. Breakfast was cold buffet and hot a la carte and again first rate.
This really is an outstanding property and I have no hesitation in recommending it highly.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one with a view over the river. If you wish to self cater, go for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    150
    48
    32
    20
See reviews for
155
342
9
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel back in April for 2 nights we didn't use the spa. The hotel is in a very nice spot on the waterside. The food is excellent and the room was clean and comfortable. There are various riverside walks and the town centre is just a short walk away. There are other quality restaurants in the locality.

Room Tip: Follow the satnav to the adjacent close by the hotel as Wick Lane is both sides of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glider504202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

It was a while back my partner and I ate here. We thoroughly enjoyed it, the waiter who took care of us gave fantastic service combined with great product knowledge, unfortunatly we can't remember his name but he had helped our choices and was very observent without being intrusive. The food also was fantastic, with good portion sizes, we were very full after the mains but managed to share a dessert which looked very professional and picturesque and tasted fantastic also! Would recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OliverC0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Large room with lovely view of the river, very relaxing sat watching life on the river bank.
Comfortable bed and extremely clean room. Great breakfast and service. The food here has small portions but really good food.
As a business stay cannot comment on value for money however would definitely stay here again .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 497JennyWren77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We booked a stay online having used it for a friends wedding a few years ago and thought we deserved a weekend away.
The hotel has modern air to it. The patio and riverside setting is beautiful and it has the bar and restaurant overlooking the river. Ate in the hotel both nights and although quiet the service from the kitchen was painfully slow. The food when delivered was good and reasonably priced. Nice wine list.
The staff are charming and attentive and we enjoyed watching the bar staff creating various cocktails whilst being boring with our beer and wine. It is very popular and busy during the day with locals using the bar and restaurant which makes the hotel appear busier than it is but we were able to find tables and get served.
Rooms are spacious and clean, our mattress I felt was just the wrong side of its us by date,
Overall I felt it was a good time but thought the rooms expensive. Would I go back, not sure at those prices.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Fogg62c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel at short notice and now know why it was not fully booked on such a nice weekend. The price of the room was over £250 so we expected a luxurious room. However when we got in we were disappointed. It had the feel of a premier inn. The furniture was cheap and one picture on the wall. It was not worth asking for another room as you could tell they would all look exactly the same. There was not a separate shower but the shower was in the bath.
My partner had forgotten his razor so we asked for one and they delivered a disposable to the room and charged £2.50 for it. He couldn't use it and they did refund us the money. The views are amazing it is very peaceful looking over the river but that was about the only plus. We had two breakfast tea bags in the room but no others. Again we expected more for £250+. Breakfast was nicely laid out. I had poached eggs which were fine. My partner had the full English and he said his had not been cooked fresh but re heated. There was a family on the next table who complained about the wait for their breakfast but as far as I know they didn't get much of an apology
The dressing gowns in the room were not soft and my partner's one had dried blood stains on it which put us off going to the spa and we really did not want to sit around in them. When we checked out I told the lady about the blood stained gown and it had put us off going to the spa. She said we could go now (? We were checking out). She said she would tell the manager.
We go to this area a lot and if this hotel charged what it was worth say, £100 for a night, we might consider it again just for the views but it is definitely not worth that astronomical amount and I think the hotel is relying too much on its views

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We booked the 3-bed suite as a last minute getaway with our 3 children. Making the booking i was reassurred that children are very welcome.
The room was fine, however the air-con could have been switched on or windows opened in preparation for our arrival, it was very stuffy. Soon sorted though, and views are great.
Beds were comfy. However flush did not work in the toilet in one of the bathrooms, and the shower took forever to heat up, shower door did not close properly and it leaked into the bathroom. Also the whole suite could have done with a good vaccum.
We had a table booked at 6.30, with the children. However when we presented ourselves at the maitre d' desk we were over looked whilst the staff took care of 2 other groups who had arrived after us, before us. Nevermind, were were told we could have drink on the terrace and order food there before moving to the restaurant. After a 20 minute wait we had to ask for drinks, and menus. Another 20 mins and it was apparent that orders would not be taken on the terrace, so we moved to our table. Only 1 table had been laid for five and it was not overlooking the river, we were told we could not move.
Food was nice and the children were well catered for. However we were eventually eating supper at 8.30, and the children were just too tired for desert. Waitress (Morgan) was great and made up for the appalling service we had experienced up to that point.
Breakfast was the real low though......
We again presented ourselves at the maitre d' desk at 8.30 (breakfast served between 7.30 and 10.30). After a while made our own way to the restaurant, as there was no-one around. A solitary waitress reluctantly showed us to a table set for 6 again stuffed at the far end of the restaurant, again we could not have river views. We were only given 2 menus for our table of 5. The buffet was great, but we could not serve anything as there were no spoons.
We waited 30 minutes for 1 full english and 1 bacon,eggs, tomato. When they arrived the egg yolks were broken on one plate and rock solid where they had been left under a grill on the other. We asked for fresh eggs, 20 minutes later new plates arrived and we were told everything had been cooked from fresh, nonsense, the rest of the plates were burnt from under hot lamps and the baked beans were cold. Goodness only knows what they had done to the black pudding, but we did not dare eat it. Couldn't be bothered to complain again as didnt want to wait any longer as children had by now got bored having eaten their cereal and sat around for best part of an hour. We did ask for fresh toast, again an interminable wait...we gave up!
I did complain to the duty Manager who after listening finally managed to say that he apologised. Even the people at the next table, who overheard the conversation, said that they couldnt believe how rude he had been in not saying anything.
They did knock £40 off the bill, but when you are paying these sort of prices you expect better service.
A real shame, could be a great hotel that we would have visited again. Needless to say we will not be visiting again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family5R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
0.4 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
747 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
395 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
382 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Christchurch
Travelodge Christchurch
#7 of 11 in Christchurch
369 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Club Hotel

Property: Captain's Club Hotel
Address: Wick Lane | Wick Ferry, Christchurch BH23 1HU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain's Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 4 star luxury hotel and spa in Christchurch, Dorset. Overlooking the river Stour and located in the historic town of Christchurch, Captain’s Club Hotel & Spa is a small independent luxury hotel with a nautical twist. The hotel features 12 two and three bedroom luxury suites, each with separate lounge/living areas, and a selection of hotel rooms. Captain’s Club Hotel & Spa is home to one of the best bars in Christchurch with award-winning mixologist and Bar Manager, Tommo, at its helm. They also have a 2 AA rosette restaurant, event facilities for up to 100, and a spa complete with hydrotherapy pool, sauna, and treatment rooms. All accommodation and event spaces face out onto the River Stour so no matter what you are travelling to Captain’s Club for, you are guaranteed a beautiful view. The alfresco dining terrace is open all summer and provides the perfect location to soak up the atmosphere of life on the river. This Christchurch hotel is family-friendly and rooms/suites are dog-friendly ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Captain's Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captains Hotel Christchurch
The Captains Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing