We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place..crap service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Captain's Club Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place..crap service.”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

My friends and I were in christchurch fancied going somewhere nice for a drink. I have been many times before and had no problem with the service or the food. Although the cocktail list was varied and interesting we had been given the old one with different prices so instead of £11 it was £13.50. The person buying the round thought it was slighty over priced when we asked the bartender he shrugged it off saying we had the old menu not even bothered to give us our difference. The cocktail was nice but the service was shocking so didnt really enjoy it. What a shame a nice place has gone downhill.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    148
    46
    32
    20
See reviews for
155
340
9
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Highcliffe, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Food excellent. £16 for half a small lobster a tad pricy but cooked to perfection. Chips and salad top quality. Service satisfactory. Not so keen on the oerson vacuum cleaning around tge table whike we were talking. Ambience ok but again, nothing to write home about. View of the river good. Won't go again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My two friends and I needed a lovely place for a two night stay to say a goodbye to one of our friends who is moving to NZ. We booked a fabulous 2 bedroom suite which had breathtaking views across the river. We travelled a long way and were immediately taken to our room and then were kindly sent up drinks to help us settle in. We had dinner in the restaurant at 9pm which was simply superb! Beds were comfortable and the bathroom facilities very luxurious. Breakfast on each morning was absolutely top notch........ especially the Eggs Benedict and the freshly made Waffles. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Simply fabulous!

Room Tip: All rooms have wonderful river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie01202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful place to meet friends for brunch. Good value for money and great choice of excellent food. Staff really helpful and courteous.
A quiet place overlooking the river Stour and a variety of people to watch navigating their way along the river. What an absolute joy.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Keely W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I live close by to the Captains Club and it's a great location to sit and watch the world go by. The food is very good and when you compare the prices to other eateries in the area the Captain's Club is comparable, and therefore worth paying the extra pound or so to be sitting in such a lovely environment . The only negative is that the service can be a little 'hit and miss', and on the slow side. But if you're not in a hurry I wouldn't let that deter you making a visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulubournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here for one night to babysit out grandchildren while their parents were at the evening part of a wedding. The room was very spacious and the floor to ceiling windows looked over the river and its banks where there was constant activity even after dark - very entertaining for the little ones. We ordered tapas and drinks for our supper and it was delivered (with table) very promptly and was absolutely delicious. Breakfast next morning was excellent and the staff were so friendly and helpful. We all enjoyed it so much we hope to go back again soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgvwes2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

A great weekend spent at the Captains Club. Our room was huge with a beautiful view of the terrace and river. We had lunch and dinner in the restaurant. The food is very good and the seafood was local, with the lobster caught only an hour before! The bar area was busy and a great place to people watch with a cocktail in hand before dinner. The spa are is clean and there are plenty of treatments to choose from. The pool is small but you swim against a current, so you can do lengths without actually going anywhere. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juliet b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.6 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
736 reviews
4.5 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
387 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
371 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#22 of 66 in Bournemouth
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Club Hotel

Property: Captain's Club Hotel
Address: Wick Lane | Wick Ferry, Christchurch BH23 1HU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain's Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 4 star luxury hotel and spa in Christchurch, Dorset. Overlooking the river Stour and located in the historic town of Christchurch, Captain’s Club Hotel & Spa is a small independent luxury hotel with a nautical twist. The hotel features 12 two and three bedroom luxury suites, each with separate lounge/living areas, and a selection of hotel rooms. Captain’s Club Hotel & Spa is home to one of the best bars in Christchurch with award-winning mixologist and Bar Manager, Tommo, at its helm. They also have a 2 AA rosette restaurant, event facilities for up to 100, and a spa complete with hydrotherapy pool, sauna, and treatment rooms. All accommodation and event spaces face out onto the River Stour so no matter what you are travelling to Captain’s Club for, you are guaranteed a beautiful view. The alfresco dining terrace is open all summer and provides the perfect location to soak up the atmosphere of life on the river. This Christchurch hotel is family-friendly and rooms/suites are dog-friendly ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Captain's Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captains Hotel Christchurch
The Captains Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing