We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, Stunning Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Captain's Club Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2009

First found out about this in a weekend supplement. Looked up the reviews on Tripadviser and my decision was made.

I booked one night as a birthday treat for my wife's birthday. On entering the room I truly was surprised at the size, It had two bed, 2 bathroom, 3 HD TV's and a kitchen with a dishwasher. The only thing I was expecting was the river view.

We spent the afternoon in the spa, sauna and hydrotherapy pool.
My wife had a treatment which see thought was lovely.

Also had a great meal in Tides restaurant.

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank moveonup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

705 - 711 of 741 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2009

We live reasonably locally and stayed here after coming across a ridiculously cheap promotional deal.

All members of staff, in all areas of the hotel came across as genuinely warm and friendly. Many in the service industry could learn a lot here.

We stayed in a standard room, which was stylish and modern. All rooms are on the same side of the hotel, and so have a riverside view. Provision of a robe and slippers is always a winner with me!

Included in the room rate is use of the hydrotherapy pool (massive jacuzzi) and sauna.

I cannot praise the restaurant enough. Both the food and service were top notch.

My only slight annoyance was the noise. There was a function on in the hotel, and this noise was clearly heard in our room. It did end by midnight, but soundproofing in the room is not good at all. In addition, it was a fairly windy night, and I could hear things clunking around in the wee small hours (boats on the river perhaps?). Not a showstopper, but enough to annoy a light sleeper.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alibongo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2009

We had a 2-night Christmas break at Captains Club and really can't praise it highly enough, it felt very special.

The rooms are stylish and contemporary in design, low key but not extremely minimalist, and everything feels good quality. The situation is idyllic if you are lucky enough to have good weather - the enormous bedrooms face the estuary and have huge windows, the restaurant has a floor-to-ceiling window for its entire length, and we were so lucky to be bathed in sunshine on both days, watching swans, walkers etc go by. Very relaxing indeed although that may be very different in the summer when I imagine that the river and the hotel deck would be very busy.

The staff were brilliant - friendly, informal and couldn't do enough for you. The maitre d' (Andy) had absolute mastery of a very busy restaurant and the service was really very good. The receptionist was also fantastic and helped us with our bags herself because the porter was busy at the point we arrived.

The food was excellent - lovely flavours, beautifully presented and some imaginative twists - a mulled wine sorbet on Christmas day in between courses for example. It was also clear that it is popular with locals and not just residents, and they showed great consideration for all of their customers.

When we arrived there was a choir singing Christmas carols in the lounge, which sounds twee but wasn't, and there were really excellent pianists playing for much of the rest of the time - again, not the cliched old favourites but some interesting arrangements from talented players. It wasn't obtrusive and was lovely to have live music rather than the simpler, bland alternative.

The tiniest criticism I would have is for the bath/shower which seemed to have been over-engineered - a case of form over function to an extent, but this really is very minor and once you had mastered the controls it wasn't a problem at all.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank puffpuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Captain's Club after being let down rather badly by our previously booked accommodation (seriously, the last thing you want after a flight from Australia to London, then train to Christchurch is to find no-one at the office and the phone disconnected...). We caught a lovely lady who works at this hotel on her way to her car, and she called the reception on her mobile - they booked us in, no problems, for quite a reasonable rate (compared to their usual rate anyway - this place is not cheap, though it is worth every penny!).

I could not fault our room in any way - lovely comfy bed and pillows, nice view of the river, tastefully & stylishly decorated, fabulous deep bath. The staff are so welcoming and attentive, but not too attentive. We didn't have lunch or dinner in the restaurant but breakfast featured the best omelette I've ever had. I can't recommend this hotel enough - if you get the chance to stay here, do it - you will not regret it!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mothjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2008

Quiet and quaint.
Not much happened, arrived late - left early.
Nice hotel on the water.
Will go back to experience the local fare.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Dhavekost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2008

Well out of my area but booked birthday meal for mother in law who lives in Bournemouth as a result of favourable reviews and first rate initial telephone contact ( not the case with another nearby establishment that we will certainly not be patronizing for any similar events in future) . We were not disappointed on arrival after long drive from the Midlands. Interesting modern architecture and decor. Lovely position with view of river from restaurant. Very welcoming ambience and helpful, friendly, attentive ( but not TOO attentive) staff. It makes such a difference to feel that one's custom is welcome rather than an inconvenient intrusion. Set 3 course lunch perfect in terms of quantity, presentation and value for money with a comprehensive and interesting wine list. No hestitation at all in recommending this place for a meal- with or without the mother in law! We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2008

booked a package direct with the hotel and chose the romantic getaway. this deal was a mid-week special but we still managed to secure it for a weekend at no further cost or even questioning by the booking staff.
the hotel was very clean and impressive with all the staff we met friendly and professional. our package included breakfast and dinner and all our meals were top notch.

dinner on the first night included a dish with truffle oil and if you have never had it before beware. it was very overpowering, but when we mentioned this to the lovely lady lookiing after us she immediately offered us another dish from the menu and removed the first dish from the bill, she could not do enough for us.

the hotel is very close to christchurch and there looked to be some nice restaurants to choose from if you are not having dinner at the hotel. the fishworks looked very good.

one thing we did notice is that one of thepubs charged more for equiivalent drinks than the hotel.

we would not hesitate in recomending the hotel and will definately stay again.

we will go back in the summer when hopefully we would be able to eat on the riverside, i could well imagine chilling till the early hours after a good meal.

sunday lunch looked great and the hotel was very busy, it seemed to me to be locals getting ready to enjoy the lavish buffet.

thoroughly recomend this great hotel for a relaxing break

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dtgwhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.6 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
765 reviews
4.5 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
401 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
191 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#8 of 11 in Christchurch
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Club Hotel

Address: Wick Lane | Wick Ferry, Christchurch BH23 1HU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £146 - £363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain's Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 4 star luxury hotel and spa in Christchurch, Dorset. Overlooking the river Stour and located in the historic town of Christchurch, Captain’s Club Hotel & Spa is a small independent luxury hotel with a nautical twist. The hotel features 12 two and three bedroom luxury suites, each with separate lounge/living areas, and a selection of hotel rooms. Captain’s Club Hotel & Spa is home to one of the best bars in Christchurch with award-winning mixologist and Bar Manager, Tommo, at its helm. They also have a 2 AA rosette restaurant, event facilities for up to 100, and a spa complete with hydrotherapy pool, sauna, and treatment rooms. All accommodation and event spaces face out onto the River Stour so no matter what you are travelling to Captain’s Club for, you are guaranteed a beautiful view. The alfresco dining terrace is open all summer and provides the perfect location to soak up the atmosphere of life on the river. This Christchurch hotel is family-friendly and rooms/suites are dog-friendly ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Captain's Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captains Hotel Christchurch
The Captains Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing